We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding at the Hungry Trout”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Hungry Trout Resort
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2017

The perfect location for an Adirondack wedding! The river photos of the ceremony were awesome. Followed by champagne. The staff could not do enough for all the guests. The reception ran without a hitch. The main courses of trout and prime rib were prepared as always perfectly. Our rooms were just a short walk across the parking lot. The next day there were so many hiking trails to choose from as well as a trip to the mountain top Castle. If you come to Lake Placid or to Whiteface ...The Hungry Trout Resort is a MUST!!!

Room Tip: King size bed was heaven
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank _newcityrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2017

Spent two nights vacation with my family here. Just amazing location with an outstanding view. The room was ready clean and ready when we got there. The place is clean and neat. The location is ideal for travelers. You're in the middle of great landmarks, the Whiteface mountain near by and you can go to Lake Placid and come back to the hotel. The owner, Jerry was great andfriendly with welcoming smile. The only "cons" I can think of was the restaurant. It's very expansive in my opinion. However, as this is located in a great location, there so many places that you can drive to to have a great meal and drink. I would definitely recommend The Hungry Trout Resort for a friend and family.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaadNazhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

We spent three nights at the Hungry Trout while visiting family in the area. The rooms were more than adequate (comfortable beds, immaculate housekeeping, A/C etc.), and the perks of the area were an added bonus. In addition to the motel pool, there are also great hiking trails just on the other side of the river (a short walk from the parking lot), plus breathtaking views of Whiteface Mountain. The Hungry Trout restaurant and tavern have delicious options for dinner. Breakfast is on your own (and there are limited options in the area) so pack accordingly.

Room Tip: Rooms 8, 9, 10 were recently renovated (bigger bathrooms and cathedral ceilings)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Arlyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

Fabulous place for dinner. Yes expensive. Their menu is online with prices. It was worth it. I had the venison, quail, trout plate... wonderful. We also had the filet and shrimp...wonderful. Great view.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank rdstoneking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

We took my grandchildren to Santa's Village and were looking for a place to stay, doesn't have to be fancy but clean and comfortable. We got lots more, not only was the room large it was immaculate and very comfortable. There was a coffee pot and fridge as well as a large flat screen TV, a great pool with diving board and slide and best of all...we only had to walk across the parking lot to a great meal! We will be back again and again.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mschifini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmington
14.5 km away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#6 of 32 in Lake Placid
1,354 reviews
13.2 km away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#15 of 32 in Lake Placid
28 reviews
3.2 km away
Adirondack Spruce Lodge
Adirondack Spruce Lodge
#2 of 9 in Wilmington
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Cadence Lodge at Whiteface
Cadence Lodge at Whiteface
#4 of 9 in Wilmington
46 reviews
14.2 km away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#14 of 32 in Lake Placid
254 reviews
7.6 km away
ADK Trail Inn
ADK Trail Inn
#1 of 1 in Upper Jay
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hungry Trout Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hungry Trout Resort

Address: 5239 Nys Route 86, Wilmington, NY 12997-2000
Region: United States > New York > Wilmington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Wilmington
Price Range: $127 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Hungry Trout Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your The Hungry Trout Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hungry Trout Hotel Wilmington
Hungry Trout Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing