We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Africa Safari Glamping Manyara(Lake Manyara National Park)(Great Value!)
US$33
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Nsya Lodge & Camp(Mto wa Mbu)
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Burudika Lodges(Mto wa Mbu)
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Morona Hill Lodge(Mto wa Mbu)
US$254
Priceline
View Deal
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp(Lake Manyara National Park)
US$153
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Escarpment Luxury Lodge(Lake Manyara National Park)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Migunga Tented Camp(Lake Manyara National Park)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
andBeyond Lake Manyara Tree Lodge(Lake Manyara National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Lake Manyara Kilimamoja Lodge(Lake Manyara National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (144)
Filter reviews
144 results
Traveller rating
51
55
25
10
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
51
55
25
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake manyaraone nightdirt roadnice hotelswimming poolthe great rift valleymain buildingreception areahot waterbaboonswifibalconybeatlesviewtanzanialodgesafari
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 144 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2017

+ Great starting place for a safari in Lake Manyara. Even Ngorongoro is within reach from here.
+ Staff was friendly, as are all Tanzanians.

- Really big hotel which was almost empty. Very depressing feeling.
- Room was a bit small and the bathroom needed to be renovated.
- Decoration was very outdated and plenty of things require maintenance.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DaVinci14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017

There are two branches of the Great Rift Valley in Africa. Lake Manyara, a shallow soda lake is lying in the eastern branch. When viewing the lake on a high ground where the hotel is located, you are actually standing on the edge of the Africa Rift Valley.
The hotel has a spacious front yard with bar and pool facing the valley. Though there are well-decorated lobby and bar of authentic African style in the hotel main building, but we like to spend the hours in front yard in early morning or late afternoon. With the dim and misty landscape, you can not but imagine a huge force underneath that has been tearing the continent for millions year. The valley with the lake is actually a wonder of nature. It is an experience you will not have while driving through the valley.
The hotel offers good facilities and services. Its is by side of Highway B144 which links Arusha through Ngorongoro to Serengeti. Stay a night to experience what we had there!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake have good view of the valley all day round.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

Lovely hotel and Well located to start your daily safaris. The villas are grouped two by two and give a stunning view from the terraces. Bath (not separated) double shower, outside shower and toilet. Our room was rather bug infested (small black beatles) . Airco doesn't do much and wifi was virtually non-existent in most of the rooms and if you did have a connection it was extreme slow.
We had several diners at the hotel. Cuisine is local and staff is friendly. Breakfast is mediocre but OK.
The view really makes this hotel.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
Thank StevOM73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2017

After spending one night at Ngorongoro Wildlife Lodge, my wife and myself spent Two Nights at this Lodge(both are same management). Of course the view of the lake from the "view point area" near swimming pool is mind boggling.
We were so surprised to see on Easter weekend, a hotel with over 100 rooms, have only 2 rooms with guests. All other rooms were empty. I really had no clue why it was so.
The room was small with a smaller bathroom. But both were clean. There is a nice balcony also with the room, form where nice view of the garden, swimming pool and partial view of Lake manyara.
Food was good and tasty but very basic, which is also surprising in a game lodge in East Africa. Of course it is understandable why they will prepare variety of food for only two guests!!!
They could not provide wifi connection in the room. You only have to come to reception area to have it Free only for 15 minutes every day, for more you have to pay.
The staffs were very nice, helpful and always smiling.
Overall our stay was nice but in my view service need much more improvement.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Indoafrican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017

Experience is, of course, the best educator, and my experience here, while not tragic or disastrous, was so unlike any other of the lodges where we spent a night or two that it best is forgotten. The place was fore-shadowed by traversing a potholed dirt road through a picture of rural African poverty on each side of the road (not even a thought of asking our guide to stop at a "store"), to arrive at a wall reminiscent of penal protection. Once through the guarded gate and to the developed part of the property one finds quite decent buildings and a central lodge that is quite well-appointed. One did not, however, have a sense of "place" much different from a tropically-themed Florida resort, except that the ample grassy grounds were sporting scores of baboons who kept careful watch for a sliding glass door carelessly left open by a traveler soon to be victimized.

After check-in we enjoyed a "trek" up various stairways and down multiple hallways to our room, which was stuffy unless the sliding glass door and the opposite entry door were kept open. (See "baboons" above.) Thus, going to dinner and breakfast was better suited to an exercise regimen. The trip feeling more onerous by uninspiring food offerings.

What probably dismissed any thought of tempering all the foregoing with undeserved kindness was the penurious atmosphere of the management: bar drinks were outrageously expensive; cash was the order of the day (even though you were a registered guest); and, most bizarre of all, the bartender put the demanded cash payment in his front pockets, and, if he didn't have correct change in his pocket, would suggest a "rounding". The whole "money" atmosphere was in direct conflict with any other places we dealt (before or after) with in the country, leading us to believe the management definitely was not "local".

Room Tip: It probably would be nice to have a room no more than 100 steps from the front desk.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stephenbW6996VK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews