We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday with family”
Review of Tropical Attitude

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tropical Attitude
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2016

Warm welcome by friendly staff. Clean environment and rooms. Good food .good management ok ways asking if everything is ok or we need anything. This was led by Jack and his staff comprising of Reshma, Vikash, Hugo,Arvin, Vishal,Benedict and all of them.
The staff cared for all irrespective of their culture and their language. I recommend this to anybody who wants to visit Mauritius,

Room Tip: First floor rooms have nice sea viewable quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank _chuenev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0tels_Management, General Manager at Tropical Attitude, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2016

Dear Chuenev,

Thank you for posting your feedback following your recent stay at Tropical Attitude. The team was happy to read that you had such a wonderful time with us and that you thoroughly enjoyed our hotel facilities and services.

Indeed, we make it a point of pride in offering the same, genuine welcome to all our guests from across the world!

Hoping to welcome you again soon for another memorable experience,
Kind regards,
Désiré Prodigson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,642)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

326 - 330 of 1,642 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2016

This is a 3 star hotel, although it had good reviews please bear that in mind. It's a small basic hotel. Check in wasn't smooth as we arrived early (even though it was a package holiday so they should have known) and had to wait an hour or so. The room was clean but basic, holes in the curtains, comfy bed, decent selection of TV channels for when the weather was bad.
I never saw anyone in the pool and evening entertainment seemed to be lacking. Wifi was fast around the pool/lobby but unfortunately lacking in the rooms.
Concerning the food, options were fairly limited but what was there was of a good quality. The staff always seemed friendly, the hotel also offers free trips to one of the nearby islands which is a nice touch.
The beach wasn't particularly pleasant, lots of algae and seaweed.

I had booked for a week but it was a bit too basic for my tastes, I only stayed for a fe nights and spent the rest of the time in Lux le Morne and the Intercontinental. I wouldn't stay at Tropical Attitude again, if you are travelling that far then it's worth paying the extra for a bit of luxury.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0tels_Management, General Manager at Tropical Attitude, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2016

Dear Brian W,

Thank you for having chosen Tropical Attitude for your holidays in Mauritius and for sparing some time to share your experience. I understand that we did not manage to make your stay perfectly memorable, and apologise sincerely. We value and appreciate your feedback as the best way for us to improve in the future.

I am however glad that the rest of your time in Mauritius spent in 5-star properties went well, and hope that you will keep great memories of the island.

Warm regards,
Désiré Prodigson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2016 via mobile

customer care very friendly , good fresh healthy food,clean rooms and all the staff are familiar
Had a wonder full holiday with my friends. We went to flack and port Louis market. Local people are very helpful and polite. Thank you tropical attitude and all staff namely annelise vikash reshma sunny and Jack.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Barbaradimati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0tels_Management, General Manager at Tropical Attitude, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2016

Dear Barbaradimati,

Thank you for having chosen Tropical Attitude for trip to Mauritius. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay on the island and our unique location. Your warm compliments will be shared with all the Family Members to continually motivate them in providing the same excellent service.

We look forward to having you back with us in the near future.

Kind regards,
Désiré Prodigson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

So relaxing, nice and chilled vibes. Food amazing and staff all so helpful and friendly, especially Vikash, Jack, Reshma, Deepa (who made the most amazing towel designs every morning in our rooms!) and Benedicte. The hotel is well connected, it is easy to reach the village and nearby islands.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank worldtravellover101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0tels_Management, General Manager at Tropical Attitude, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2016

Dear worldtravellover101,
Thank you for having chosen Tropical Attitude and also for posting such warm feedback! The team and I are glad to read that you appreciated our service and attention.
Looking forward to welcoming you again, hopefully soon.
Kind regards,
Désiré Prodigson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2016

Pluses were that the hotel was clean, quiet, the staff were very friendly and helpful and the entertainment and a la carte food were delightful. On the other hand the wine available on an all-inclusive package was not a favourite with me...and the provisions for smokers were alongside the main bar area and relatively small poolside area, so for non- sorry...ex-smokers there was no way of avoiding the smokers for the most part.

Stayed: June 2016
Thank lsmith002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0tels_Management, General Manager at Tropical Attitude, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2016

Dear lsmith002,

Thank you for having chosen Tropical Attitude for your holidays in Mauritius and for sparing some time to review our hotel. We're glad that we offered you an overall enjoyable stay, though we would have loved to make it impeccable.

We've read your feedback on the wine options with great attention, and will take them in full consideration as we regularly update our wine lists.

I have also shared your kind words with all of our Family Members, who are all looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Désiré Prodigson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trou d'eau Douce
0.7 km away
Friday Attitude
Friday Attitude
#2 of 8 in Trou d'eau Douce
860 reviews
30.6 km away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 3 in Calodyne
2,760 reviews
6.2 km away
Emeraude Beach Attitude
Emeraude Beach Attitude
#10 of 13 in Belle Mare
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.9 km away
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
#5 of 27 in Grand Baie
2,491 reviews
29.2 km away
Veranda Paul et Virginie Hotel & Spa
3.7 km away
La Palmeraie Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Attitude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Attitude

Address: La Pelouse, Trou d'eau Douce, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Flacq District > Trou d'eau Douce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Trou d'eau Douce
#2 Romantic Hotel in Trou d'eau Douce
#4 Family Hotel in Trou d'eau Douce
Price Range: $111 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Attitude 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Attitude with its gentle way of life is a 3 star sup "Adult Only" hotel, recently renovated and smartened up, built in the middle of a garden planted with coconut trees and right on the lagoon. The hotel faces Trou d'Eau Douce, a genuine fishermen's village and its lagoon, situated on the east coast, and offers direct and free access to paradisiacal Ile aux Cerfs Island. The genuineness of the hotel relies on its Creole architecture and its contemporary tropical decoration. The new luminous colours of the 60 rooms contribute to their relaxed atmosphere. This friendly and comfortable hotel is a witness of the traditional way of life of the island, an ideal place to relax either as a family or as a couple. Time here seems to have come to a standstill, only interrupted by outings in the lagoon and siestas under the coconut trees. The simplicity and kindness of its Family Members* contribute widely to that dolce vita experience... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tropical Attitude reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Tropical

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing