We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.comUS$114
PricelineUS$114
Hotels.comUS$114
TravelocityUS$114
Agoda.comUS$114
TripadvisorUS$114
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (368)
Filter reviews
368 results
Traveller rating
219
104
31
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
219
104
31
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the outer banks hatteras island the owner pet owners orange blossom convenient location beds were comfortable up to date fish cleaning station picnic tables diamond shoals coffee maker long weekend dogs grocery obx nc
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 368 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights and we give it high regards. Our room was #7. It was pet friendly and in the courtyard across from the pool. It was the last room left, and although we did not have a pet, we decided to give the room a try. Wow! I never would have guessed it was a pet friendly room, as it had no traces that pets had previously stayed there. No smell, or stains. Our room was immaculate and homey. Hotel looks a little dated from the outside, but inside it is updated and clean! We recommend this motel highly. The staff was so friendly and accommodating. You could tell that your comfort and needs were their top priority. You would never get a personalized stay like this at a chain hotel. Our impromptu trip was great and WE WILL BE BACK! Thank you Cape Pines!!!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Bigsurwildflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Angie R, Owner at Cape Pines Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

We're thrilled our room went above and beyond your expectations! It's awesome you felt right at home right away. The comfort of our guests is so important to us, so we're delighted that came across loud and clear. Thanks for spreading the word, and we hope you'll be back soon!

Best,
Angie & Bill R.- Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018 via mobile

The hotel is older but is well kept. The rooms were large and nicely decorated. Staff very accommodating when we had to arrive unexpectedly late. The lighthouse is very close by if your plans include a visit to the Hatteras lighthouse.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank H2O360
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Angie R, Owner at Cape Pines Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

It sounds like you found everything you could hope for here, and we're delighted to know you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay. Thank you for sharing your experience. We'd love to welcome you back when you're ready for another getaway.

Warm regards,
Angie & Bill R.- Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018

I planned poorly and ended up in Hatteras Island area late at night... with no lodging and other than a belly full of King Crab... no ideas either. I stopped and went through my phone and eventually found this hotel.. which ironically was just across the street from where I was parked in the local bank. I called, the owner answered and was VERY cool and VERY accommodating to me.. giving me a great deal. I was very happy, because now I didn't have to drive all the way back to the North Carolina mainland, but even MORE - now I could explore the area the next day. The hotel is quaint, well taken care of and very nice. Unfortunately, I was traveling alone after dropping off my son at DUKE University... the only thing to make it better was if my wife had been with me. I will take her there at some point!! Don't miss this GEM if you are traveling in the Outer Banks! A++ Loved it!

Room tip: All of the rooms look great.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mateo1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Angie R, Owner at Cape Pines Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2018

Starting with king crab is a good beginning, and we're thrilled that we provided just the right happy ending to your night. It was our pleasure to get you into a room -- we're just glad you found us. We hope to have you and your wife for a stay soon!

Best,
Angie & Bill R.- Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2018

We stumbled upon this gem after looking for several weeks for a place to stay in the OBX. The morning of our arrival, we were bummed that we were going to have to settle for a way too expensive stay at a chain hotel in the upper outer banks, until this beauty had an unexpected vacancy after a cancellation. We called immediately and were greeted with a kind voice who booked us (and tried to get us to stay longer than our 2 nights!) When we arrived, yes, it looked like a Route 66 Motor Lodge on the outside but as we opened the door to Room 6, it was perfect! One of the cleanest places we stayed on our vacation to the east coast. We had a bedroom with a king and a double, perfect for our family of 4, and a separate living room and full kitchen. All for UNDER $200 a night! We were given some great suggestions of places to eat. The Cape Pines Motel was close to to the Cape Hatteras Lighthouse, plenty of dining and shopping, and a quick drive to the Ocracoke Island Ferry. If we ever make it back to the Hatteras area, this is the place we will stay. And for longer than our 2 nights this time!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Volbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Angie R, Owner at Cape Pines Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

We're thrilled you found us! It just goes to show, sometimes great things can come unexpectedly, and you can't judge a place by just the outside. It was our pleasure to have you.

Until next time,
Angie & Bill R.- Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2018 via mobile

We have stayed at the Cape Pines every time we visit the Outer Banks. We always enjoy our time spent there. Rooms are older but always clean. Staff is very friendly. Many rooms are dog friendly. Yes it’s an older property but it has everything you need. No maid service in the pet friendly rooms but we were always offered clean towels and whatever we would need. Pool is well cared for and clean. We will always go back there when visiting.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank razayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Angie R, Owner at Cape Pines Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2018

Thanks for staying with us whenever you're visiting Hatteras! We're lucky to invite you back time and time again. However, just to clarify our pet policy for all of our guests with pets. We do provide service to ALL rooms, except where dogs are left unattended and not crated. Housekeepers cannot risk entering those rooms. The best solution is to take your dogs with you when you go out or make arrangements in advance with the Front Office associate as to when your room will be available for servicing.

All the best,
Angie & Bill R.- Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews