We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good comfort food”

The Catskill Mountain Country Store and Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 33 Restaurants in Windham
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: We are glad you found us on the web and would love for you to come visit us in The Great Northern Catskill Mountains! We opened The Catskill Mountain Country Store in 1994. We started in the town of Windham, NY with a small store where we sold local crafts, fresh produce, gourmet foods and baked goods made from Pop Pop Siegfried's recipes (Natasha's Great Grandpop). We purchased the Windham Garden Center in 1995 and added our own garden center, looking zoo and walking paths. Then in 2000 we built an addition for our restaurant. We have been serving the best breakfast and lunch in New York, maybe...The USA since then! But wait, there is more. IT IS OFFICIAL!!!! We are open in Tannersville, NY. Stop by at our second location for Breakfast or Lunch, or buy a great gift. Try our homemade, jams, jellies, breads, pies, sodas and the list goes on! Tannersville has a special secret...An old fashion ice cream counter. Both locations are similar, but have their own unique charm. Our entire family is excited to be in two amazing communities in the Catskills! We will be bringing to Tannersville what we have been doing successfully in Windham, for the last twenty years! This has been a wonderful journey shared by our three children, 16 year old Sydney, 15 year old Augustus and 11 year old Victoria. Come visit and share a piece of the country that we call home!
Reviewed 4 March 2017

Excellent food , lovely baked good, candy an jams etc.
Clean they have unique gifts an always have lovely flowers for sale in the summer. You will love the place

Thank jimsmith60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drew S, Owner at The Catskill Mountain Country Store and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Hi Jim
Thank you for the wonderful review!
Hopefully you had some time to walk around our property where we have all sorts of rescue farm animals. From peacocks to fainting goats.. they love all the attention our customers give to them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

Eggs from the chickens out back (next to the goats, peacocks, etc.), great home baked goods (breads, cider donuts, fudge), and lots of toys/games/puppets (think Cracker Barrel style lobby) make this an adventure that my kids (5-8) want to repeat every weekend we can in Windham.

Thank nannyg21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drew S, Owner at The Catskill Mountain Country Store and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Hi nanny g
We are so happy you got to visit with our rescue farm animals they love to see our friends and customers.
Please say hello next time your in and thanks for taking the time to write such a glowing review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017

My parents have a home in Windham and I always seem to squeeze in a visit.

Their jarred goods are not to be missed, as well as their baked goods. They always have sample of their butters, jams and other goodies out for tasting. In the nicer weather, it's fun to walk around the grounds, check out the animals, and walk the trail there is behind the building.

Not to be missed !!

    • Value
    • Food
Thank Colleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drew S, Owner at The Catskill Mountain Country Store and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Did you know that most of our homemade goodies come from old family recipes? Handed down from Natasha's pop pop Siegfried, her great grandfather. We love when people enjoy our whole store and property.
Thank you for the great review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2016

We love to go here for breakfast, lunch, pies, pies pies, and other homemade and seasonal goodies. For gifts, there's a surprise around every corner, and many things we never see anywhere but here. We never miss the original Windham store when we visit Windham. It was cheerfully restored after Hurricane Irene, and we look forward to checking out their new store in Tannersville.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank petertripp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drew S, Owner at The Catskill Mountain Country Store and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Thanks so much for taking the time and giving us such a wonderful review. We always share reviews with our entire staff . It really makes there day to read a review like yours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2016

We always have a good meal, yummy baked goods and the kids manage to sneak in a gift. The animals are an added bonus!

Thank Kathleen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drew S, Owner at The Catskill Mountain Country Store and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2016

Thanks so much for your wonderful review! Have a merry Christmas and happy New Years.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Catskill Mountain Country Store and Restaurant also viewed

Windham, Catskill Region
Windham, Catskill Region
 
Windham, Catskill Region
Windham, Catskill Region
 
Windham, Catskill Region
 

Been to The Catskill Mountain Country Store and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing