We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Surry Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$129
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Bryson Inn(Mount Airy)(Great Value!)
US$92
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Mount Airy)
US$86
US$68
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Mount Airy(Mount Airy)(Great Value!)
US$116
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Mount Airy(Mount Airy)(Great Value!)
US$85
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Fairfield Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elk Inn(Elkin)
US$69
US$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveller rating
5
14
8
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
5
14
8
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsovernight accommodationsjuice and coffeewafflesroom was cleanmicrowavebedscereal
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 34 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2017

Bathroom was noticeably older, but clean. As mentioned by a previous reviewer, there was no alarm clock or coffee maker. For us, the lack of a coffee maker was not a big deal, but it is the only hotel I think we've every stayed in that was without an alarm clock. The small rooms were filled, perhaps with too much considering the size. Besides the bed, there was a table, two chairs, a loveseat, coffee table, refrigerator, and microwave. We enjoyed the heater in the bathroom ceiling, which was great coming out of the shower! Front desk personnel was polite, respectful, and helpful with directions. We left before the breakfast hour, so cannot reflect on its status. Our biggest concern was our room door. It was old, and had quite a large gap starting halfway down the door, between the edge of the door and the door frame. Not crazy about the possibility of sharing our room with unwelcome critters, and even more concerned about our safety.

Room Tip: Check the room door before committing to your stay.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mikkyt2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieDe1973, Guest Relations Manager at Surry Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

We have added Alarm Clocks, Coffee Makers, Irons and Ironing Boards, Upgraded ALL TVS to 40 inch flat screen TVs and are working to upgrade our cable system! When Our guest speak We listen! Come see us again and let us know what you think! The more our guest let us know what our rooms need they more we listen!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017

An older, unaffiliated motel in the process of upgrading. The rooms (2) we had were large with queen beds, sofas, and work tables. Lots of room compared to other budget motels. Vanity and sink , separate from bathroom that is tight for space, are spacious. Towels were plush. Microwave, but no clock or coffee maker maybe because too often stolen. Wake up call service from telephone system worked well.

Breakfast was cereals, waffles, breads, juice and coffee. Given the budget price, I did not expect more.

Booked online, but never received an email confirmation. A call before arriving confirmed all was booked

Will definitely return if in the area.

The only adequate condition of tub and shower keeps me from rating as excellent. Maybe these are slated for upgrade.

Stayed: November 2017
Thank KissuMist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieDe1973, Guest Relations Manager at Surry Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Thank you for letting us know how we did. I am hoping that coffee makers are in our future and yes clocks too. As we are such a small place it does take us a bit more time to get to all the things that need attention but with our guest help we can keep them on the list to get them done. We appreciate your business and hope you stay again when you are int he area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017 via mobile

We came in for the Fall Festival so prices were significantly higher.We understood that this was an older hotel.
Staff was very nice but that was the high point.
Our room smelled horrible.Two lamps didn't work.We asked maid to look at it but nothing was done.Bathroom floors were nasty.It didn't appear that baseboards had been cleaned for awhile.Bathtub had cigarette burns on it even though we had a no smoking room.Furniture was falling apart,lampshades were yellowed and dusty,bedspread had several tears in it and I found a couple of pieces of dog food on floor even though we were told our room was not a pet room.My advice is to stay anywhere but here.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieDe1973, General Manager at Surry Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Without knowing what room you were booked in and what name it was booked under I cannot accurately address this issue. But I will try. At check in we inform All guest if there is an issue to Contact Front Desk by dialing 0 from the room and We will fix the issue. So if the room smelled We could have changed your room immediately and had the room treated for the smell. The issue with the lamps is that they are controlled by the light switch at the door and that may have been an over sight in informing you of this but not broken lamps as we check them daily. We do agree that the grout needs to be repaint and that is on our list. All Carpets were shampooed the day after and being the baseboards are carpet they also have to be shampooed to remove the dust. Six years ago we have close to 50% smoking rooms when the health Dept. informed us we could have 10%. So is changing the rooms to non smoking some of the bathtubs still have evidence of them being smoking rooms. A side note on this is that even thought they are non smoking rooms guest at times lie and smoke in the rooms and also sneak pets in the rooms and destroy property that we are working hard to replace. Again I cannot say to the state of the room you were in because I do not know which room you were assigned. But I can attest to the fact that 95% of our rooms have NEW Furniture and 99% have new bedding and All of them have New mattresses. WE have a few more to go before we finish. And All our rooms have Flat screen Tvs. Sorry you had a bad experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

Came to town for a weekend getaway. The hotel is older but well kept. The rooms were clean and didn't smell old or smoky. The beds and pillows were comfortable. They seemed pretty new. The staff was super nice. It's right off the interstate with easy access to get to. We would stay again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieDe1973, General Manager at Surry Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

We are happy you enjoyed you stay. We try hard to make sure you feel like home when you are in our guest rooms. We hope you decide to stay with us again on your next trip through the area.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

We got a AAA / Firefighter rate. It was better quality than something we could get at home for the same price. The room was very clean. The bed and pillows were comfortable. The owner was friendly. It was very quiet. We found it easily right off the interstate. Free Wifi. We didn't have breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieDe1973, Guest Relations Manager at Surry Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

I am glad we were able to make your stay a pleasant one. We hope in the future we can be of service to you. Working hard to keep our little place as close to home as possible when you are traveling through our small town. Sorry you missed the Waffles they seem to be a big hit with our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews