We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.comUS$218
Hotels.comUS$218
TravelocityUS$218
HIExpress.comUS$218
TripadvisorUS$218
Lol.travelUS$258
View all 21 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (611)
Filter reviews
611 results
Traveller rating
190
228
124
49
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
190
228
124
49
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews room was clean free breakfast stay there again one night stay pillows mountains
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 611 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2019 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights to ski and visit local attractions...We got a decent price via a 3rd party booking service, in a nutshell, the property seemed average for the discounted price. Convenient parking, decent breakfast and comfortable beds...Some simple focus on details would improve the experience...I.e. the bathroom has a counter over the toilet that doesn’t allow the seat to stay up, so it makes it dicey for males to use the toilet standing...our bathroom had a plunger in a trash bag next to the toilet, and a dry wall screw sticking through the wall, it is the mounting screw for the toilet paper holder, someone just used the wrong size. The HVAC units are the wall type, with a “flip up” box...you couldn’t keep it in “fan mode” and it smelled a little musty. Having a fridge, microwave and Keurig in the room was convenient. I wouldn’t pay regular price for this property, but if you get a deal, it’s suitable.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank jgatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
GM_Front_Desk, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2019

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us during your three-night ski vacation! It pleases us to see that you enjoyed our convenient parking, nice amenities, and comfortable beds.
We're sorry about your concerns regarding aspects of the bathroom and appreciate your suggestions; we'll be passing your comments along to our team. We truly value your business and hope to have you back soon.

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2019 via mobile

We stayed here last night. The hotel is about average. The folks at the front desk were very nice. We had a king bed room which was located about as far from the elevator as possible which is what I like. The bed was comfortable, the pillows a little flat. The room had a couch and chair, the tv is a little small for the room size. My only complaint about the room was the toilet had a countertop extension that came over it, you could put the lid up, but if you tried to put up the seat,(normal position for a man) it would fall down forcing you as a man to have a seat just to pee. We ate the continental breakfast which was ok, they had the usual. All in all it's a decent hotel, we have stayed here in the past and would use it again in the future.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 860jasonh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
GM_Front_Desk, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2019

Dear Jason,
Although the friendliness of our staff and our continental breakfast made a positive impression on you, we are saddened to know that we did not fully meet your expectations in some aspects during your stay. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused by the bathroom layout. Please choose to stay with us again the next time you're in town.

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2019

This Hotel definitely did not meet our expectations for a Holiday Inn Express. We had stayed previously at the Holiday Inn Express in Boone which was very nice. This hotel is in serious need of a renovation. We checked in late otherwise we would have checked out and found another location. We were given Room 206. The AC unit would not operate on Auto so we had to leave it on all night. The toilet was not attached to the floor and wobbled everytime you sat on it. The parking lot was dark. The breakfast area was so small that we could not get in the next morning. I reported this to the General Manager and he apoligized and said he would look into the issues we reported. Afterward I looked at other reviews, and found one dated October 6, 2019 which must have been the same room as ours and the General Manager had apologized to them as well. Apparently the issues are not being taken care of as we were told. Some of the General Manager's comments indicated that they are going to have a major renovation in the Spring. It needs it ! !

Date of stay: December 2019
1  Thank Dan9969
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
GM_Front_Desk, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2019

Dear Dan,
While we wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. Know that we will pass along your insights about the breakfast area and the other aspects of our accommodations to the appropriate departments for the benefit of future guests.
On your next visit to the area, we'd love another chance to ensure that you will have a gratifying experience with us.

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2019 via mobile

Booked this hotel on Booking.com.
Hotel is clean but hard to get to because of new highway.
They need entrance and exit signs at the street . Downtown is not within walking distance, but a short drive will get you there or to Boone , 5 miles away . Blue Ridge Parkway is 2 miles away .
Check in staff was very friendly, because of my wifes issues with mobility the tubs were of no use in the bathroom, so I asked for the ADA room which they gave us at no extra charge . The breakfast room was busy , but the staff kept up bringing food .
Standard fare ..so so eggs , ok sausage, etc. I was disappointed in the warm cinnamon rolls ..something has changed with Holiday Inn rolls.. they used to be HOT , GOOEY AND GOOD ..now they are a little dry , and not gooey ..
They did give us a late checkout, so we could get some extra snoozing in ..
Overall..would stay again , skip breakfast, and visit IHOP down the street (10% off with room key)

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Hpm88
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
GM_Front_Desk, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2019

Thank you for allowing us to host you during your recent anniversary trip. It's wonderful that our clean accommodations and exceptional service were highlights of your stay. We're very sorry, however, for the concerns you mentioned. Your feedback is appreciated, and we'll discuss your comments as we're continually striving to improve. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel again soon.

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2019

Free hot breakfast, coffee anytime, friendly, helpful staff, clean rooms, soft bed and extra pillows. Central location close to most attractions and the parkway; only problem was construction going on in the back parking lot; it's a little off the path to find the entrance as it sits down in a gully from the road.

Room tip: All rooms have a mountain view
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kristina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
GM_Front_Desk, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2019

Dear Kristina,
It was a pleasure hosting you while you were in town. We're glad our clean, comfortable rooms provided you with the ideal place to rest and that you felt welcome while you were here. It's also great to hear that our tasty breakfast menu was to your liking and that our location was convenient for your trip. However, we apologize for any issues with the construction as well as for difficulty locating us. We're happy these were only minor issues, and we invite you to stay with us again during your next trip.

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews