We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$124
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$124
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/02/23
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
US$114
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/02/23
Hotels.comUS$124
Vio.com
TravelocityUS$124
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (685)
Filter reviews
687 results
Traveller rating
333
202
87
48
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
333
202
87
48
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews historic hotel eastern continental divide murder mystery weekend piano player in the lobby margaret mitchell tea room historic feel front porch third floor our room was spacious great weekend downtown blowing rock the blue ridge parkway divided charm chestnut gpi
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 687 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2021

We had a first floor room facing the highway. Room was quiet although you could hear room Nextdoor from the bathroom. No issues with cleanliness or condition of bathroom. It is a 100+ years old and in decent condition. Not quite the grove park but similar.
They do have a list of charges they will hit you with if you take a coffee cup or face cloth with you but they must have had issues with that before. Else why do it?
Breakfast was cooked to order and included. Server was nice and attentive .

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Passenger36364
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 11 October 2021

When we made our reservations, we told them we would be bringing our small dog. Upon check in, we reminded them we had our dog (dogs are not allowed in the lobby during check in) and they switched our room. The room was very small, smelly, carpet was stained, tub was grungy, no bathroom vent. Had to open the window to vent the steam. TV did not work. Phone did not work. Dead bolt did not latch due to the door drooping from the hinges. At night it was very cold as the window had a small air conditioner in it which caused a draft and allowed all the traffic noise into the room. Because the phone did not work, we could not call the front desk to request another blanket or to let them know about the smoke alarm in the hallway outside of our room that chirped all night. We were also instructed not to leave our dog unattended in the room which made getting a meal challenging. We could only walk our dog through the lobby to take him outside to relieve himself. We felt very unwelcomed because of our dog who was better behaved than some of the children staying at the Inn. We will not be back.

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank P6860YKchrisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Lorry Mulhern, Guest Services / Front Office at Green Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

We apologize you were disappointed with your stay. You made your reservation through Expedia, who failed to notify us that you were bringing a pet, which is unfortunately a pretty common occurrence when making reservations online or through a travel agent. The room type you booked is the smallest room type we have, as it is advertise online. You stayed with us for 2 nights, and we would not place a guest in a room with so many issues intentionally, and we would have moved you if you'd let us know there were issues in your room any of the times you passed the front desk to take your pet out or to come to and from the hotel. We love having pets at the hotel, and often our staff will make friends with them, but we also have to be aware of guests with pet allergies and the possibility that not all pets will get along with each other.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2021

While traveling around North Carolina recently we decided to stay here. I live in a 120 year old home and own a lake vacation home. The GPI is some 125 years old. If you are looking for pristine modern this is not the place for you. If you like historic charm and antiques. Its is!

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Charles E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 28 September 2021

We were met, after a very long drive, by a curt, if not hostile, front desk young lady who was of minimal assistance, to say the least. She had me initial a form about their rules to make sure we wouldn't steal anything! Then our room had NO toilet paper, one plastic cup, and a single bath towel for two of us. BIG MISTAKE.

We will update after we have some food here. Unfortunately we are staying three nights.

Room tip: near the elevator.
Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seattlepro
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Lorry Mulhern, Guest Services / Front Office at Green Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

We apologize that you didn't enjoy your stay. We do have guests sign a registration card upon arrival, as many hotels do, we just also verbalize the contents so you know what you are signing. The registration card details information about the process for charging your credit card, key return policy (as we use real keys), smoking policy, and we have a portion of the registration card letting you know you can use the items (robes, logo mugs, umbrellas, etc.) in your room while staying, and if you choose to keep any of those items as a souvenir, it will be added to your bill. We furnish all rooms with 2 full sets of towels, bath amenities, a back-up roll of toilet paper, etc. in addition to 2 coffee mugs, 2 water glasses, complimentary coffee, and more. We are always happy to provide additional complimentary amenities as requested, including a selection of items that guests frequently forget to pack such as tooth brushes, toothpaste, shaving gel, razors, and more. We would have been happy to provide additional needed items.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2021 via mobile

We’ve wanted to stay here for years and finally did. The staff couldn’t have been nicer and the service was excellent. However, the building has been seriously neglected. I’m not sure it will last another 5 years without a major infusion of capital.

Room tip: Lower your expectations if you chose to stay here. It’s on par with an aged Comfort Inn with a great staff.
Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank 554dwaynet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Lorry Mulhern, Guest Services / Front Office at Green Park Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2021

An aged Comfort Inn? Hmm. As far as we know most Comfort Inns aren’t 130 years old, listed on the National Historic Register of Historic Places (as well as the State Register historic register), members of Historic Hotels of America (a project of the National Trust for Historic Preservation) nor entirely of wood construction, including the now extinct American Chestnut. Neither are we aware that they offer a full, chef made breakfast (included with all rooms), served to our guests by the most cheerful and helpful staff in town, and we do thank you for your compliments toward our staff. We make every effort to ensure that travelers are aware that if someone’s concept of a “historic hotel” is a brand new Marriott build on an ancient burial ground then we are not the hotel for that traveler. Yes, our floors creek, and our lines aren’t so plumb anymore and therein lies part of the charm of historic properties (along with the actual history, of course, such as Margaret Mitchell having written part of “Gone with the Wind” during a stay). But, I can assure travelers that we will still be here in another 5 years and another 5 after that. As far major capital infusions are concerned had our Owners not done just that when they purchased the Green Parkin 2010 (a figure involving major zeros) then surely this Grand Dame of the High Country would have met her demise some years ago. Again, thank you for your compliments to our staff. We definitely feel that they provide great service!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews