We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will not Return”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Watkins Glen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Watkins Glen-Corning KOA Camping Resort
Reviewed 13 August 2016

This KOA should be branded a holiday not a resort. The positives were staff was friendly and the food at the onsite Wild Side Cafe was delicious. Now the negatives, being branded a Resort i expected all of the amenities as other KOA's plus more. there was no escort to our site, there was no wood delivery to our site, the dog park was tiny, the nature trail was overgrown so unless you want poison ivy or something else you wouldn't walk through it. Our site was a deluxe patio site which had some sort of drainage problem so the grassy part was a swamp which was a breading ground for gnats, the site was sunny for the entire day so bring canopies or something. The KOA is located about 15 miles off the main highway the roads are wide and easy in and out of the KOA. the town of Watkins Glen is about 4 miles from the campground it was unimpressive. Not many places to eat and no chain restaurants, you need to drive over a half over for them. The best part of the area is the Watkins State park with the 18 waterfalls we also took a sightseeing tour for 1 hour it was $17.00 per person not worth it because all you see is a salt factory. not much nearby and the camp store was not stocked with much of anything so bring what you need Also, wi-fi at the KOA was good but cell service with Verizon was horrible getting you GPS to work is a challenge. Will not be returning.

Room Tip: bring lots of sun shelter sites are full sun all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Janine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 54 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed three nights. Very quiet overall. Nice for kids. Play area is fun and safe. Lots of extras for nominal fee. Heard train once but it wasn't disruptive. Service was fair. Lots of younger adults/older kids "run" things. Gazebos are beautiful. Indoor pool is clean. Rules state no kids in hot tub but doesn't seem to be enforced. It was full of children. May stay again.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Victoria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

Okay to start off. Location location location. This is terrible. Train tracks right across the street. Train goes by in the middle of the night -2:30-3:30. Hits horn 3-4 times. Wakes you up unless you are in a cabin with the a/c on. This equaled 3 nights of no sleep once you are awaken. Not fun if you have a tent. The main highway road runs right beside the campground. Hope you like the sound of large trucks gearing down and constant traffic of the cars. The tent sites are mostly gravel. Better bring a good air mattress to sleep on and blankets if you plan on moving around your tent.
Staff-great. Will help you with anything. It is very clean and well maintained
Washrooms. Clean. Nice. Well maintained
Activities - lots for kids
Pick the state park if you can.
Disappointed as I was looking for to relaxation


Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
Thank brad1133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2016

Our second time staying at this campground, second time is not a charm. Upon arrival we were greeted by a young woman who could care less about answering our questions. Her only interest was in getting us out the door. After setting up our campsite, I noticed the smell of sewer, thinking that maybe I didn't do such a great job after our last camping trip, I had my husband open the black tank and rinse the hell out of it and added more chemical drops. Guess what, it wasn't us, as we met our terrific neighbors and their two puppies, they had the same issue with the sewer odor. It was coming from the bathouse area. To top things off, a wicked storm came rumbling in and knocked out the power for 4 1/2 hours, no one answered the phone in the office, no one came around to update us on when or if it would come back on. The only reason we knew anything was because of our diligent neighbor. To top it off, some dog owners would walk their dogs in the open field and quess what DID NOT GET PICKED UP? Suppose they think we're stupid. THOSE OWNERS SHOULD BE ASHAMED OF THEMSELVES. We will not be back.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Carsons3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2016 via mobile

We stopped by to visit my in-laws who were camping there and we paid $3.00 per person just to go thru the gate. We were only there 15 minutes so my review would be a negative number. Totally and I mean totally ridiculous just to stop by to visit!!!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Sooner16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watkins Glen
11.5 km away
Lakeside Resort
Lakeside Resort
#3 of 9 in Watkins Glen
120 reviews
11.8 km away
Rodeway Inn Marshall Manor
Rodeway Inn Marshall Manor
#8 of 11 in Horseheads
103 reviews
8.0 km away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
The Local
The Local
#6 of 7 in Watkins Glen
2 reviews
34.2 km away
Firelight Camps
Firelight Camps
#1 of 3 in Ithaca
115 reviews
9.2 km away
Gorgeous View Motel
Gorgeous View Motel
#2 of 9 in Watkins Glen
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watkins Glen-Corning KOA Camping Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watkins Glen-Corning KOA Camping Resort

Address: 1710 State Route 414, PO Box 228, Watkins Glen, NY 14891-9526
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Watkins Glen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Watkins Glen
Number of rooms: 152
Also Known As:
Watkins Glen-Corning Koa Camping Hotel Watkins Glen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing