We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large selection of sauces relishes, dips and items to dip.”

The Catskill Mountain Country Store and Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 33 Restaurants in Windham
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: We are glad you found us on the web and would love for you to come visit us in The Great Northern Catskill Mountains! We opened The Catskill Mountain Country Store in 1994. We started in the town of Windham, NY with a small store where we sold local crafts, fresh produce, gourmet foods and baked goods made from Pop Pop Siegfried's recipes (Natasha's Great Grandpop). We purchased the Windham Garden Center in 1995 and added our own garden center, looking zoo and walking paths. Then in 2000 we built an addition for our restaurant. We have been serving the best breakfast and lunch in New York, maybe...The USA since then! But wait, there is more. IT IS OFFICIAL!!!! We are open in Tannersville, NY. Stop by at our second location for Breakfast or Lunch, or buy a great gift. Try our homemade, jams, jellies, breads, pies, sodas and the list goes on! Tannersville has a special secret...An old fashion ice cream counter. Both locations are similar, but have their own unique charm. Our entire family is excited to be in two amazing communities in the Catskills! We will be bringing to Tannersville what we have been doing successfully in Windham, for the last twenty years! This has been a wonderful journey shared by our three children, 16 year old Sydney, 15 year old Augustus and 11 year old Victoria. Come visit and share a piece of the country that we call home!
Reviewed 10 September 2016

We didn't have an opportunity to eat in the cafe but we did browse through the store. if you need any kind of sauce, relish, party food, etc. this is the place to go. It was nice to be able to sample many of the items. Large selection of children's toys and books and although small in size a large variety of items. We purchased a lb of fudge and it was tasty. A nice ride and a picturesque area. They had a huge selection of mums and a very very tall chair outside, for a picture opportunity.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kgill150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drew S, Owner at The Catskill Mountain Country Store and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2016

So glad you enjoyed your trip to our great country store. Thanks for stopping in

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

We really enjoyed the food. Sitting was tight and limited but the food was worth it. Especially the Big Banana Pancakes! Pricing was also reasonable.

Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drew S, Owner at The Catskill Mountain Country Store and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2016

Thanks for reviewing us , big banana pancakes are one of my favorites. Try the banana pecan French toast next time your in they are sinfully delicious

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2016

We have passed this place for three years on our travels and finally decided to stop to try it. It is a Country Store that has a restaurant that serves Breakfast and Lunch. It was crowded but we were given a table quickly. The menu is unique which allowed me to chose from many items. The service is very slow and I know that it was a crowded but I have worked in many restaurants and it is a matter of management. We overheard two tables complaining to the staff about their wait. That aside, the meal was excellent. The food is fresh and homemade. I will try the place again in the future to see if the service has improved.

Thank TazRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drew S, Owner at The Catskill Mountain Country Store and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

Hi tazron
Thanks for taking the time to review your meal with us. We are very happy you loved our food. If you were in over Labor Day weekend you know how busy that weekend is. Our kitchen is running at full capacity and we take care of our customers as quickly as possible. But being such a busy holiday weekend service does slow down somewhat .thats the nature of our business. Hopefully we will see you again in the future and please introduce yourself .
Thanks again
Drew Shuster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2016

Went with a whole crowd of kids. Staff was super, food delicious, service fast. Would get a five star but had a child who is allergic to cats and there was one floating around inside, which probably cannot be avoided because with doors opening and closing nonstop, who could pay attention? Nice selection of baked goods and small amount of groceries also available incongruously next to a really fun toy shop.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cath8993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drew S, Owner at The Catskill Mountain Country Store and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

Thanks for visiting our country store in Windham! Hopefully you visited our looking zoo with all your kids. Most of our animals are rescues and they really like attention.We appreciate your taking the time to review us.
Have a great day
The Shuster family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

My family and I had a great breakfast this morning amazing ice lattes and the service was perfect the location is right in town

1  Thank Judi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drew S, Owner at The Catskill Mountain Country Store and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2016

Hi Judi
Thanks for taking the time to post your wonderful review. We are so glad you enjoyed our country store and restaurant. Will will share it with our staff , it will make their day. I believe you were in our Tannersville location but you put the review for our Windham store, happens all the time. Please say hello next time your in the area
Have a great day
The Shuster family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Catskill Mountain Country Store and Restaurant also viewed

Windham, Catskill Region
Windham, Catskill Region
 
Windham, Catskill Region
Windham, Catskill Region
 
Windham, Catskill Region
Windham, Catskill Region
 

Been to The Catskill Mountain Country Store and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing