We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A LITTLE BIT OF HEAVEN!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Waterside Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2010

We have stayed at Waterside numerous times over the years - must be getting on for over 10 visits now. Went last year for 4 weeks, this year we went in May for 3 weeks, all booked through tour operator Manos - now Thomas Cook. 2 brothers own these apartments and one brother books his 6 rooms out through Thomas Cook and has one big room he books out privately on the ground floor. The other rooms are owned and run by Vangelis and his family.

We are returning to Waterside this September. My husband and I have both suffered with health problems earlier on this year and we know we can get peace, tranquility, and fantastic scenery at Waterside. The people in the village and the owners of Waterside are lovely, wonderful and so friendly.. We have booked privately this time to ensure we get a sea view room.

The family know that we always chill out in the garden with our books - just drinking in the fantastic sea views - have been lucky enough to see dolphins leaping out of the water in the bay. The garden is "a bit of heaven", tranquil and beautiful.

Out of all the Greek islands we have been to, we honestly say that Kefalonia is the best. We have got to know quite a few of the local people over the years and it is always wonderful to see them, we feel like part of the family.

Vangelis, Teresa, Paniotis and Vasso are just wonderful people and we are fortunate enough to say that we know Tonia and have also met Stavros and have got to know him over the time too. A delightful warm hearted family.

As for Makis (over the road) not letting someone use his swimming pool. MOST UNUSUAL. The only thing I can say is that Makis has been renovating his apartments, bar area and kitchen this year and part of last. He has always allowed people to use his pool and pool area. We used to visit his restaurant too when he ran a restaurant there, fingers crossed he will soon open up as a restaurant again!!! He is a great guy, although we have never stayed at his apartments, we always go to see Makis and his wife Favronia, Lovely people and another reason why we keep returning to Aghia Efimia.

We have stayed in 5 star hotels in the States, have travelled considerably Europe, Canada etc, but somehow Kefalonia, Aghia Efimia, WATERSIDE have got hold of our hearts.

So much to see and do, beautiful quiet beaches, out of the way villages, noisy bustling and colourful Argostoli. Vineyards -(try and buy!!!). Perfect

The family are just wonderful people, so warm, welcoming andd friendly. They cannot do enough to ensure your holiday is just perfect and it always is. Suffice to say that we have already booked another 3 week holiday at Waterside for next May 2011.

As for the fact that supermarkets close between 3 and 5.00pm!!! That is the norm in Greece and also I hasten to add - in Spain too. In fact we stayed in a village in Spain where everywhere closed at 1.00pm an didn't open until 5.00pm - the saying "when in rome" springs to mind here. It is their lifestyle, their way of living and we fully accept and relish their way of life.
Shirley and Fred

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank safred528785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 57 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2010

We stayed for a week booking a few months ago via teletext. Had a top floor harbour facing room. View was great, caught sun in morning and was cool on our return late afternoon. Room is no different to many we have experienced in Greek islands and better in the fact that a kettle was included in the kitchen. 2 cooking rings is standad in all greek apartments I have been in. All necessary items provided. The ceiling fan was broken in our room but we provided with a stand alone one instead. Bathroom small but water fairly hot on most occaisions. The garden is divided into 2 parts apparently because there are 2 owners, don't know if this is correct. Apartments cleaned each day, towels changed every couple of days. Access to sea from garden is slippery but next door have steps in which is much more sensible. Makis over road has a nice pool and bar area to spend the day in. To Parasmo in the village is a great taverna with superb food. Lots of yachts visiting most days, not much late night activity which suited us fine.All in all, great if you get a sea facing apartment, not such a good view if you don't but the garden more than compensates for that.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank norfolknic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2010

Just got back from three weeks at Waterside in a garden studio. The secret with this accommodation is to book direct and not through a tour operator - I won't go into the reasons why as it's complicated, but in the time we were there everyone who booked direct was happy.
The location is perfect both for enjoying the resort but also for touring Kefalonia.
The room is the usual greek which is basic by some standards but absolutely fine - clean, well equipped and with good shower etc. It is cleaned daily and anything we needed was provided as soon as we asked.

The garden is exceptional with fabulous views over the resort, wonderful setting and more flowers than it's possible to imagine! Beautiful.

The location is quiet...there is a road behind the accommodation but it's the road that runs through the resort so most properties are on it. The difference with this property is that it is on the shore side of the road, whilst most of the accommodation is on the other side of the road to the sea. You can swim from the garden if you want...it's not a beach, but it's easy to get in and out and the water is wonderful. There are lots of other beaches close by if you prefer including Myrtos which is only a few kilometers.

The family are kind and generous and I can't fault the help before we arrived and during our stay so thanks to all. It really delivered more than we expected

Don't hesitate to book direct with the Waterside.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mayqueen_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2010

My husband and I have enjoyed three holidays at this family run apartment block, two with a tour operator, and one arranged independently. The family is friendly, welcoming and helpful. Hubby wanted access to intranet, although the village has free wi-fi he had some difficulty finding a signal, the family gave us access to their network connection, great for hubby needing access to the all important world cup footie information.
W e have had rooms both on the road side of the building and those overlooking the sea. Whichever side we have been on we have enjoyed out time here. Although there is regular traffic on the road, it is not constant. My husband and I had no problems sleeping in rooms that are on the side of the road.
The sea view rooms have the most fantastic views, but if you don’t have a sea view, there are gardens that overlook the sea. This year, we had a family holiday with my mum, sister and their partners. We spent many days in the gardens , eating breakfast, recovering from swimming in the wonderful bay and reading. A couple of times we took drinks into the garden and enjoyed the balmy Mediterranean evenings. It was wonderful! All of my family were more than happy with the apartments.
There are steps to go directly into the sea, but , as I have a penchant for falling I tend to use the small beach a three minute walk up from the apartments. However, I did see a man with only one leg managing very well to get into the sea and enjoy a swim – and my hubby who had a hip replacement last year also had no problem.
The rooms are basic, but functional, with a two ring hob, small fridge. Rooms are clean, and are cleaned daily , and towels and sheets changed on alternate days. Air conditioning is 5 euros extra, but well worth it. The bathrooms have great showers with good water pressure and temperature. All rooms have a balcony area with table and chairs for breakfast. There is also off road parking available if you hire a care. There is somewhere to hang out any washing/swimming stuff.
My husband and I have had holidays all over the world, but there is something special about aghia efimia and we love the waterside apartments and the family who run them.
Our thanks go to Teresa, Vangelis and Toynya( not sure if this is the right spelling?!?) who made our stay a happy one!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dpandagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2010

Apartments are in a great location both for local amenities and for other places in Kefalonia. The rooms were fairly basic but a decent size. Bathroom facilities were good with a powerful, hot shower. The only thing lacking are the cooking facilities. We ate out every night as there is a fridge and a kettle, a tiny hob and nowhere to prepare food. We were lucky to have a room at the back with an amazing view from the balcony of the sea and the island of Ithaca. The garden is very pleasant and the owners are really friendly. There is also a great swimming pool right opposite which guests can use. Would definitely stay at Waterside again but would always request a room at the back.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mardleEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agia Efimia hotels
0.1 km away
Greka Ionian Suites
Greka Ionian Suites
#2 of 6 in Agia Efimia
136 reviews
0.5 km away
Olive Bay Hotel
Olive Bay Hotel
#3 of 6 in Agia Efimia
147 reviews
0 km away
Ballas Apartments
Ballas Apartments
#2 of 20 in Agia Efimia
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Seasons of Nickolas
The Seasons of Nickolas
#5 of 6 in Agia Efimia
98 reviews
0.5 km away
Alexatos Studios & Apartments
Alexatos Studios & Apartments
#3 of 20 in Agia Efimia
70 reviews
1.1 km away
Kefalonia Bay Palace
Kefalonia Bay Palace
#4 of 6 in Agia Efimia
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterside Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterside Apartments

Address: Agia Efimia 28081, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Agia Efimia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Agia Efimia
Price Range: $61 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Waterside Apartments, a family owned bussiness with self catering one or two bedroom rooms and studio apartments.We offer traditional Greek Hospitality and a family friendly atmosphere that you will only find in small properties like Waterside We are located next to the seafront, with spectacular views of Agia Efimia harbour and Ithaka. You can swim in the sea directly below Waterside,or relax in our beautiful landscaped garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Waterside Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing