We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (611)
Filter reviews
611 results
Traveller rating
190
228
124
49
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
190
228
124
49
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews room was clean free breakfast stay there again one night stay pillows mountains
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 611 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2022

It has been over a month since the terrible and worst experience at this hotel and I must admit I am still quite upset. My husband booked the same suite that we stayed at before, 5 weeks in advance, we got there after a 4-hour drive only to find the only Suite with an adjacent living room is occupied because the guests ended up extending their stay but weren't moved to a different room.

While my husband speaks with the General Manager I was approached by a lady and I was told that the same room was booked for her and her husband as well on the same day! The Manager claimed it is a "Corporate Policy" meaning to inconvenience the people who have reserved the only suite with an adjacent room even far in advance! what kind of policy is that? I have worked at the Front Desk of a hotel for many years but never but I have never heard of such a policy, it's upsetting when you all don't want to take responsibility and ma'am you even have the nerve to tell me to make sure not to leave any bad review! well...here you go, even after over a month, people just need to be aware of this so-called "policy"

Making a reservation ultimately is useless because you never know what you're going to get upon arrival. Ma'am, the experience shows how incompetent you are as a Manager and with poor leadership as well.

Date of stay: October 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank rgI2190NQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
General Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2022

We are very sorry to hear about your experience and truly understand your frustration. When a guest chooses to extend their stay, we do our best to accommodate and keep them comfortable by allowing them to occupy the same room, especially if we are unable to provide a comparable one. We understand this is inconvenient for guests who have reserved the same suite, and we will determine how we can better handle such matters moving forward. Thank you.

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2022

Absolutely filthy! Arrived at 4:20pm, check in time 3pm and one room still not ready. Went up to the one available room - elevators dirty, piles of dirty linen outside multiple rooms - still there at 5pm when we went downstairs to request another room as the one we entered was filthy!. We paid peak price for 2 rooms - I totally understand paying more during peak leaf season and do not mind if it is worth it but this hotel is a dump - do not waste your money! So disappointed, have stayed at holiday inn express in other locations which have been amazing, this one needs help.

Date of stay: October 2022
Thank tarossiter65
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
General Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2022

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review, and we're sorry to hear that the cleanliness of our accommodations failed to impress you. We'll be sure to have our housekeeping team look into all your comments further and make changes where necessary. Despite this, we hope you'll consider coming back to give us another chance later down the road.

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2022

Pros: Staff was pleasant.
Cons: Tub drained slowly, leaving me standing in ankle-deep water. No housekeeping service. We were instructed to get towels and the like at the front desk when we needed them. Fridge froze everything solid no matter what setting it was on. Fire alarm went off at 6 AM the day were leaving. There was a strong electrical smell when we left our room to join a gang of other bleary-eyed people in the lobby. No compensation was offered. Won't be staying here again.

Date of stay: October 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank markcanwrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
General Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2022

Dear Mark,
We always appreciate feedback from our guests, and we're glad our friendly staff made you feel welcome. However, we apologize for any issues with the tub and fire alarm, as well as for any difficulties with the fridge. We'll look into your comments further, and we hope to see you again should you be back in the area.

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2022

A one night stay for us and we were really impressed. Under new management and this is the place to stay while in the Blowing Rock area, Ultra clean and appears to be freshly renovated. Very comfortable. Our 2nd floor room at the end of the hallway (#247) was so quiet and gave us a wonderful night's sleep after a full day of driving on the Blue Ridge Pkwy and then shopping in town. The lady from the management team that is in charge now really has made this HIE a top notch stay. We will be back when we visit again.

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Hooked_on_travel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
General Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2022

Our friendly staff truly enjoyed hosting you and will be glad you appreciated their kind assistance. It's also great to know that our quiet, comfortable rooms impressed you. If your adventures bring you back to the area, please come see us again at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South!

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2022

My wife and I just stayed here for one night. The hotel inside looks like it was just remodeled. The room was clean. Front desk checking was great, Just a great experience. The breakfast was better than most. I will be staying here again

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank va804
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
General Manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2022

Thank you for staying with us at Holiday Inn Express Blowing Rock South. It is fantastic to learn that you liked our clean, modern rooms and delicious breakfast options. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews