We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
4 people are viewing this hotel
Hampton.com
US$171
US$143
View deal
SAVE US$28
Free cancellation until 25/04/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
US$171
US$143
View deal
SAVE US$28
Free cancellation until 25/04/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$171
US$143
View deal
SAVE US$28
Free cancellation until 24/04/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.comUS$143
Agoda.comUS$143
StayForLongUS$171
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,781)
Filter reviews
1,781 results
Traveller rating
1,149
434
124
54
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,149
434
124
54
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lazy river duck off season outer banks ocean front partial ocean view complimentary breakfast private beach wild horses indoor pool very nice hotel waffles short drive room was large third floor kitty hawk great beach
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 1,781 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2020 via mobile

We stayed here while exploring the outer banks in Oct 2020. Things were very slow this time of year which we liked. The hotel & room were nice and clean. We had a decent view of the ice from our 3rd floor balcony. It was relaxing to set on the balcony and eat breakfast and listen to the waves crashing. The sand dune slightly blocks the view but this is the case on the entire outer banks. There is great beach access and We had a nice walk on the beach in the morning before we checked out. All 3 pools including the inside pool were very cold. To cold for me to swim in however the hot tub was hot. The jets were a little weak but we enjoyed the hot tub until several other people arrived and we got out to give them space.
We really enjoyed our time here and would love to return. This would be a great place for a family vacation. Kids would enjoy the beac, pools, and lazy river.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff Tack, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2020

Thank you for your kind and gracious review, Jerry M! We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2020

We stayed at this location in early October. We chose room 300. The room is on the top floor and faces the ocean. The room had a balcony facing the ocean and no building close by to the right. The room is a corner room with windows on two walls. The room was very quiet. The bedding was clean. The beds were hard. The carpet and couch show usual hotel wear. It was nice having a table with 4 chairs, because we picked up carry-out and ate in the room. Friendly check in staff. The balcony had 2 chairs and a small table. The balcony could use a good cleaning but I know it would be hard to do. The last day the balcony and sliding door were covered with bugs. We could not go outside. That is not the hotel's fault. The bathroom could use some paint touch-up and the toilet runs all the time. The pool looks nice but we did not use the pool. Nice walk to the beach from the hotel. Breakfast was the same every morning the 4 days we were there. There were paper bags or trays to carry the food back to the room. Some people were sitting in the breakfast area. Breakfast included cold cereal, hard boiled eggs, instant oatmeal, peanut butter, milk (2% and whole), orange juice, apple juice, bagels, cream cheese, Nutragrain bars, instant grits, muffins, bananas and oranges. There was coffee also.
Every day there was a new bag of towels and toiletry items outside the door. We put our used towels and trash outside our door every day. No staff entered the room while we were there.
Staff and guests wore masks. Doors had stickers saying the room was cleaned and had not been entered after cleaning.
View 5 stars
Breakfast 3 stars
Room location 5 stars
Room cleanliness 3 stars
Bed linens 5 stars
Bed comfort 2 stars
We would stay here again. This trip was a cruise replacement and the ocean helped.

Room tip: Chose a room on high floor facing the ocean or right side.
Date of stay: October 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TN2ndHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff Tack, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2020

Ahhhh....a cruise replacement? All of us who enjoy cruising must be pitied for our loss this year. Let's hope cruising returns to normalcy in 2021 so that we can experience that kind of break again. Nothing compares to that, and we are exceptionally gratified that the SS Hampton Inn Corolla pulled a 4/5 review from you as a substitute for a cruise.
Your review is factual, helpful, and informative. Thank you for your business!
We genuinely hope we do not have to be a cruise substitute for anyone in 2021, but if we do, there won't be any sea sickness or sinking to worry about!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2020

If this hotel were located somewhere else--inland, let's say--probably it would be a tad disappointing: because it does look and feel dated, with rooms that need some attention.
The beautiful location, however, made me (almost!) forget that the quality/price ratio of the room was not the best.

Room tip: Definitely ocean view!
Date of stay: September 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingFrancesca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff Tack, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2020

Thank you for your review, TravelingFrancesca. Oceanfront hotels in destination areas do tend to be heavily abused and to age more rapidly than their inland contemporaries for a host of reasons, including an exceptionally corrosive natural environment. We are now six years distant from our last renovation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2020 via mobile

Second visit to this special place. Stayed last year end of September into October, & this year with virus restrictions. Masks in lobby and halls. Breakfast: well done with everything individually wrapped, no waffles or toast. Housekeeping: 3 day stay or less, bag of fresh towels daily while guest leaves trash & wet towels bagged in hallway; greater than 3 days, housekeeper will clean room. All rooms sanitized between guests. Entire place sparkling. Pools open. Loved the Fall decorations. Still a lovely stay!

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Celeste0522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff Tack, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2020

Thank you so much for your awesome review, Celeste0522! We hope you can visit again soon. Kudos to our guest services manager, Helen for the seasonal decor this Fall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2020

I never leave reviews because I either am satisfied with the hotel or I would just never return again (personally I'm more of an airbnb customer) but I felt that this one was necessary...

With COVID it seems like the only decent place to travel at the moment is to the beach and with it just being me and my boyfriend we didn't want to rent a large house so we found this hotel. We ended up arriving a few hours early and decided to try and get an early check in which I didn't think would happen but why not try, the man at the front desk was polite and informed us our room wasn't ready but we were welcome to use the beach access while we waited so we were happy enough with that and relaxed on the beach for a few hours. Once allowed to check in we headed to our room and the disappointment began.....

While the room was a great size for two people and had a little "kitchen" area there wasn't anything else positive to say. Super excited to see our beach view I pulled back the curtain to find we were in a corner room with a dirty disgusting roof in front of us with construction workers walking around literally RIGHT in front of us and I mean close enough that they could climb over and enter the room. I was immediately frustrated considering we didn't even get a warning that there was construction happening in the first place. We went down and requested another room and were rudely told there was nothing else available without even an apology. When we had arrived there were barely any cars there so we found that to be a little unbelievable. As we stayed for 4 more days like clockwork the workers came at 9am slamming ladders around and stayed until about 5pm, luckily when it rained one day we had peace and quiet because they weren't there. The short time in the morning we had to use the balcony we noticed it was disgusting and smelly so even without workers it wasn't pleasant at all. Inside the room, the bed was so hard and uncomfortable and the pillows felt like you were sleeping on sandpaper. The bathroom was constantly humid and musty and since there was no fan there was nothing to help it. The shower facet handle came off every time we used it which was just a small annoyance that I'd rather not have. We had a do not disturb sign on the door the entire time we were there but we did come back to our room one day to find a bag of fresh towels which was nice since we didn't even request it.

I am never wowed by hotel breakfast in general but this one was really bland. Some small box cereals, dry pastries, bananas and room temperature milk and orange juice were left out each morning. I tried it the first morning because I was starving but I avoided it the rest of the week because there's no way that satisfied anybody, it was pretty pathetic. The hotel had an outside pool and a "lazy river" which we never saw anybody using and we saw a few people in the indoor pool but we never used any of it. The walk to the beach was short and sweet but the water was so high while we were there that we basically were sitting in the dunes the first day and it absolutely stunk because of all the seaweed on the beach (not really anybodys fault but just unpleasant)

Overall, the location was convenient for us because we like to go drive out on the 4x4 beach and it only took about 15 minutes to get there and we passed all kinds of restaurants along the way so we pretty much stayed out of the hotel as much as possible. I would consider giving it another try in the future but I would probably request a 2nd or 3rd floor beach view in the middle of the building. I still don't think it would be much of an improvement. I don't know if it's because of COVID or it's how they run things in general but I feel like they could make that place a whole lot better if they tried to and they could use some work on their customer service because they just weren't friendly. Again, not one for reviews but I just really wanted to like this place but was so disappointment with so many things.

Room tip: higher floors in the center of the building are the only decent views
Date of stay: September 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kellyhZ7855JQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff Tack, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2020

We are very sorry to have disappointed you. You seem to dislike staying in hotels, with your stated preference for airbnb and your comment about hotel breakfasts. It is unfortunate that our roofing company needed to perform repairs during your stay. We would have relocated you if we could. Our parking lot is often nearly empty from late afternoon into the evening because we don't have a restaurant here so guests have to leave if they want to eat. This is also the case when folks are out seeing the sights because the weather is bad. We don't have a lot to do with unusually high tides or whether or not there is seaweed being washed up on the beach, but are happy to apologize on behalf of Mother Nature. We do that all summer long when it comes to the flying outdoor insects and other natural circumstances. All of our beds are new. We are sorry that they were too hard for you, and that our pillows reminded you of sandpaper. There was no need to suffer that kind of discomfort. We would have happily provided you with different pillows, and we could have easily repaired the shower faucet handle if asked. We are not to enter rooms uninvited in this covid environment.
It was a difficult and unusual year for all of us. We hope that you are able to find an accommodation here that more closely meets your needs. We are gratified that we got you as close as can be to the 4 X 4 beach in terms of a nationally franchised hotel. The next closest one is thirteen miles distant from us, in Kitty Hawk.
We wish you the best of luck in all of your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews