We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Either it's gone way down hill or there weren't many options ”

411 West Italian Cafe
Ranked #13 of 324 Restaurants in Chapel Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

411 West was the new broom sweeping clean when I was at UNC. Last night, it was the tired old broom with no straw left. The best part of our meal was the service, which was great. The calamari was fried well, but everything else disappointed e.g. pre-made pear salad with brown lettuce stored in a walk in, the Caesar salad also with brown lettuce, the "papardelle" which was broken lasagna noodles, the burnt tasting bolognese sauce, the cold chicken parm, the tiramisu which wasn't a tiramisu. All were sub-par. And, we were in and out in 35 minutes and felt super rushed. On asking a friend about it, the reply was that it's always been disappointing. I agree. Ain't worth it in Chapel Hill. Don't go.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank GHO104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (401)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 401 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2017

We have a friend who used to live in Chapel Hill, and every time she visits us we take her out to 411 West to get the lemon linguini. We've been here many times over the years and are rarely disappointed. They've changed up the appetizer and entree menu items over the years, and the dill rolls aren't as good as they were a long time ago, but this place still serves up reliable mediterranean fare. Brunch offerings are pretty standard and not where this place shines. It's in the pastas and pizzas. The citrus ade drink is pretty good too. Looks like they also offer sidewalk dining now. We'll be back again.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TarHeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

Visited as part of a group and was very busy for a Tuesday night, which is a great sign but meant we were squashed on a table.

However the food and service was lovely, recommend the pecan pie it was fab.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank PNG1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

Just a super place for a lovely Sunday brunch. They offer a very creative farm to table menu leaving you wanting to taste everything! Delicious coffee too!

Our server was outstanding and we appreciated her honesty with one of our choices. No pushing the specials here

Can’t wait to return!

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank Caligirls007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

Not a chain, not a college age hangout with nourishing food for those locked into a meal package, but real Italian recipes— in Chapel Hill, no less! Wait staff were knowledgeable and personable. Wife’s lasagna was better than my shrimp & scallop with pasta. A little light on both but loaded with pasta. Do try the “million dollar pie” a wedge of light mousse peanut butter with a graham cracker crust. Only place my bed buddy wanted to go back to on our extended stay in UNC land.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank Plumbline7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 411 West Italian Cafe also viewed

 

Been to 411 West Italian Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing