We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
9 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$279
Agoda.comUS$279
Expedia.comUS$279
Hotels.comUS$279
Official WebsiteUS$279
StayForLongUS$395
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,271)
Filter reviews
1,271 results
Traveller rating
853
255
109
36
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
853
255
109
36
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lifesaving station fire pit family pool beach house the outer banks adult pool north wing chairs and umbrellas s'mores kit off season main building s mores beach towels each morning screen door ocean view second floor
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 1,271 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2020

Located in the small town of Duck, NC, the Sanderling is a classic resort. We were visiting during the COVID phasing so some amenities were abbreviated or missing altogether but the staff made every attempt to make us welcome and comfortable. During this phase of COVID, we received an extensive email beforehand telling us what to expect, what as open and what was limited at the resort. We knew exactly what to expect and appreciated the heads-up.

Since we live in FL and have abundant beaches, we were not tempted to book an ocean view room (these are only on the top—third—floor). Our room, on the second floor overlooked the Tranquility aka Adult pool facing the dunes. The South tower, where we stayed, is billed as the quieter location due to the kids/family pool being at the other end near the North tower rooms. We had no problem with noise. There are several areas to sit and enjoy the views and there are also beach chairs and umbrellas set up on the beach for guests. Evening events are explained in the aforementioned email.

Our room had a small balcony with two elevated chairs overlooking the pool. The king bedded room was well lighted, had ample drawers and space for clothing, a small table with two chairs, a comfortable cushioned chair. A small fridge with water was tucked inside the dresser. A safe was located in the bathroom along with a single sink with ample counter top space for personal items, a shower, and a hair dryer. Beach/pool towels are provided along with plush bath towels. I believe there are normally coffee makers in each room, but we were advised before hand that they were removed due to COVID restrictions, so we took our own. Coffee is available in the lobby after 7 AM. We thoroughly enjoyed our time at The Sanderling and look forward to another return trip.

Room tip: South tower is quieter than North Tower; family pool is near North Tower; Only 3rd floor rooms have ocean views--all others view the dunes.
Date of stay: July 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank pamgoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanderling Management, General Manager at Sanderling Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2020

Thank you for being our guest and taking note that we were making every effort to put the guest and employee safety first during these unprecedented times. We look forward to welcoming you back. (Note to reader: We do not have coffee makers in the room but normally have self serve in each lobby daily from 7 -11am. This year we are offering coffee in the Beach House served by an attendant)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2020

We had a wonderful experience last week at The Sanderling Resort! Our massages at the spa were first rate. The staff is extremely friendly and capable. Also, Nancy Russell, the Guest Services Manager there at The Sanderling was fabulous. Thank you Team Sanderling!

Date of stay: June 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ericfharding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanderling Management, General Manager at Sanderling Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2020

Thank you for being our guest. We will be sure to share your kind words with Nancy and the Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2020

June 6, 2020
My husband and I wanted to escape for an overnight stay in an area that we have loved and enjoyed for the past nineteen years.
Our daughter gave us a gift certificate to The Sanderling Resort this past Christmas and we were thankful and excited to receive this thoughtful gift and were looking forward to the Summer season to experience a stay at The Sanderling, a resort, we have only driven past during our yearly visits.
Upon contacting the resort to book a one night stay, we were immediately informed that was NOT possible - they have a two or three night minimum, that would cost approximately $400+ per night, during their season! Now, you may understand why we have only driven past this resort for the past nineteen years! We spoke with several different people, including a Manager and no one was willing to make any effort to accommodate us in utilizing our gift towards a one night stay.
We booked a stay elsewhere and it was just lovely and decided we would use a portion of our gift certificate instead for what we hoped would be a lovely dinner at their restaurant. We arrived early (4:25) they were not open just yet for dinner but we were willing to wait. Upon opening, no one was at the reception area to greet us, so we waited a bit more. A gentleman came out of a back office apologetic for our wait and asked us if we were staying at the hotel. We replied we were not, but would like to have an early dinner on their deck and use our gift card- he then asked if we had a reservation- we replied no, he then claimed he did not have anything available- they were booked until 8:00pm. We went back and forth a bit with him and stated that we received a lovely gift certificate for the resort and have now found, for the second time, that we cannot seem to utilize it at the resort. He, too, was unaccommodating and said we could go over to their outdoor bar area (Tikihut) and have something “light” and use our gift card there instead. We walked over to their main building reception area and came to find that this Tikihut was NOT serving any food at all, it was just a bar! At this point, we were at the resort for about 45 minutes or so. We left completely dissatisfied and unimpressed with this so called “Resort”! We travelled a bit further up Rt. 12 and had a great dinner and sun setting on the sound, at a restaurant we loved and enjoyed many times prior. Coincidentally, about an hour and forty five minutes after our dinner, we again, drove past, The Sanderling Resort, their outdoor deck was empty of diners.
So, if you are thinking about The Sanderling Resort as your preferred choice when visiting the Outer Banks, I would recommend you stay/dine/purchase gift certificates elsewhere for your trip!
We confirmed and now have justification, in our minds, just why we ONLY drove by this so called “Resort” for the past nineteen years of visitIng the Outer Banks!

Date of stay: June 2020
    • Service
1  Thank puglisijoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanderlingresort, Manager at Sanderling Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2020

Note to those reading this: Our gift certificates are a plastic card like you get at a kiosk and you can put whatever amount on it you like and it can be used anywhere on property. That means you decide when you want to use it, what room type you want and how many nights you want to stay. The amount is then applied. You do, however, have to apply it towards whatever the terms or room types are at the time you look to redeem it. If someone only gifted $50 on the card would that mean the room is only going to be $50? Currently dinner reservations are required at the Lifesaving Station and at 50% capacity under Executive Order we are mostly only able to accommodate our in-house guests unless that evening we are able to do walk-ins on the patio. We have tried to share this information in a number of ways. It is true that our Sandbar (which to be clear is our poolside restaurant and not open to the public nor just a bar) does stop serving food at 5pm.

We do apologize this card holder did not get to experience the Resort as the gifter had intended. There were many ways that could have happened successfully. We tried to explain and be helpful up front.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2020

I booked a deep tissue massage - overpriced to begin with, and I paid extra for "deep tissue." The therapist I had clearly did not know what a deep tissue massage was, and although it was relaxing, I expected much more for the cost and the location. I will not be returning to the spa here.

Date of stay: June 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marieldoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanderling Management, General Manager at Sanderling Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2020

Thank you for the feedback and we regret you did not enjoy your spa experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2020

After coming every year, for 7 years, there is an expectation to have that full resort feel while enjoying the off season. That wasn't the case this time. The beach house bar was closed on Fri/Sat (different from all the previous years and not as advertised). The only bar was at the Lifesaving Station. There is not a lot of seating and is fairly far way from the beach house and fire-pit. This made it difficult to enjoy the beach house fireplace and seating and the atmosphere of the fire-pit, especially, if you wanted to have cocktails at the same time. Service for both dinner and breakfast, at the Lifesaving Station was very slow. They were not fully booked at either time we were there. Although the room was clean and comfortable, the beach house is in serious need of deep cleaning, especially up high.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank nicolebE6258LL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews