We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice views”

Cape Naturaliste Lighthouse
Book In Advance
More Info
US$219.59*
and up
Margaret River and Geographe Bay Region Day Trip...
Ranked #12 of 49 things to do in Dunsborough
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Breathtaking panoramic views of the Indian Ocean, Cape Naturaliste, Leeuwin-Naturaliste National Park and the beautiful Geographe Bay coastline reward visitors to the top balcony of the Cape Naturaliste Lighthouse. Only 13 kilometres from Dunsborough, Cape Naturaliste Lighthouse, historic Tea Rooms and Maritime Museum reveal the fascinating maritime history of the Cape region.
Reviewed 30 March 2018

T he lighthouse is situated at the end of the Caves Road on a high point overlooking a long stretch of coastline with absolutely wonderful scenery down the coast. It is surrounded by bush country and a bit wild. a visitor will notice the flies if you stray away from the lighthouse into the bush surrounds

Thank jamesbalsdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (702)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"guided tour"
in 64 reviews
"light house"
in 65 reviews
"interesting history"
in 17 reviews
"cape naturaliste"
in 38 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 24 reviews
"see whales"
in 19 reviews
"whale lookout"
in 13 reviews
"walking trails"
in 11 reviews
"breathtaking views"
in 10 reviews
"great walk"
in 10 reviews
"indian ocean"
in 12 reviews
"great tour"
in 14 reviews
"whale watching"
in 24 reviews
"margaret river"
in 9 reviews
"keeper"
in 17 reviews
"workings"
in 9 reviews
"kevin"
in 15 reviews
Filter

31 - 35 of 702 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2018

So pleased we drove out here, it's windswept & you can see why a lighthouse was so essential. we were the only ones on our tour, which was great as our guide could pour all her enthusiasm into telling us the history & purpose. They were hard times when the lighthouse was manually operated. Fab views, lovely new walkway to viewing point. Stunning vista from the lighthouse balcony. Lovingly restored, a real gem

Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YourMargaretRiver, Guest Relations Manager at Cape Naturaliste Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Hi Sarah C,

Thanks for the great post. Lighthouses tend to take you to rugged, windswept areas of coastline and this one is no exception. Please come back again in October when the whales and wildflowers are out. It is even more stunning.

Kind regards,

Cape Nat Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

When the weather closes in, sometimes it’s easy to cancel plans. Boy, am I glad we didn’t cancel our trip to Cape Naturaliste Lighthouse!

Our guide, Faye, was great. Her knowledge of the lighthouse and surrounding area was first class.

We had lunch at the cafe and thoroughly enjoyed the beef pies whilst sitting in the lighthouse keeper’s cottage.

Despite the drizzle, the walking trail around the lighthouse and down to the cliffs to see the seal colony was fantastic and a real highlight.

No excuses, people! Put this one on your list.

1  Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YourMargaretRiver, Guest Relations Manager at Cape Naturaliste Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Hi Helen C,

I could agree more! When the weather is a bit wild there is possibly no better place to visit than the rough coastline and cliffs of the cape. Especially when you follow it up with a fresh beef pie in the cosy café. Thanks for visiting.

All the best, Cape Nat Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

Fantastic visit, great guide Elise, thank you. You sure love your lighthouse. Really appreciate the way it has been so lovingly restored.

Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2018

The Lighthouse precinct was well presented, with a coffee shop, information centre, a guided tour of the lighthouse, and a boardwalk below the lighthouse on the point with a fabulous view over the ocean. I feel so much more could have been made of this precinct though with boards and an audio tour telling the story as Cape Leeuwin have done at Augusta. The whole area was beautifully kept, but not everyone wants to climb the Lighthouse to be part of a tour and to have the story boards and audio tours available would really make a better experience.

Thank karinya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YourMargaretRiver, Guest Relations Manager at Cape Naturaliste Lighthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Hi karinya,

Thanks for visiting and for taking the time to post. As you noted we have put in a lot of conservation and restoration work to make the precinct look great. you'll be please to know that we are in the late stages of planning the interpretive displays and museum in the old lighthouse keepers cottages. By the time you get back here next we should have it up and running!

Look forward to your visit.

Cape Nat Stafff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cape Naturaliste Lighthouse also viewed

Yallingup, Margaret River Region
Cape Naturaliste, Dunsborough
 
Cape Naturaliste, Dunsborough
Yallingup, Margaret River Region
 

Been to Cape Naturaliste Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing