We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
4 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$189
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/02/23
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$189
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
US$189
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
PricelineUS$189
TravelocityUS$189
Agoda.comUS$214
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveller rating
89
12
6
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
89
12
6
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boutique hotel king street craft cocktails hand soap cool hotel inside bar bottom floor shower water app state the staff was extremely friendly great weekend highly recommend this hotel next morning enjoyed our stay appalachian state diffuser robes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 115 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2022 via mobile

Though we weren’t able to stay over at The Horton this trip, we discovered It’s a lovely view up above King St. The surrounding mountains and APP STATE below make a sweet breezy cocktail, and the drinks are good too.

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank teresaa893
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
The Horton, General Manager at The Horton Hotel and Rooftop Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2022

Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad your enjoyed your drinks on our amazing Roof Top bar as well as the incredible views it offers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2022

We saw this hotel on PBS and totally bought into the vision of the owners. The room we booked was just perfect but that was more or less where it ended. In our experience it seemed that the loving touch of the owners was missing during our stay. For us on our thirtieth wedding anniversary what pissed us off is when you get three calls in advance to check in, and order a bottle of champagne that is not in your room when you check in. You promise and underdeliver so we told them to shove it. We spent a LOT of time in the rooftop bar because it is very nice with the location and view of 360 Boone. My personal takeaway is that the owners are hands on but they are cheap. Meaning that they are using students to fill bartending and server roles in what is a supposed be a top of the line rooftop bar. CMON Man! Totally average. The students struggled to keep up when it got busy and really you need a professional in there and when we sat in the lounge area service was even worse we left.

Breakfast was pathetic. Cold stale scones not sure why in this town and in a hotel that promises quality at every turn you would serve crap like this with a server that was so indifferent.

The gentle owners touch sure was missing when we were there. This is supposed to be a luxury hotel but no not so much when you take it in totality. Yes the bed and pillows were comfy just like your average Holiday Inn and Marriott. Average at best needs to improve to justify the hype and price.

Room tip: Choose a room on the front of Kings street
Date of stay: August 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
The Horton, General Manager at The Horton Hotel and Rooftop Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2022

Thank you for your review. We are always striving to improve and appreciate feedback from our guests. We are reimagining our breakfast, and that project will be done soon. We hope you enjoyed celebrating your anniversary in the High Country.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2022

I’ve been traveling weekly to Boone recently for ski patrol certification at App Ski and this property has been a fantastic home base! Overall experience is excellent from the staff to the rooms. Totally recommend it.

Date of stay: September 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TommyDes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
The Horton, General Manager at The Horton Hotel and Rooftop Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2022

Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad you've been enjoying your time with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2022 via mobile

Horton Hotel offered really delicious specialty cocktails with lots of variety that I have not seen other places. The staff was very friendly and efficient. My only note for improvement is there is not any shade on a sunny day at the tables..

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank BrooklynAnnBrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
The Horton, General Manager at The Horton Hotel and Rooftop Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2022

Thank you so much for your review! I am so happy to see you enjoyed our rooftop atmosphere. We offer our staff the opportunity to submit cocktails for our menu and I am always amazed at how creative they are! I greatly appreciate the improvement suggestion and we are actively working on a proposal with the town of Boone to get sunshade across the roof. Please come visit us again soon.

Sincerely,
The Horton Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2022 via mobile

We stayed at The Horton Hotel in downtown Boone, NC this past weekend. The hotel was fantastic! The room, service and location made for the perfect getaway for my wife and I. We stayed in room #11. We highly recommend this hotel and look forward to returning soon!

Room tip: Book higher floor.
Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank S2755IImichaelg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
The Horton, General Manager at The Horton Hotel and Rooftop Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2022

Hello,

Thank you so much for the glowing review! We are so thankful to get to share our beautiful property with guest. Look Forward to hosting you again soon! You should try room 10 next time, there is a claw foot tub!

Sincerely,
The Horton Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews