We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, but Sterile. Room design troubling for families.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Charlotte Ballantyne Area
Ranked #65 of 178 Hotels in Charlotte
Reviewed 28 December 2011

This place is new and nice. It's sterile meaning that there's not really service - no one goes out of their way, nor is there fruit or cookies out at night. But it's brand new and really modern.

Going with the modern is a problem that I never realized staying at a Springhill on business but now I'm with kids. The new Springills are designed with separate shower and toilet areas. These areas are carved off from the main room with clouded glass doors. The issues are two: 1) they don't close/seal so there is always a gap for someone to look through. 2) Light travels through them so you can't leave a light on (we have young kids and it's key).

While the pool is small but workable, the gym and breakfast both excellent.

If you want clean, modern, and restaurants (Ruby Tuesday, Red Robin, and a few local nearby)....this is the place. Just don't expect - a welcoming place. But it's very very nice - top notch in niceness.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelManSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (214)
There are newer reviews for SpringHill Suites Charlotte Ballantyne Area
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 193 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2011

I have to say that I agree with all the reviews. This is a very nice, new, contemporary hotel. Great location shops, restaurants, and mall all in a very immaculate new area. The rooms are set up nicely and the furnishings are all very contemporary, however, the beds are some of the hardest mattresses I have ever slept on. The other thing this hotel is sadly lacking is "Customer Service". I am an Elite Marriott rewards member and stay at Marriotts frequently. This hotel's front desk service leaves a lot to be desired. Upon check in 3 young women were all working the desk, one standing and eating, the other twp giggling and talking. They greeted us with a "Hi" and I told them I had a reservation. The one young lady asked for ID and credit card, took my credit card swiped it and immediately handed it back to me and said "You have another card this one is not working". I told her to try it again that there was no reason it should not "work". She did a couple more times, then looked to her co worker (who was still eating at the desk) and she came over to assist her. The card went through and then it was handed back to me with no apology or explanation. The room key was quickly handed to us and we were told the elevator was "around the corner". Where is the customer service? Class hotel are set apart by there customer service not by there room decor.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grayt63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Very nice. Clean rooms with a modern vibe. Breakfast was nice they had a good selection to choose from. Great location next to office park and lots of restaraunts and shops.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scarlett83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

My boyfriend and I went to Charlotte to see the city in hopes of moving there soon. We stayed in Ballantyne area at SpringHill Suites, it was FANTASTIC!! Hotel was clean, decorated beautifully, friendly service, great breakfast selection, and conveniently located. There is a separate sleeping area from the sitting area, but open to each other at the same time. The pictures from the hotel website are exactly what we had. It was a great stay!

Room Tip: there is a microwave, fridge and coffee maker in the room
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ownlee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We have stayed at this Springhill twice and it is relatively new so the rooms are immaculate. Love the modern decor and especially the bathroom design. The location was great for us and we couldn't have been more pleased.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
Thank butterflyjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlotte
0.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charlotte/Ballantyne
1.7 km away
Staybridge Suites Charlotte Ballantyne
1.4 km away
Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne
Aloft Charlotte Ballantyne
#43 of 178 in Charlotte
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Residence Inn Charlotte Piper Glen
0.2 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlotte Ballantyne Area
3.9 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Pineville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Charlotte Ballantyne Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Charlotte Ballantyne Area

Address: 12325 Johnston Rd, Charlotte, NC 28277-3689
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Charlotte
#56 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Price Range: $181 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Charlotte Ballantyne Area 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your SpringHill Suites Charlotte Ballantyne Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Charlotte Ballantyne Hotel Charlotte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing