We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best food and baked goods!”

The Catskill Mountain Country Store and Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 33 Restaurants in Windham
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: We are glad you found us on the web and would love for you to come visit us in The Great Northern Catskill Mountains! We opened The Catskill Mountain Country Store in 1994. We started in the town of Windham, NY with a small store where we sold local crafts, fresh produce, gourmet foods and baked goods made from Pop Pop Siegfried's recipes (Natasha's Great Grandpop). We purchased the Windham Garden Center in 1995 and added our own garden center, looking zoo and walking paths. Then in 2000 we built an addition for our restaurant. We have been serving the best breakfast and lunch in New York, maybe...The USA since then! But wait, there is more. IT IS OFFICIAL!!!! We are open in Tannersville, NY. Stop by at our second location for Breakfast or Lunch, or buy a great gift. Try our homemade, jams, jellies, breads, pies, sodas and the list goes on! Tannersville has a special secret...An old fashion ice cream counter. Both locations are similar, but have their own unique charm. Our entire family is excited to be in two amazing communities in the Catskills! We will be bringing to Tannersville what we have been doing successfully in Windham, for the last twenty years! This has been a wonderful journey shared by our three children, 16 year old Sydney, 15 year old Augustus and 11 year old Victoria. Come visit and share a piece of the country that we call home!
Reviewed 31 October 2016

The Catskill Mountain Country Store provided the most delicious donuts and baked goods for our daughter's wedding, Welcome and After Parties, and our Welcome baskets for our guests. They also have delicious breakfasts and lunches and wonderful items to bring home or give as gifts. They are a pleasure!

Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drew S, Owner at The Catskill Mountain Country Store and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2016

We are so happy your daughters wedding was such a big success! It was a pleasure to b a part of it. All the happiness to you and yours.
Natasha & Drew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

My boyfriend and I came in for breakfast around 1030 am on a Sunday. The place is small and popular so there was a wait. The lady taking names was so rude to everyone. We didnt mind waiting but she gave everyone such a nasty attitude i left or i would have told her off!

Thank dmc1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drew S, Owner at The Catskill Mountain Country Store and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2016

I am very sorry that you had such a bad expierence at at our restaurant. Columbus Day weekend is the busiest weekend of the year and I'm afraid that one of our people was overwhelmed . We have shared your review with her to use as a teaching tool and have explained how better to handle a busy time .
I hope you will give us another chance. Please accept our apology
Thank you
Drew Shuster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

Beautiful country setting with awesome potery at reasonable prices. Lots of goodies like maple syrup, fudge and freshly baked pies. They have a huge selection of toys you cannot get elsewhere.you will shop for christmas gifts early if you intend on visiting this store. Cheers!

Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drew S, Owner at The Catskill Mountain Country Store and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2016

Thanks for your great review . Did you know we have a online store at thecatskillmountaincountrystore.net?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Personable, caring and friendly service. A great place for gifts, local fare, books, trinkets, and a large section for children

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gustavmahler2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drew S, Owner at The Catskill Mountain Country Store and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2016

Thanks for taking the time to review us. Look forward to seeing you on your next trip Windham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2016

We didn't have an opportunity to eat in the cafe but we did browse through the store. if you need any kind of sauce, relish, party food, etc. this is the place to go. It was nice to be able to sample many of the items. Large selection of children's toys and books and although small in size a large variety of items. We purchased a lb of fudge and it was tasty. A nice ride and a picturesque area. They had a huge selection of mums and a very very tall chair outside, for a picture opportunity.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kgill150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drew S, Owner at The Catskill Mountain Country Store and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2016

So glad you enjoyed your trip to our great country store. Thanks for stopping in

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Catskill Mountain Country Store and Restaurant also viewed

Windham, Catskill Region
Windham, Catskill Region
 
Windham, Catskill Region
Windham, Catskill Region
 

Been to The Catskill Mountain Country Store and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing