We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
4 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hampton.comUS$159
Expedia.comUS$159
PricelineUS$159
Hotels.comUS$159
eDreamsUS$159
StayForLongUS$185
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,782)
Filter reviews
1,782 results
Traveller rating
1,150
434
124
54
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,150
434
124
54
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lazy river duck off season outer banks ocean front partial ocean view complimentary breakfast wild horses indoor pool very nice hotel oatmeal short drive room was large third floor kitty hawk great beach beach access
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 1,782 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2020

I have mixed feelings about this hotel. The pics on this site are quite misleading; the outdoor pools are quite small. The motel is older and "well worn." The sofa bed and the chairs in our suite needed to be replaced; stains on the chair cushions and badly stained mattress with springs poking through on the sofa bed. The bathroom has some poorly done repairs as well. It is in a great location and the indoor pool was warm, but also in need of repairs. The hotel had an excellent breakfast "to go" (considering what they could offer); the coffee was not fresh and the "hot water" was not hot enough for hot tea (good for cocoa). Housekeeping left us adequate towels and shampoo, etc. the first day but never picked up our trash or dirty towels the second day. The handyman on site was very kind when I needed help with the lock on my door, but no other employee was terribly friendly (especially the person who checked us in - not friendly at all) except for one middle-aged man who was working the desk one evening. Not sure I would return.

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SuziQinTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff Tack, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2020

We are sorry we failed to impress you SuziQin Texas. We are gradually replacing all of the sleeper sofas you refer to, and are spending our off season getting the hotel back into shape. If you are in this area again, we hope you will give us a second chance. 2020 was a difficult year for many reasons. The eight weeks we were closed in the spring would have been a "spruce up for summer" period that we never got. We reopened just in time for Memorial Day weekend! We lost several department heads during the year, and a few key team members. We operated through the summer with about half our normal staff. We all looked forward to this off season to rest and recover from 2020. We will ensure that all of our staff regain their typical level of friendliness. Thank you for taking the time to provide this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2020 via mobile

This was the perfect location for a peaceful family trip to OBX. We were steps from
the beach which was quiet and peaceful. Going in November was perfect because we could walk the beach and not worry about crowds. The hotel is older and needs some updating/fixes in the room. Lots of rust around in the bathroom, sink and tub drain slowly and balcony doors were difficult to move. Staff was friendly and everyone was wearing masks. Felt comfortable staying here in light of the pandemic.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank sjones896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff Tack, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2020

We are glad you had a good experience with us, sjones896! Thank you for a review we can work with and use to get things back into "ship-shape" during our off season. Best wishes to you in 2021!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2020 via mobile

We stayed here while exploring the outer banks in Oct 2020. Things were very slow this time of year which we liked. The hotel & room were nice and clean. We had a decent view of the ice from our 3rd floor balcony. It was relaxing to set on the balcony and eat breakfast and listen to the waves crashing. The sand dune slightly blocks the view but this is the case on the entire outer banks. There is great beach access and We had a nice walk on the beach in the morning before we checked out. All 3 pools including the inside pool were very cold. To cold for me to swim in however the hot tub was hot. The jets were a little weak but we enjoyed the hot tub until several other people arrived and we got out to give them space.
We really enjoyed our time here and would love to return. This would be a great place for a family vacation. Kids would enjoy the beac, pools, and lazy river.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff Tack, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2020

Thank you for your kind and gracious review, Jerry M! We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2020

We stayed at this location in early October. We chose room 300. The room is on the top floor and faces the ocean. The room had a balcony facing the ocean and no building close by to the right. The room is a corner room with windows on two walls. The room was very quiet. The bedding was clean. The beds were hard. The carpet and couch show usual hotel wear. It was nice having a table with 4 chairs, because we picked up carry-out and ate in the room. Friendly check in staff. The balcony had 2 chairs and a small table. The balcony could use a good cleaning but I know it would be hard to do. The last day the balcony and sliding door were covered with bugs. We could not go outside. That is not the hotel's fault. The bathroom could use some paint touch-up and the toilet runs all the time. The pool looks nice but we did not use the pool. Nice walk to the beach from the hotel. Breakfast was the same every morning the 4 days we were there. There were paper bags or trays to carry the food back to the room. Some people were sitting in the breakfast area. Breakfast included cold cereal, hard boiled eggs, instant oatmeal, peanut butter, milk (2% and whole), orange juice, apple juice, bagels, cream cheese, Nutragrain bars, instant grits, muffins, bananas and oranges. There was coffee also.
Every day there was a new bag of towels and toiletry items outside the door. We put our used towels and trash outside our door every day. No staff entered the room while we were there.
Staff and guests wore masks. Doors had stickers saying the room was cleaned and had not been entered after cleaning.
View 5 stars
Breakfast 3 stars
Room location 5 stars
Room cleanliness 3 stars
Bed linens 5 stars
Bed comfort 2 stars
We would stay here again. This trip was a cruise replacement and the ocean helped.

Room tip: Chose a room on high floor facing the ocean or right side.
Date of stay: October 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TN2ndHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff Tack, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2020

Ahhhh....a cruise replacement? All of us who enjoy cruising must be pitied for our loss this year. Let's hope cruising returns to normalcy in 2021 so that we can experience that kind of break again. Nothing compares to that, and we are exceptionally gratified that the SS Hampton Inn Corolla pulled a 4/5 review from you as a substitute for a cruise.
Your review is factual, helpful, and informative. Thank you for your business!
We genuinely hope we do not have to be a cruise substitute for anyone in 2021, but if we do, there won't be any sea sickness or sinking to worry about!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2020

If this hotel were located somewhere else--inland, let's say--probably it would be a tad disappointing: because it does look and feel dated, with rooms that need some attention.
The beautiful location, however, made me (almost!) forget that the quality/price ratio of the room was not the best.

Room tip: Definitely ocean view!
Date of stay: September 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingFrancesca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff Tack, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Outer Banks / Corolla, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2020

Thank you for your review, TravelingFrancesca. Oceanfront hotels in destination areas do tend to be heavily abused and to age more rapidly than their inland contemporaries for a host of reasons, including an exceptionally corrosive natural environment. We are now six years distant from our last renovation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews