We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveller rating
10
6
0
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
6
0
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot water bottles before dinner beautiful scenery volcanic rock welcome drink boat trip gorilla trek trenches peak muhabura 11km possibility project birds shore mt camping
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 18 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2018

The rocky road that leads to Lake Chahafi resort was well worthy. Such a beautiful private , tranquile set up of clean, specious cottages with ensuite bathroom.
Unfortunately we arrived in the dark and could not enjoy sunset in this place, must be very special.We were welcomed by Shirina and her team,offered hot towel and welcome drink. We could order our dinner and check in to beautiful cottage. We enjoyed dinner sitting outside the restaurant around the bon fire. It felt just perfect to listen to a bush sounds and look into the fire.
Night was bit cool and it was a lovely surprise to find a warm thermo bottle in each bed after the dinner. There was enough hot water to take a shower after all day.
Luckily we saw sunrise before we left for our activities and the resort surounding is beautiful. It was hard to stop taking pictures and even harder to chose from them!
We got lovely breakfast and lunch packed for the road.
Well recommended for 2 nights.

Room tip: all cottages are amazing
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie1508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018 via mobile

Rooms beautifully decorated. Beds were comfortable and staff super friendly and helpful. Views are also stunning.

We had a fire made for us before dinner and the food at dinner was delicious. Our beds were turned down while we were at dinner with hot water bottles added!

The only minor negative was the shower. It was a hand held shower and quite open. But even that wasn’t enough to put you off this hotel.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank stupot99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018 via mobile

excellent food, outstanding service and a unique natural setting: one of the best places you can get!

this place is so amazing we decided to write a detailled review. we would like other visitors to have the same chance for a wonderful experience. only bas thing is you wont want to leave!

finding this place isnt easy as the road gets very bumpy and you might think the resort doesnt exist anymore. ask anyone along the way in a village and theyll help you (as also community projects take place at the resort). we arrived as a couple for camping and later upgrated to a cottage as one of us fell sick.

service: everytime you come back "home" you get a very warm welcome, a hot and wet towel to clean your hands and a fresh fruit juice. sherina (manager), ambrose, robert and charles (chef de cuisine) will go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and meet all your needs. they will bring a coffe/tea for your wake up call, prepare cushions on lounge chairs on the veranda, start a bonfire for you to have your drink before dinner (plus carrying chairs and a table there), have a perfectly timed, beautifully garnished and top end 4 course menu ready for you (you order in the mornings for dinner and in the evenings for breakfast, everything is freshly prepared). even if its just for the food you should come here: you will not find another place with such creative, fresh and varied food! everything is served in ceramic not in metal or plastic and with nicely designed cuttlery. A generous lunchh paket can be prepared for your day trip. they spotlessly clean your room and even clear up almost into perfection and with so much love. before you go to bed they put hot water bottles into your bed and clean most important things again in the evening just to make you feel so welcome for a good nights rest. shirina even accompanied us to the mgahinga np as we might not have found the short cut with our own car. she organized our next night and boat trip at queen elizabeth np (where she used to work). as one of us fell sick she offered to come to kisoro clinic just to be there for us. when we came "home" she had organized a local doctor for a second opinion! all staff is very attentive: theyll bring back the room key if you left it at the door, ask exactly how you would like your eggs done in the morning, even light a candle on dinner table.

facilities: there are cottages with verandas, all self contained, unbelievably well maintained and nicely designed/decorated with a perfect mix of ecofeeling and luxury where needed (e.g. hot water, electricity, princess bed mosquito net, large bath room, lounge chairs on veranda). theres reliable wifi in the restaurant area and at the cottages. great bonfire place. lounge area where restaurant is. camping possibility in the huge garden.

activities: we could use their dug out canoe for a boat ride on the lake (said to be bilharzia free), which was amazing. the amount of birds! even the ones on ugandas flag were there (we dont know their name). they also have visits to the trenches from 1st world war, walks and bike tours. this makes a perfect base for mgahinga np/gorillatracking/hikes to the volcanoes sabyinyo, muhabura or mgahinga or even just after/before border crossing from rwanda.

setting: beautifully set at the shore of small chahafi lake and at the end of a road (beforehand youll find authentic village life) about 11km out of Kisoro. you can see mt. muhabura towering proudly in front. theres a huge garden which is neatly looked after, small trees within and surrounded by clean walls comprised of volcanic rock. at night you can hear frogs, insects and birds - what else would you want?

cut a long story short: do visit this place and have an unforgettable experience

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Raphael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

We camped for one night at Lake Chahafi Resort and were happy to leave in the morning.
At $8 per person with our own tent it was considerably more expensive than other places we'd visited (we declined the extra $4 per person for breakfast - also expensive for what they offered).
There was no running water on arrival and we had to wait a couple hours for children to fill up water cannisters from the lake into the water tank behind the main building.
The main toilets were not clean and in the end didn't work, so we were offered the use of one in a separate building.
One of the workers was attentive and helpful but the others spent more time playing on their cell phones.
The small wharf by the lake was falling apart and dangerous to stand on.
We found the view with the volcano in the background the main highlight and the only redeeming factor of this otherwise mediocre place.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Magda_and_John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson M, Owner at Lake Chahafi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2016

Dear Magda_and_John,
we thank and appreciate you for the time you have taken to review us on this page. we are glad you chose to camp with us at Lake chahafi Resort; and we regret to have fallen short of service to your expectation.
we are however glad to give a feedback on the issues raised:
the price of USD 8 per person camping is the most competitive rate you can have in a resort that is facilitated with warm showers; light in the garden ( more lighting needed though) ; an open lounge with cozy furniture and the ambience provided at the resort; we have seen other guests who are happy with the price and they go excited and are happy compared to what they experience else where; according to the records you actually paid a total of usd 16 dollars which implies the usd 8 person and not the usd 4 per person as alleged in your review !
The issue of running water has been a pain to the resort and the community around us: as a resort located in a rural setting with out any possible connection to the grid we improvised to collect rain water and also supplemented it with an extraction from the underground water powered by a submersible pump; however due to a prolonged dry spell from June to September the water levels drastically reduced and we were left with only one option to manually collect the fresh water from the lake to the tank so that guests can at least enjoy a running cold and warm shower: onesmas the manager explained this to this lovely couple and during the time of their visit we were excavating the hole further to improve on the water level which will enable us to pump water during the dry spells; we are sorry if this didn't go well with you!

we offered you a private room for your refresh because its a common practice we normally do when the private rooms have no guests staying since the distance to where you pitched a tent and the common shower is a bit long: the engineer planned with us to put the common shower far from the water source because the location where the resort is gently sloping towards the lake: the allegation that the common shower facilities were not clean is far from the truth!
It is true the swimming pier/quay has grown old but we are in the process of renovating it and actually erect a big deck to accommodate many more guests!

During the time of your stay we had a guest who travelled solo and took a single room but was mesmerized with the services offered by the resort; thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the future!
Nelson and Onesmas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2016

I had a very good time at this resort,it had good and exotic rooms, excellent service and some of the best scenery s. the distance to the impenetrable mugahinga forest and the virunga ranges was very exciting and the lake view was very captivating

Room tip: south side rooms very spacious
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank twinebrian200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson M, Owner at Lake Chahafi Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2016

thank you twinebrian200 for staying with us we appreciate your support and please come again!
Nelson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews