We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK ..... nice but .....”
Review of Nantahala Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nantahala Village
Reviewed 11 June 2016

Stayed there the week before Memorial Day ...... negatives: did not clean room everyday (they claim they just refreshed towels ... did NOT touch the beds) , very noisey if you stay in the main house (very close to road ... lots of trucks and motorcycles) ...... the pool was not even ready yet (still empty, no water) for a Holiday weekend ??? Come on ...... free breakfast was very limited selection ...

Positive : Great horse rides on property riding thru the Natahala National Forest (Dave was wonderful to deal with on horse trail ride) .... the train ride out of Bryson City was fun .... great for tubing and/or kayaking .... drive the Tail of the Dragon (316 turns in 11 miles) .... also, Tapoco Lodge was a great place to eat while sitting on the river

Room Tip: stay away from main house ... too close to highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank kevinhanzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deb M, General Manager at Nantahala Village, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2016

Thank you for your review! I wish you could visit again soon! The property is in full gear for the season and the pool is awesome! We are happy to offer full housekeeping per your request. We do hope to see you again and give us an opportunity to exceed your expectations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 57 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2016 via mobile

The lodge itself was beautiful and spacious. The lodge room ( 2 queens) was good sized and we weren't charged for the rollaway bed. The rooms are not cleaned daily, we even ran out of toliet paper, when it should have been replaced when the room was "refreshed". The pool area was very nice but very cold even in June. The porch is beautiful and relaxing, although there is alot of traffic on the highway about 50ft away. The game room is ancient and moldy. The free breakfast was not good, a fellow guest asked for tea instead of coffee and was flat out refused...not much in the way of protein (milk only). The view from the playground area was quite breath taking, but not much of a view from lodge rooms. The kids described the playground as "scretchy". We were almost ran over by a maintenance man in the parking lot. If this stay wasn't a groupon, I would have been more upset.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank Kimkay7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deb M, General Manager at Nantahala Village, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2016

Thank you for your review. Every review is important to us and the future of our business. I am saddened to hear of some of your experiences. Refusing a guest tea is especially disturbing to me as well as the refreshes not done properly. I will assure you these things will be addressed promptly! Guest safety is of the utmost importance and this has already been addressed. I do hope you will give us an opportunity to be your host again some day!

Deb M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2016 via mobile

Great stay! You won't go wrong with this place. Great care has been put into giving the costumer a great visit. Great staff and wonderful rooms. The beds were just right and nice bathrooms. The rooms have wooden room darkening blinds. Which is so nice in a good nights sleep.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank jeepum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deb M, General Manager at Nantahala Village, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2016

Thank you for such a wonderful review. We at Nantahala Village take pride in our property and are eager to share it with our guests! Please come visit again some day. We would love being your host again soon!

Deb M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2016

Stayed overnight after whitewater rafting. Staff was professional and friendly. Room was well appointed and the facility was beautiful. Got dinner from the restaurant, Grecian chicken with mashed potatoes, excellent and good choice suggested by hostess. L

Room Tip: Stayed in the "lodge" portion which was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DJStan14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deb M, General Manager at Nantahala Village, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2016

Thank you Stan for your nice review! We certainly appreciated the kind words and hope to see you again soon!

Deb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2016

We stayed with our grandsons in one of the mountain suites and paid $350 a night for it. The suite met our needs pretty well but for the price, we didn't feel we got our money's worth. The resort has lots to do but is a bit "shabby" in areas like the game room (only one usable ping pong paddle), tennis and basketball courts (these are in much needed repair) and general outside appearance of some of the cabins and grounds. Our kids loved the pool table in the suite so that was a big hit. Our toilet kept breaking and we got quick service from maintenance. Breakfast was elegantly presented but it was difficult for the staff to keep up the buffet demand, running out of a lot of essentials fairly quickly. We had previously stayed in the lodge and found that room very nice and the lodge itself very beautiful and well-maintained. Internet service was very sketchy even in the lodge but that can be a blessing when on vacation. Location was great, close to the Nantahala outdoor center and Deep Creek tubing.

Room Tip: The Lodge has the best rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilli2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deb M, General Manager at Nantahala Village, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2016

Thank you for your review. We try very hard to maintain our property and are aware there are things which need updating. We are continually updating the property. I apologize that your expectations were not met. We try to attend to everyone's needs. Sometimes it is hard to exceed everyone's expectations however we will never stop trying! Please visit us again some time and give us a chance to leave a better impression!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bryson City
12.3 km away
Sleep Inn Bryson City - Cherokee Area
12.9 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Bryson City
24.2 km away
Hampton Inn Cherokee
Hampton Inn Cherokee
#3 of 28 in Cherokee
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Cherokee/Casino
18.6 km away
Lloyds on the River Country Inn
4 km away
Lakeview at Fontana
Lakeview at Fontana
#2 of 10 in Bryson City
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nantahala Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nantahala Village

Address: 9400 Highway 19 W, Bryson City, NC 28713-9129
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Bryson City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Bryson City
Price Range: $122 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nantahala Village 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nantahala Village is a landmark Great Smoky Mountains destination that caters to family vacations, weddings, corporate retreats, motor club and special interest gatherings. Rental units include Lodge rooms, Fireplace Suites, and on site cabins. Horseback riding, swimming pool, fitness room, game room, playground, mountain biking and hiking trails are all on the property. Zipline adventures, whitewater rafting, the Great Smoky Mountains Railroad and other activities are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Nantahala Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nantahala Village Resort And Spa
Nantahala Village Hotel Bryson City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing