We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
11 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Agoda.comUS$279
PricelineUS$279
Expedia.comUS$279
Hotels.comUS$279
Official WebsiteUS$279
StayForLongUS$395
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,268)
Filter reviews
1,268 results
Traveller rating
852
255
109
35
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
852
255
109
35
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lifesaving station fire pit family pool beach house the outer banks adult pool north wing chairs and umbrellas s'mores kit off season main building s mores beach towels each morning second floor ocean view parking lot
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
202 - 207 of 1,268 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2018

Smiles, smiles everywhere!! Check-in: fast and easy. Room: 2nd floor, Beach Club, ocean view. Smelled clean, was immaculate and roomy. Very comfy bed. Great view over the dunes and adult pool to the ocean. Fridge that kept drinks COLD. Bathroom: modern with glass walk-in shower. Immaculate. Sanderling toiletries (so nice I bought some at their spa across the street). The pictures do not do this resort justice! It is beautiful and well laid out. Every staff member we encountered is there to ensure your stay is top notch. The facilities are abundant, well-maintained and staffed. Beach is secluded and with a phone call, chairs, umbrella and towels are put out for you. We ate a yogurt and fruit plate at the Sand Bar-refreshingly cold and fruit was sweet. Had one dinner and breakfasts at the Lifesaving Station-generous servings, good variety and delicious with wonderful service. Had dinner our last night at Kimbells (fine dining) and it did not disappoint. Service again was excellent, outstanding meal and wonderful view of Roanoke Sound. You would never have to see or go anywhere else while here!!

Room tip: Room 334 was excellent.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hollywood67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanderlingresort, Manager at Sanderling Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Thank you for the AMAZING review. We are happy to know when our guests leave that we have created a memorable experience and appreciate you sharing with other potential travelers. Thank you for enjoying all the amenities at the Resort too during your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

My husband and I loved this resort. We went in the off season and were upgraded when we arrived. Our room was awesome. We had two televisions, a fireplace, and a balcony. The bathroom was spectacular and the biggest I’ve seen in a resort. There was also a separate dressing area. The only down side was the steps we had to walk up once we got in the room. Because it was the off season, one of the staff showed us some of the other rooms. They were all beautiful. I definitely recommend this resort.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank fewarechosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanderlingresort, Manager at Sanderling Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

You were in one of our Superior Rooms in the Beach House. They used to be Loft Suite (upstairs and downstairs units and we renovated them which is why you access them on the third floor with the stairs but really have 4th floor view) We only have two facing the Sound and two facing the Ocean. They do have amazing bathrooms, a fireplace and separate sitting areas. We hope to find you another perfect room next visit Thank you for recommending us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

My 2 sisters and I took my mom to my cousin’s wedding nearby. The room was great besides that there was only one somewhat small mirror in the bathroom and a handheld. 4 ladies getting ready with one mirror was difficult. Also, the wedding venue was less than 3 miles away, but had very limited parking. The hotel could not accommodate us for rides to the venue. No taxis or Ubers were available even with several hours notice. I noticed workers getting out of several property owned vans. I’m not sure why the hotel didn’t offer to take us in those. It was less than a 5 minutes drive. Room for improvement, but a lovely stay none the less! Thank you!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank U3654EYhollym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanderlingresort, Manager at Sanderling Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Thank you for being our guest while visiting the Outer Banks for your cousin’s wedding. The vans are not owned by the property and are not permitted to transport guests. We apologize we could not address this directly then so there was no misunderstanding of services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018 via mobile

Had an amazing time! Service was phenomenal, rooms were sparkling clean, decor was updated Southern Living style and we were never without towels or drinks. Nastassia B. made sure all of our questions were answered and needs were met. We will return soon!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank AmberBurke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanderlingresort, Manager at Sanderling Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Thank you for being our guest and recognizing our staff. We are glad you had an amazing time and hope to welcome you again soon. Thank you for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018

We spent five nights (Mon - Fri) at the Sanderling and loved every minute of it. Why? First of all, the staff was GREAT - very attentive and friendly. Plus, little did I know before visiting, but they have activities both on and off site for visitors. (i.e. jewelry making; ghost crabbing, wine tours, etc -additional cost.) They had live music every night by the fire pit - acoustic guitar and very enjoyable. (not too loud or overbearing). We also really enjoyed the food - traveled off site once for breakfast and then discovered room service - breakfast was delicious and then we never left in the morning the rest of the week - ate on our balcony listening to the peaceful ocean!
We ate at Kimball's Kitchen (upscale restaurant on site). The service was outstanding, the food was outstanding, the experience was outstanding. Furthermore, we utilized the concierge service on site - went on a wild horse and bear tour - no complaints there either! All in all, the Sanderling was everything we could have asked for - it had great beach access, a nice outdoor pool and spa to relax in, excellent food, and outstanding service.
Room tip: book a room on the ocean side - even if you don't have a view of the ocean, you can hear it all the time!
My only suggestion would be to add more privacy to the showers at the indoor pool. Maybe add a curtain? My husband and I spent the day we checked out on the beach and were offered a place to shower and change at the indoor pool. However, there is really no privacy to the shower - if you have sand everywhere, it's really hard to get rid of discreetly. :)

Date of stay: June 2018
Thank cupkate5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanderlingresort, Manager at Sanderling Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Thank you for being our guest. We are glad you had a memorable time and enjoyed all of our services and amenities. We will be sure to share with the staff. Thank you for your good suggestion for the indoor pool shower.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews