We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Cave Mountain Motel(Windham)(Great Value!)
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Vienna(Windham)(Great Value!)
US$125
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Catskill Lodge(Windham)(Great Value!)
US$129
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Captains Inn Point Lookout(Windham)(Great Value!)
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beds On Clouds Bed and Breakfast Inn(Windham)(Great Value!)
US$149
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$131/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Cuomo's Cove(Windham)(Great Value!)
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Copper Kettle Motel Cottages(Windham)(Great Value!)
US$75
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Thompson House(Windham)(Great Value!)
US$195
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (539)
Filter reviews
540 results
Traveller rating
477
50
7
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
477
50
7
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscookiesthe kitchencarriage housebaked goodsmy husband and ispring waterfrittatabed and breakfastprivate porchtea and coffeewindham mountainbreakfast was amazingpancakesowners and staffdvd libraryfire piteach morning
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 540 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2017

Spent 3 autumn nights midweek at Alberto Allegra--Italian for Inn of Happiness. Rural location in Windam was great. Very relaxing and homey spot. Breakfasts were quite tasty. Free 24 hour snack and drink panty came in quite handy about 11 pm. Owners are cheerful and helpful. Hiking trail from property is wonderful. Climbing the stairs was my only problem, but there are downstairs rooms too.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank EthelMae12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

Family owned and operated inn located next to pastoral Eden in Catskills. Staff is so genuinely friendly and helpful. Rooms are comfortable and homey. Very clean. Breakfast is 4 different hot choices each day plus home-baked scones, bread, and also a huge bowl of fresh chopped fruit. Living room and kitchen available at all hours. If you want a pot of fresh coffee at midnight you can make it with a French press and ground beans. Best part is the 2 mile walking path through fields and over creek. You will think you are in Eden.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianna L, Owner at Albergo Allegria, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Thank you so much for your review, Laura! We know how important breakfast is, and we love giving you plenty of options to start your day. The Windham Path is a true jem and I'm so pleased you were able to walk out our doors and enjoy it. Hope you can come stay with us again sometime!

Sincerely,
Marianna, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

Booked this B&B because of the great reviews it received. It definitely lived up to them. We spent a great quiet weekend here, and even received a free room upgrade bc I'm pregnant I thought that was so nice . We stayed in the autumn room and it was spacious, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was amazing and the coffee great as well. Loved their DVD library. All in all a great time.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank septemberx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianna L, Owner at Albergo Allegria, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

I'm happy that our online reputation pointed you in our direction! Thank you so much for contributing to that with your wonderful review. Upgrading your room was no trouble at all as our availability was able to accommodate you on your very special "baby-moon". We were happy to do it for you and wish you much congratulations on you soon to be new arrival. We'd love to have you all come stay with us sometime!

All the best,
Marianna, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

Very accurate reviews on here. Had a relaxing time at this true bed and breakfast (AAA rated 4 diamond property - when I was younger I used to read the AAA guide books and fantasize what it would be like to stay at a 4 or 5 diamond property - it's quite nice!). Charming with many things to do on-site! The main building dates from the 1800s, but has obviously gone through several renovations, including mini split ACs in the rooms and updated, but charming furnishings. They have an extensive DVD library, large variety of individual-bagged teas and a spring water cooler. Cookies and other baked goodies (muffins, cakes, etc.) are left in the kitchen throughout the day! Close to the easy walking trail Windham Path, which trails a creek. They can also set up the fire pit in the evening if you ask!

Breakfast was A+: daily changing offerings of fruit, made to order pancakes/waffle/French toast, omelette, fritatta, scramble, eggs any style, with scrumptious toppings (often grown on-site). A lighter way to start the morning.

As the property's website says, print (or save on your phone) directions to the location, as GPS gets wonky (as does cell reception) near the property. The entrance sign to the property is easy to miss (from Route 23 it's just a few properties down on the left, off of 296). Using the free, on-site wifi to start directions from the property was easy enough. Not too large of a variety of restaurants in the immediate area.

Their water supply draws from a well that runs through a sulfur vein, leading to a very distinctive, unpleasant smell like flatulence (or rotten eggs), during showers and running the tap. An unfortunate reality, but not enough to detract from the general fine hospitality!

Realized on one of the last nights that the comfortable beds were in part due to a thick foam mattress topper. Picked up a similar product at a warehouse store the same day we left -- now it feels like every night at home is a night at Albergo Allegria!

Don't forget to leave housekeeping and the breakfast staff a gratuity/cash tip!

Room Tip: The more gently priced rooms are near the kitchen, which tends to get a little noisier around breakfast time, about 30 min after it starts.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NoblesseOrBleach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianna L, Owner at Albergo Allegria, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Thank you so much for the thorough review of our property! We really have put a lot into the upkeep of this place over the years, and it's nice to see some recognition of our labors. We really do love what we do, so it's not even really work -- we just like maintaining our home! I hope you have the chance to come back and stay with us again in the future.

All the best,
Marianna, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017

Everyone at the Inn was friendly and accommodating. It felt like our home away from home. Our breakfasts there were the best meals we had in Windham. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. We enjoyed talking with Marianna and Leslie, the owners and our waitress at breakfast. The kitchen and dining area are fantastic and the access for guests is great! My girlfriend couldn't get enough of the baked goods. Although it doesn't have a view per se, it is walking distance (a block) from Windham Path where you get nice views of the mountains. And it is a little outside of town and quiet. Marianna made a fire for us one night which was wonderful. I would highly recommend Albergo Allegria because it made us happy!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lcarbone12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianna L, Owner at Albergo Allegria, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Thank you so much! The best compliment we could ever receive is to know that you feel like you're at home with us. Making you a nice fire was my pleasure, and I sincerely hope that you and your girlfriend decide to stay with us again in the future!

All the best,
Marianna, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews