We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,444)
Filter reviews
1,444 results
Traveller rating
419
643
221
99
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
419
643
221
99
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviews self service across the road all inclusive package all inclusive drinks tea and coffee glass bottom boat grand baie curry mini bar boat house honeymoon stay filtered water indian food paradise island beach towels superior room three star
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 1,444 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2017

Do not be mistaken ! This is not a luxury hotel, it is a very good value-for-money one, in a beautiful setting, perhaps some of the best in that respect. Advised by friends, we stayed there on our honeymoon in February 2012, yes this was a while ago, but I could not find the time to write since then although I should have : the location is PERFECT, the architecture very quaint, the gardens GORGEOUS. The beach across the street is SUPERB, and the staff friendly. The SPA is the other strong point. The hotel was going to have some work done to it, which must be the case by now. Food was good, though not exceptional. Night entertainments were very nice. PS : our bed sheets were a bit scratching, but I am sure they will have fixed that by now... as I complained so much then :)

Room Tip: Rooms in the front buildings 2nd floor with a balcony are best to have a sea view. Rooms in the gardens are lovely but can be far away.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction11, General Manager at Casuarina Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2017

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to share your overall experience after your recent stay with us.
We are glad to learn you appreciated your stay at Casuarina Resort & Spa and are very pleased to read your kind feedback. Thank you very much for your recommendation and really look forward to welcoming you...

Yours Faithfully,

Laurent Ortéga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017

Together with my friends, we booked a day package at Rs 1500 per person. The package included a lunch buffet + unlimited soft drink and beer during lunch, tea-time with pancakes, mini cakes and fritters, access to the pool and water activities + 50% discount on spa.
When we arrived there, once the formalities done, we were left on ourselves, not knowing in which direction to go. By the pool, the clients had already taken all the available lounge chairs, we had to share one.
Their open buffet summed up to grated beetroot, grated cucumber, grated carrot, grated cabbage,... For the main course, there was grilled pork (which we do not eat), fish vindaye and steamed baby carrots and broccoli, so we ended up having only steamed carrots & broccoli!
But the best was yet to come! While we expected some nice fritters and mini cakes for tea time, we saw only a bite-size cake and miniature pudding. While I decided to take a hot chocolate which was infact, warm, my friends chose a glass of soft drink instead of tea/coffee. The moment we sat down with out drinks, we felt the looks of all the surrounding staff on us, pointing at us and murmuring God knows what! Finally, one of them came to us and told my friends that they were not supposed to take the soft drink! Only tea or coffee! Had they only taken the pain to guide us while we were at their so-called buffet, this would not have happened! Also, telling your guests over a glass of soft drink... This is so third class! You could have simply charged us for it!
You guys have to learn how to treat your local guests! They are paying too! They don't come over for free!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Service
2  Thank Sheena3088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction11, General Manager at Casuarina Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Dear Sir/Madam,


I firstly would like to thanks you for your comment on your last "Guest Experience" at
« Le Casuarina Resort & Spa », well being and quality of our service, are in the heart of our priorities.

For your information, I’ve raised to all my head of departments your comment this morning, and I’ve noted the following points :

- The poor quality of our F&B department, and the service standard.

I’m very surprise, as those points are certainly part of our strengths as our clients are usually highlighting in their comments, but you can be sure that we'll make our best to improve ourselves in the future.

I hope that you won't keep a bad image of « Le Casuarina Resort & Spa » the team will be glad to welcome you again in our stunning, then we'll be pleased to give you the best service that you deserve.

Yours faithfully,

Laurent Ortéga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017

We already spent 2 weeks in this beautiful hotel. Great value are people who work there. Aneksha, Janvi, Christephie and other girls on reception are just amazing and very helphul. We had great time with boys on the beach who are responsable for water sports. Robert - big thank you for all instructions and help, Rafik, Mario, Owen, Anno and others are just wonderful....always smile and willing to help. Big tnx to staff in restaurant, all managers, bartenders, especially to lady who made great omlettes every morning. It is just unbelievable they work with smile...mentioned once to lady in restaurant I like the spot between her eyes and the next day she brought to me. Housekepper had a lot of work with our room, but it´s been always clean with fresh towels. In front of our room was lovely fontaine, so we had great frogs lullaby every night -:)
Maybe we miss some bars along the beach, if you are thirsty you have to go back to hotel and all inclusive could start at 10 -:), and more badchairs on the beach woud be great.
All day you can be active on the beach - pedals, sup, kajaks, water ski, glassboat, snorklling - everything is included which is great.
Birthday cake was nice touch ...Big tnx Casuarina....for sure will be back <3

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzyslovenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction11, General Manager at Casuarina Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017


Dear Sir/Madam,

Wonderful! thanks for your comment, the well-being and the quality of our service are in the heart of our priorities, and we're very happy to hear that you've enjoyed it.

Please call and reserve your next stay with us, at the « Casuarina Resort & Spa ». We'll be delighted to see again, and share with you some new experience.

Yours faithfully,

Laurent Ortéga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017

We went there as a family. and we all were happy to stay in casuarina resort.
Garden is really very beautiful and perfectly maintained. Rooms big enough and clean. Housekeeping team is really doing a good job here. Front desk were most helpful. I dont remember names but almost everyone was helpful. Pool is good, Food is excellent. Chef and restaurant guys made our food more delightful.
Beach is just across the road. and they have their private beach but just across the road. also many boat activities like, glass bottom boat, paddle boat, water ski, kayak, etc..

Room Tip: probably every room is good. but if you want sea view then dont forget to mention it before booking
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kedar2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction11, General Manager at Casuarina Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017


Dear Sir/Madam,


Thank you for your comment, we are delighted to hear that your stay with us was pleasant.

Please do not hesitate when you come-back to Mauritius to call and reserve your next stay with us, at the « Casuarina Resort & Spa ». The entire team will be glad to receive you again.

Yours faithfully,

Laurent Ortéga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017

This hotel is ok, a bit worn around the edges. They are slowly trying to update somethings (like changing the lock to a card key in the middle of our stay without warning)
After getting a room with a shower that didn't work, we were put up in a temporary room, then moved the following day to a more modern room (and given a free massage for the inconvenience)
This claims to be an All-Inclusive hotel, although there are 2 restaurants only 1 is All-Inc buffett. The food is fairly plain, although the salad choice was good.
Nice pools although a slight fight for a sunbed if your there after 10.30. Beach is across the road and actually more relaxing especially in the afternoon.
Room was cleaned and cleaning staff very polite, although the reception and kitchen staff could do with a customer service training.

Stayed: March 2017
3  Thank 70gbowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction11, General Manager at Casuarina Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Dear Sir/Madam,

I firstly would like to thanks you for your comment on your last "Guest Experience" at
« Le Casuarina Resort & Spa », well being and quality of our service, are in the heart of our priorities.

For your information, I’ve raised to all my head of departments your comment this morning, and I’ve noted the following points :

- The changing lock card key in the middle of your stay without warning, and the inconvenience with the shower.

Very sorry about the inconvenience caused, but you can be sure that we'll make our best to improve ourselves, and make sure it didn't happen again in the future.

I hope that you won't keep a bad image of « Le Casuarina Resort & Spa » the team will be glad to welcome you again in our stunning hotel, please let us know when you travel back to Mauritius, then we'll be pleased to give you the best service that you deserve.

Yours faithfully,

Laurent Ortéga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews