We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Fenwick Islander Motel(Fenwick Island)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$179
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Atlantic Coast Inn(Fenwick Island)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fenwick Inn(Ocean City)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City(Ocean City)(Great Value!)
US$260
US$192
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cayman Suites(Ocean City)(Great Value!)
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Hawk Motel(Ocean City)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$212
Country Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$259
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
16
12
12
6
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
16
12
12
6
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat poolend of seasongo somewhere elseocean citylast minutebeach vacationmy fianceacross the streetsandalsterryblockmaiddesk
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 61 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

Me and my fiance decided to book the sands motel. I was pleasantly surprised by the motel. I knew not to expect a 5 star hotel and did my research before booking. It worked for what we needed. We stayed in the apartment room. It was nice and spacious. The motel is a walk away from the beach. Not far at all. The beach is more secluded and it was beautiful. Ocean city is literally like 5mins away. I would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank LScopel481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile

We booked this at the last minute. We got there to be greeted by a very friend desk man. He explained everything and gave us our keys and we were in our way. We went into the room and it was plain. But it's an older place and it was a place to stay. The bed was very comfy the room was clean had a window UNIT a.c. that kept us cool ( it was 90 outside) the bathroom is small with only a shower but again it was room to stay in and the towels and linens are clean and toiletry items i.e. soap, shampoo and so on is stocked. The pool was very clean and very warm very relaxing to hop in.
Will we stay here again yes we would the staff is outstanding although they are taking this place down and building a new motel after this year.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Randy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017

We walked into our room, turned on the lights and we’re impressed. Let’s rewind a little to our arrival.
Terry at the front desk was friendly, welcoming and efficient. We arrived a few hours early and luckily our room was ready and we were able to check in. Our room was on the 2nd floor as we approached our room we noticed the lounging chairs outside of the rooms were pretty beat, old and the vinyl strapping falling off. However chairs on the 1st floor were newer and different material. We unlocked our door and stepped in, yes, at first we were impressed. I would start rating with 4 stars for what the Sands is and apples to apples. The room is definitely outdated. We could deal with the paneled walls and blue, antique tiled bathroom and most of all the room appeared clean.

As time passed the stars fell off. Being outdated is one thing but simple upkeep was definitely lacking. The bathroom fixtures needed Lime-Away and elbow grease or just inexpensively replaced. The bathroom door veneer was peeling off and the inside of the door had scratches assumingly from a pet someone brought along and locked in the bathroom. There’s no mechanical ventilation in the bathroom but a window that can be pushed open to release some shower steam. The window was in rough shape, a little sanding and paint would go a long way. The shower tile and grouting around the soap dish was yellowing (orange) in areas. The shower curtain was clean and mold free which was nice to see. Bathroom towels are small, thin and rough but if changed every day they get the job done.
So now that takes us down to 3 stars. We had two double beds, one was newer, comfortable and fairly firm, the other was sagging in the middle. All the pillows seemed newer and comfortable as well.
The lighting in the room is very dim. One of the electrical outlets didn’t work.
The kitchen was clean and stocked with a few pots/pans and glasses/cups. The refrigerator and freezer were nice and clean. The stove and microwave, although outdated with wear and tear were clean as well, however we didn’t use them.
As mentioned several time, the room appeared clean, the only contradicting were the carpeting was stained from spills and there was a slight build up of sand in the bathroom in a corner by the wall and tub.
The pool, which we didn’t use seemed clean from our 2nd floor view. The free wi-fi for the most part worked well.
Overall, it was an okay stay. We didn’t spend much time in the room or sitting outside on the old chairs, but if we did my biggest complaint would be the smokers that sat outside of their rooms puffing away. The smoke circulated making sitting outside an annoyance. There’s two “wings” of the motel, it would be nice if they made one side smoke free and also not allow smoking in the pool area.
On our 2nd day, we left at 12:30 pm and returned at 10pm to find our room wasn’t cleaned which was upsetting considering I left $5 in the maid’s envelope the previous day. We had to go down to the office to get some clean towels and tissues.
All in, I’m giving two stars and yes we would possibly return. The price was okay for what it was and the location is easy access to a quiet, not crowded, clean beach and close to some decent restaurants and activities.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017 via mobile

The room itself was NOT very good. It was clean, had a nice mini kitchen, and all but it was very small. The TV was in a living room and there wasn't one in the bedroom. The water in the shower didn't get hot. And window in the bedroom appeared to have bullet holes in it and was broken so it made the room quite cold!

On the other hand, the staff was extremely nice and my fiancé and I greatly enjoyed talking to the man at the desk. He was very nice, friendly, talkative, and informative.

The price of the place was very reasonable, cheap even, and the staff mad the somewhat bleh room better.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank LaceLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2017 via mobile

Excellent little motel close to everything. We went at the end of tourist season so all the kids were back in school. The room was tidy, showed a little evidence of it being the end of season (small cracks in the wall, stains on the carpet) but they were so minor and understandable and didn't hamper our stay at all. The staff was so friendly too, I would definitely go back.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Allison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews