We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Yallingup Forest Resort(Yallingup)(Great Value!)
US$167
US$163
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Empire Spa Retreat(Yallingup)(Great Value!)
US$197
US$186
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape Lodge(Yallingup)(Great Value!)
US$257
US$239
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seashells Yallingup(Yallingup)(Great Value!)
US$143
US$103
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
"Seclusions" of Yallingup(Yallingup)(Great Value!)
US$135
US$108
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Canal Rocks Beach Front Apartments(Yallingup)(Great Value!)
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$163
US$149
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Erravilla Country Estate(Yallingup)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caves House Hotel Yallingup(Yallingup)(Great Value!)
US$113
US$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (202)
Filter reviews
202 results
Traveller rating
130
54
12
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
130
54
12
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbedroom ocean viewsmiths beachthe kitchenmargaret riverbedroom beach housedaily housekeepingsignature experienceonly real gripebaby gatessmall luxury hotels of the worldwelcome giftpolished concretegave us great tipsbedroom downstairssplit levelextended family holidayliving area
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 202 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2017

Not a complaint about Smiths Beach Resort after our family of four adults stayed here in January. The hotel is in a remote location (car necessary) but right on the most beautiful beach! The beach and surrounding grounds are truly what make this hotel so special. The natural beauty is breathtaking. The hotel pool was a treat.
Our 2-bedroom "garden view" didn't have much of a view, and was also equipped for handicapped guests (which we did not need). The apt is stylishly appointed and has most everything you could need to cook at home and relax, including washer/dryer, cooking utensils and appliances, etc. Would not classify the accommodation as 5-star by any means. There is nothing wrong with 4-star when done right, as this was!
We had coffee at Lamont's Cafe each morning - excellent flat whites!
The resort is largely self-service, which we enjoyed. Don't expect pool boys coming around to take your drink order! We only spoke with staff for check-in and check-out, and had no issues during the stay.
The location of the hotel was perfect for us. Short 12-15 minute drive into Dunsborough town, about 30 mins to Margaret river, but surrounded by great restaurants and wineries nearby. Little Fish and Barnyard1978 are sure bets.
Overall, we absolutely loved the resort. It was hard to leave! We hope to be back soon.

Room Tip: Apt 31 "Garden/Pool Villa 2-BR" had no views to speak of. Pool view was blocked by a privacy screen.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dippinginthesauce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2017

We stayed in a 2 bedroom beach house after management surprised us with an upgrade from the 2 bedroom garden view (which we would have been happy with anyway. I think they're actually 3 bedroom but we didn't use the downstairs bedroom).
The rooms are clean and spacious, beds extremely comfortable. Bathrooms were massive with lovely toiletries, kids especially loved the extra large baths in both ensuites. Kitchen was well appointed and the lounge and dining area were huge, with a fantastic well equipped balcony that included a dining area, BBQ and ocean views. Staff are very friendly and helpful. It really is a lovely resort with pretty much everything you need. A supermarket is about 10 minutes away if you need supplies, although there are lots of restaurants and wineries nearby if you don't feel like cooking.
After reading other reviews we remembered to bring our own towels for the pool - I think if management reconsidered this decision it would be great. If I was visiting Australia for the first time I don't think I would want to pack or have to buy a beach towel.I have stayed in a few hotels but none that didn't offer pool/beach towels to their guests, so I guess that is my only criticism, aside from heating the pool - it was freezing!
The beach was patrolled when we went, it was a bit windy but great for body surfing.
I can highly recommend Smiths Beach Resort, we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Try and get a beach house closest to the road - most have ocean views.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Victoria24669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2017

We stayed in a beautiful 3 bedroom ocean view villa with 2 other couples and we all thought it was fantastic luxurious accommodation.
Our villa was right at the back row of the resort so we had the benefit of a nice ocean view ( you cannot actually see the beach itself) and being able to watch the kangaroos over the back fence late every afternoon. Our overseas visitors thought that was incredible.
The weather when we were there was a bit cool, so we loved sitting by the gas log fire each night.
The resort is a little out of the way but, as you really need to have a car to explore the area, this didn't matter. The beach itself was not patrolled and quite rough so if you are planning to swim at the beach, it would be better to drive up to Yallingup itself.
We just loved the whole Margaret River area not only for its great wines and wineries, but for it's spectacular coastal scenery. It is a shame we only had three days to explore this great part of Australia.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SGD10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam M, General Manager at Smiths Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2017

We are so pleased you embraced your visit to Smiths Beach Resort and The Margaret River Region. We agree our Three Bedroom Ocean View Villa's are amazing offering panoramic ocean views from the main living area and views over the national park from the master bedroom. We do hope that we can welcome you back to our amazing part of the world soon.
Kind Regards,
Adam McWhirter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed in 3 bed ocean view villa with our two kids in the first week of January. The view was absolutely stunning, gorgeous. This resort is in an incredible location with the sea out the front and bush behind, so you are surrounded by nature. We even saw a kangaroo and her joey out of our bedroom window on a couple of the days there. We had a storm come in one night and it was fantastic to watch the outside from the apartment's expansive view.

The apartment is just as gorgeous - designer style including concrete floors, a stylish master bed ensuite, nice leather lounge with a fireplace which would be nice in winter. It is a fully kitted out apartment including dishwasher integrated into cabinetry and a proper laundry, with car parking near each villa.

The resort is lovely, well designed, with a nice pool area. The resort is out of town but Dunsborough town centre is 10-15 mins drive away with a Coles supermarket etc. In the resort itself there is a lovely restaurant, cafe and deli including some food essentials, coffee, and beer and wine essentials! It was reasonably priced considering how far away it was from town. Staff in the hotel and food outlets were totally lovely, they even gave us some wheat wraps out of their kitchen when we asked whether they stocked them in the deli! We ate dinner in Lamont's restaurant a couple of the nights and had a good time (they have a good kids menu as well).

The hotel was well located to explore the Margaret River area and we did daytrips up north to Sugarloaf Rock and the Lighthouse and down South to Jewel Caves (fantastic, a must do) with a number of wineries in between. Also great for our kids were Yallingup maze and Sunflowers Petting Zoo farm. Also highly recommend a tour with Taste of the South tours where you can do the wineries without driving (or organising anything).

Couple of things to note: you are supposed to bring your own beach towels for the pool and beach and the resort only provides bathroom towels (I have never come across this before in all my travels, it is apparently a WA thing?).

And the wifi, while free, is very slow. They only have ADSL that far out of town and it really wasn't up to much. The mobile reception is ok in the resort though (but it is rather patchy throughout the whole Margaret river region).

Overall, if you are in the Margaret River region I highly highly recommend a stay here.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank Carolyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam M, General Manager at Smiths Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Smiths Beach Resort.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit. Thank you for your feedback regarding pool towels and WIFI. We are currently in talks with Telstra regarding the NBN roll out and we are pushing for a solution. Once again thank you for taking the time to review Smiths Beach Resort and The Margaret River Region. I agree watching a storm roll in from our Three Bedroom Villa's is almost magical. We appreciate your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to Smiths Beach Resort.
Kind Regards,
Adam McWhirter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed for six nights in a 3 bedroom ocean view villa. Pricey but worth it. Great location, right next to beach with stunning vista. Luxury accommodation with ample space and all the mod cons. Location is terrific for visiting wineries during the day and peace and quiet at night. Onsite deli selling essentials and a decent (pricey) onsite restaurant. Hard to fault. Note that they don't provide any beach or pool towels were was amazingly frustrating for interstate visitors and given the price. WIFI exists but is at dial-up speeds and unreliable. We had a great time though and would return.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank torking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews