We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private astronomy lesson”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitianga
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stargazers Bed & Breakfast
Reviewed 4 May 2015

Wow! This bed and breakfast has a comfortable bed, private room, luxury ensuite, and healthy deluxe breakfast in a bush setting with kiwis and morepork owls calling in the night. AND THEN- a research-grade motorized telescope inside an observatory, "pipe henge" that helps you understand the movement of celestial bodies, a studio of celestial wonders, meteriorites, and fossils. We were given astronomy handouts to take home. It had been cloudy all day, but at 9:00 PM the skies magically cleared enabling us to see where Apollo 11 landed on the moon, striped Jupiter with its Gallilean moons, Saturn in all its glory tilted for a perfect view of the rings including the Cassini division, the southern cross, alpha centauri, globular clusters, everything! Hot chocolate was provided too. We learned so much. What a wonderful time we had. Aaahhh.

Room Tip: All rooms good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raelene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair B, Owner at Stargazers Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2015

Hi Raelene,

Many thanks for your kind review. I'm glad you and Ronald enjoyed the tour...it was certainly touch and go with the clouds but we won out in the end! I'm impressed you manage to remember all the things we saw as we had to move around the sky pretty quickly to get them all in before the clouds came back again! Glad you enjoyed Harriette's breakfast too.
Cheers,
Alastair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2015

Stay at least 2 nights. Alastair was very generous with his time and the stargazing tour was excellent. Went out of his way to help us when we let our iPad behind. Highly recomended. Check out Luke's Kitchen 5 minute drive away for pizza.

Room Tip: We stayed in the miner's cottage. Very we'll appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2015

Thanks Alistair and Harriette for a wonderful stargazing evening. A beautiful evening with no clouds allowed Alistair to introduce us to the Southern Sky. The southern cross, Jupiter and the "jewel box" were seen in all their glory. The four of us Canadians had a truly memorable experience; one which we would highly recommend to visitors to this beautiful region of NZ. Alistair's passion for his hobby was apparent and Harriette's kindness and warm drinks made the evening complete!

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 139canadianwanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2015

Alistair and Harriette made us so welcome and comfortable. The B&B is conveniently located, yet sufficiently far from the village for lights not to interfere with Alistair's engaging and humorous presentation of the interesting objects in the night sky. His large telescope gave us impressive views of Jupiter and its moons, as well as new stars being formed.
Harriette's home made delights greeted us at breakfast, which was a delight. We wholeheartedly recommend a stay here.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank SouthernPacific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2014

This is MUST stay must experience B&B. It was unfortunate that the skies were covered with clouds the night we were there, but the family was invited to a night of entertainment and education from Alastair. Possessing a wealth of information on astronomy and geology, Alastair captivated our attention for more than an hour as he took us along a journey through the stars. My 11 yr old was fascinated by what he saw and heard.

The rooms were sparkling clean, and very comfortable. The bathrooms were luxurious! The kids were soooo happy to see a telly in their room!

Alastair and Harriette were the perfect hosts as well. We had a lovely breakfast in a beautiful dining area. They are such an interesting and intriguing couple, I regret not staying there longer.

Stayed: November 2014, travelled with family
Thank Mi-Mei K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair B, Owner at Stargazers Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2014

Many thanks Mi Mei for the kind review. We're glad the boys also enjoyed the stay and the stargazing tour even if conditions were not ideal on the night...it was certainly quite a different experience for them from back home in Singapore!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitianga hotels
17.3 km away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
518 reviews
19.1 km away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
341 reviews
17.3 km away
Blue Marlin Apartments
Blue Marlin Apartments
#11 of 18 in Whitianga
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 km away
Baileys at the Beach Motel
Baileys at the Beach Motel
#7 of 18 in Whitianga
69 reviews
18.1 km away
On the Beach Backpackers & Lodge
16.7 km away
Peninsula Motel
Peninsula Motel
#6 of 18 in Whitianga
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stargazers Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stargazers Bed & Breakfast

Address: 392 State Hwy 25 | R.D.2 Kuaotunu, Whitianga 3592, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Whitianga
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing