We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most comfortable lodging during our 12 day trip!”
Review of Albergo Allegria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Albergo Allegria
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Windham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 September 2017

Very comforatble, quiet Inn with gracious hosts, and a fabulous breakfast! Quaint small town with some good restuarants options. The Albergo has anything you need and are very accomodating to their guests! The bed and linens were top notch, and room and Inn were immaculate! Would definitely stay if ever in area again.

Room Tip: We had the January room, on the first floor, with a separate small porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank katyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (512)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 512 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2017

Spent 3 autumn nights midweek at Alberto Allegra--Italian for Inn of Happiness. Rural location in Windam was great. Very relaxing and homey spot. Breakfasts were quite tasty. Free 24 hour snack and drink panty came in quite handy about 11 pm. Owners are cheerful and helpful. Hiking trail from property is wonderful. Climbing the stairs was my only problem, but there are downstairs rooms too.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank EthelMae12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

Family owned and operated inn located next to pastoral Eden in Catskills. Staff is so genuinely friendly and helpful. Rooms are comfortable and homey. Very clean. Breakfast is 4 different hot choices each day plus home-baked scones, bread, and also a huge bowl of fresh chopped fruit. Living room and kitchen available at all hours. If you want a pot of fresh coffee at midnight you can make it with a French press and ground beans. Best part is the 2 mile walking path through fields and over creek. You will think you are in Eden.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianna L, Owner at Albergo Allegria, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Thank you so much for your review, Laura! We know how important breakfast is, and we love giving you plenty of options to start your day. The Windham Path is a true jem and I'm so pleased you were able to walk out our doors and enjoy it. Hope you can come stay with us again sometime!

Sincerely,
Marianna, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

Booked this B&B because of the great reviews it received. It definitely lived up to them. We spent a great quiet weekend here, and even received a free room upgrade bc I'm pregnant I thought that was so nice . We stayed in the autumn room and it was spacious, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was amazing and the coffee great as well. Loved their DVD library. All in all a great time.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank septemberx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianna L, Owner at Albergo Allegria, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

I'm happy that our online reputation pointed you in our direction! Thank you so much for contributing to that with your wonderful review. Upgrading your room was no trouble at all as our availability was able to accommodate you on your very special "baby-moon". We were happy to do it for you and wish you much congratulations on you soon to be new arrival. We'd love to have you all come stay with us sometime!

All the best,
Marianna, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

Very accurate reviews on here. Had a relaxing time at this true bed and breakfast (AAA rated 4 diamond property - when I was younger I used to read the AAA guide books and fantasize what it would be like to stay at a 4 or 5 diamond property - it's quite nice!). Charming with many things to do on-site! The main building dates from the 1800s, but has obviously gone through several renovations, including mini split ACs in the rooms and updated, but charming furnishings. They have an extensive DVD library, large variety of individual-bagged teas and a spring water cooler. Cookies and other baked goodies (muffins, cakes, etc.) are left in the kitchen throughout the day! Close to the easy walking trail Windham Path, which trails a creek. They can also set up the fire pit in the evening if you ask!

Breakfast was A+: daily changing offerings of fruit, made to order pancakes/waffle/French toast, omelette, fritatta, scramble, eggs any style, with scrumptious toppings (often grown on-site). A lighter way to start the morning.

As the property's website says, print (or save on your phone) directions to the location, as GPS gets wonky (as does cell reception) near the property. The entrance sign to the property is easy to miss (from Route 23 it's just a few properties down on the left, off of 296). Using the free, on-site wifi to start directions from the property was easy enough. Not too large of a variety of restaurants in the immediate area.

Their water supply draws from a well that runs through a sulfur vein, leading to a very distinctive, unpleasant smell like flatulence (or rotten eggs), during showers and running the tap. An unfortunate reality, but not enough to detract from the general fine hospitality!

Realized on one of the last nights that the comfortable beds were in part due to a thick foam mattress topper. Picked up a similar product at a warehouse store the same day we left -- now it feels like every night at home is a night at Albergo Allegria!

Don't forget to leave housekeeping and the breakfast staff a gratuity/cash tip!

Room Tip: The more gently priced rooms are near the kitchen, which tends to get a little noisier around breakf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NoblesseOrBleach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianna L, Owner at Albergo Allegria, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Thank you so much for the thorough review of our property! We really have put a lot into the upkeep of this place over the years, and it's nice to see some recognition of our labors. We really do love what we do, so it's not even really work -- we just like maintaining our home! I hope you have the chance to come back and stay with us again in the future.

All the best,
Marianna, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Windham
0.7 km away
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#2 of 7 in Windham
300 reviews
31.3 km away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
24.1 km away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Thompson House
The Thompson House
#3 of 7 in Windham
137 reviews
34.7 km away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
174 reviews
34.8 km away
Hotel Dylan
Hotel Dylan
#2 of 3 in Woodstock
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Allegria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Allegria

Address: 43 State Route 296, Windham, NY 12496-5307
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Windham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Windham
Price Range: $157 - $372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Albergo Allegria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm Hospitality & Cool Amenities--Albergo Allegria Bed & Breakfast Hotel is set atop the Northern Catskill Mountains where outdoor adventure abounds. The 21 guest rooms boast modern amenities and the grounds offer relaxation-- whether by the fire pit complete with S'Mores, the Batavia Kill Creek that runs through the property, or the extensive farm to table garden. Just steps from the door, guests will trek The Windham Path, a 2 mile crushed-stone trail through pristine nature. The 24 hour guest pantry is among the guest favorites that's stocked with made-from-scratch-cookies, locally roasted coffee, and beverages. Italian for the "Inn of Happiness", Albergo Allegria shines its brightest through its unparalleled breakfast, just check out the reviews! Added Value: In addition to the pre-mentioned deliciousness that's included in the rates, each of the guestrooms are complete with modern amenities including private baths, dream worthy beds, flat screen TV's, HDTV/DVD--included are 2500+ DVD's to choose from! For seekers of romantic indulgence, Albergo Allegria features luxury suites with king size beds, whirlpools, fireplaces, and plenty of space to romp around. Hospitality of a bed and breakfast, and all the conveniences of a world class hotel create an ideal setting that's filled with character and history so you can fully enjoy your time away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Albergo Allegria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Allegria Hotel Windham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing