We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Making memories”
other travellers have booked this property
More than a place to stay: an Appalachian farm experience
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
More than a place to stay: an Appalachian farm experience
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
More than a place to stay: an Appalachian farm experience
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Boone, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

jessikimk...
Winterville, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Making memories”
Reviewed 19 May 2021 for a stay in May 2021

We had a lovely time at the farm. Our three young children, ranging from 2 years to 6 years, loved the farm. They were timid at first, but by the end of the trip we could send them up to the barn to see the animals and feed the pig and bunnies on their own. Piper the sweet collie was always around to keep you company around the farm or walking along the trails. The boys loved fishing in the various ponds. We had campfires and s’mores galore. Betty, who is very kind, was very responsive and was great at communicating the whole time with us. Farmer Walton was great with the children and let them help him out with feeding the animals, gathering eggs and exploring the barn. The kids didn’t want to leave and were asking when we would come back to visit. The house was accommodating, tidy and quaint. The farm is also a reasonable car ride away from other national parks or hiking trails and recreational activities as well. We had a great time! Thank you so much!

Date of stay: May 2021
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andi s
Dunedin, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Something for everyone”
Reviewed 3 April 2019 for a stay in February 2019

We were going to the Boone area to see a dear friend who had moved nearby and originally looked at the conventional motels as the husband has great hotel perks based on his business travel but decided that we'd try staying off the grid a bit and we're so glad we did!

The reservation process was easy and Betty was a great communicator. We arrived on a cold February Friday evening to a warm and inviting authentic farmhouse. Everything was clean and we unloaded our groceries and explored the house a bit. The downstairs rooms each have double beds and worked for our family of 4 but there was an entire upstairs area with 4 beds (separated by a wall partition) that would have been perfect for our girls if they weren't momma's girls and a bit scared. I'm sure next time they'll be ready to sleep on the top floor which was a special youngsters retreat in itself.

Our first day we woke up to Midnight grazing in the field across from the bedroom window which motivated my 4 year old to get dressed faster than we've ever seen. I can only try to paint the picture of my 4 yr old daughter in a combination of a nightgown and winter gear running alongside Midnight on the opposite side of the fence while the chickens and peacocks hovered closely looking for a handout no less lol. Everyday we were there we woke up to the gorgeous various birds hanging around and of course Heidi and Turk dropping in for some porch snuggles and maybe a snack. Walton took time with my daughter each day letting her participate in the farm "chores". We brought back fresh farm eggs more than once which we all enjoyed extensively. Josephine the pig or (chocolate pig) as my daughter called her may as well have been a household pet by the time we left.

We enjoyed using the outdoor charcoal grill and making a bonfire in the evening on a full moon- beautiful and peaceful. The stream that runs through the property makes a lovely sound that if it had been warmer I would have enjoyed to hear all night (and explore during the day for rocks!). We did venture up the hill one day to scope out the Nest house and it looked delightful as well. We'll have a tough time deciding between the two but you can't go wrong with the farmhouse-especially if you have kids. There is wifi but like any remote location it can be affected by weather (ice storm while we were there) or other circumstances so have realistic expectations.

We will be back visiting this beautiful acreage for certain and cannot recommend it enough to families or folks just wanting some peace and quiet with lovely surroundings.

Date of stay: February 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrequentF...
Cary, North Carolina
1 review
“Wonderful place for a get away from the city and stress of daily basis. Excellent!”
Reviewed 25 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Excellent location on the mountain. The farmhouse was everything we expected and more. The house was spacious and the children enjoyed the large yard and neat sights placed by the owners on the trails.
Mr. Walton (the owner) was also very patient with the children as they have them help with the farm animals and chores. We plan to go back again.
The Old Farmhouse was clean and cozy with a spacious kitchen. I highly recommend this wonderful farm for a relaxing getaway!

Date of stay: April 2018
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mammabear...
Sanford, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Had A Great Time”
Reviewed 6 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This was a great place for our family. Between the trails, the hidden treasures, feeding the animals, and the privacy away from downtown, this was our best vacation so far. The house was spacious. The children enjoyed the large yard and neat sights placed by the owners on the trails. The owners are also very patient with the children as they have them help with the farm animals and chores. We plan to go back again.

Date of stay: June 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotjez
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Place!”
Reviewed 31 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The farmhouse was everything we expected and more. Such a great spot to be outdoors with our 3 year old daughter. Walton was a great host and spent a lot of time to help us feed the animals which she really enjoyed. The property and house is beautiful!

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2022 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.