We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$306
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ledge Rock at Whiteface Mountain(Wilmington)(Great Value!)
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand View Motel(Wilmington)(Great Value!)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mountain Brook Lodge(Wilmington)(Great Value!)
US$89
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cadence Lodge at Whiteface(Wilmington)(Great Value!)
US$104
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Inn at Whiteface(Wilmington)(Great Value!)
US$149
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (189)
Filter reviews
189 results
Traveller rating
122
47
12
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
122
47
12
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubfly shoptroutfly fishingausable riverfine diningwest branchduckroom was cleanwhiteface mountainmotor inngreat fishinggreat bednever ran out of hot waterwalk in showerdifferent wayswonderful restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 189 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2017

Spent two nights vacation with my family here. Just amazing location with an outstanding view. The room was ready clean and ready when we got there. The place is clean and neat. The location is ideal for travelers. You're in the middle of great landmarks, the Whiteface mountain near by and you can go to Lake Placid and come back to the hotel. The owner, Jerry was great andfriendly with welcoming smile. The only "cons" I can think of was the restaurant. It's very expansive in my opinion. However, as this is located in a great location, there so many places that you can drive to to have a great meal and drink. I would definitely recommend The Hungry Trout Resort for a friend and family.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaadNazhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

We spent three nights at the Hungry Trout while visiting family in the area. The rooms were more than adequate (comfortable beds, immaculate housekeeping, A/C etc.), and the perks of the area were an added bonus. In addition to the motel pool, there are also great hiking trails just on the other side of the river (a short walk from the parking lot), plus breathtaking views of Whiteface Mountain. The Hungry Trout restaurant and tavern have delicious options for dinner. Breakfast is on your own (and there are limited options in the area) so pack accordingly.

Room Tip: Rooms 8, 9, 10 were recently renovated (bigger bathrooms and cathedral ceilings)
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Arlyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

Fabulous place for dinner. Yes expensive. Their menu is online with prices. It was worth it. I had the venison, quail, trout plate... wonderful. We also had the filet and shrimp...wonderful. Great view.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank rdstoneking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

We took my grandchildren to Santa's Village and were looking for a place to stay, doesn't have to be fancy but clean and comfortable. We got lots more, not only was the room large it was immaculate and very comfortable. There was a coffee pot and fridge as well as a large flat screen TV, a great pool with diving board and slide and best of all...we only had to walk across the parking lot to a great meal! We will be back again and again.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mschifini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

We enjoyed several days at the Hungry Trout in early August. Situated with the lovely Ausable River flowing just behind the property it gives guests exclusive access to the water. The rooms were clean with a mini fridge it you wanted to store provisions for an early breakfast before fishing. Each room also had two Adirondack chairs outside for relaxing and sharing fishing experiences during the day. I especially loved the hooks for waters outside of every room. The staff at the fishing shop were knowledgeable and stocked anything you may need. We also hired a guide through the shop for a half day to get to know the area. There is a nice pool with a slide and lounge chairs surrounding. The two restaurants at the motel were both great. One was more upscale and the other one was more family oriented. Both had great views of the River and great local brews on tap. We'll go back !!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank maplemom_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews