We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$181
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abuso Inn(Stone Town)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$68
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$107
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Al Minar(Stone Town)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$78
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$176
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Al Johari(Stone Town)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Maru Maru Hotel(Stone Town)
US$127
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$375
US$326
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (376)
Filter reviews
376 results
Traveller rating
211
114
35
13
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
211
114
35
13
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop restaurantstayed in a junior suitecoffee loungebeautiful hoteltown hotelbreakfast and dinnerlarge bathroomair conditioninglovely boutiquetop floorsuperb locationcentrally located in stone townold housewelcome drinkpublic areasbreakfast was includedsunset drinks
Filter
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 376 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2015

We stayed here for 2 nights in mid-September. The hotel is an elegant, well maintained old building conveniently located within Stone Town and all of the main sights are within strolling distance.
Due to the style of the building there are no outside spaces to relax in, other than the roof terrace which is also the restaurant area but there is a lovely downstairs courtyard seating area. The hotel bedrooms are spacious, airy and well furnished.
We booked on a half board basis and there was a good choice of food for the evening meal and meant you didn't have to go out to find somewhere to eat, which suited us.
If we returned to Stone Town we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ABr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2015

We had a super stay at Kisiwa House and would return anytime. The property is beautifully refurbished and furnished. The rooms are good size (some are huge) and there are plenty of common areas (courtyard, roof terrace, landings and a few 'hidden' spots) where one can chill out or socialize. The staff were all super and breakfast was very good, too. We did have some aircon trouble, but the staff dealt with it immediately. The location is very good for all of Stone Town and perfectly safe. A definite winner.

Room Tip: the top floor rooms under the roof terrace can have a little noise in the morning, but make up in their 'airiness'
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 888TK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2015

We stayed at Kisiwa House for three nights and loved the atmosphere the location and the staff. The food and restaurant were excellent and the room spacious and comfortable. Lovely small well maintained hotel with friendly staff.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kieran g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2015

My husband and I stayed here in September for one night. We were upgraded into the Sulaima Senior suites, it was absolutely beautiful, we wish we stayed longer to enjoy the room! the room was at the back of the house, so it was very quiet. The building itself is so beautiful and unique. The communal area is very quiet and relaxing. The staff were helpful, friendly and approachable and gave us our privacy.
The breakfast was nothing to write home about, beef sausage was very unpleasant. Despite this, when we return to Stone Town we will definitely return to Kisiwa House.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweetmanuka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2015 via mobile

My wife and I were on our honeymoon when we stayed here following a safari. It is well located in Stone Town and is a great hotel if you're looking for comfort and a very interesting building. The building is magnificent and the rooftop restaurant gives great views out towards the coast. The food is the restaurant is good, as is the breakfast. We stayed in a suite which was away from the rest of the rooms so very quiet. The wifi is very weak and there are only a few spots in the hotel to pick it up.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank NPShannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews