We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (354)
Filter reviews
354 results
Traveller rating
116
114
49
36
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
116
114
49
36
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews second floor oceanfront room sitting area inn suites sleeper sofa long weekend main building the maintenance man microwave and fridge rooms were very clean lounge chairs ocean view beach trip staff was very friendly and helpful housekeeping staff atlantic beach great beach access
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 354 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2018

The wind when I got here was just howling and the Atlantic was answering. Waves crashing on the shore with a thunder.I looked out to see if Cate Blanchett was up on the bluff watching fire ships take out the Spanish Fleet.For a few moments I was wondering if we should all run for the root cellar.Even the pool had white caps.Still it was well worth the stay
The Islander Hotel was a lucky find. The buildings and grounds were well kept and there was an outside pool.The lobby was impressive and upscale.The staff were friendly and welcoming. Check in was painless and they did exactly as promised.No holds on your card and they actually liked the idea of cash.
The set up is a motel with exterior entrances but as nice as it is they can call it what they want. One is pleasantly surprised when entering the room. There was a small foyer opening into a sitting area with couch,coffee table,chairs and a table.Mounted on the wall was a 42 inch flat screen.Channels as it turned out included all the Starz and HBO you could want.WiFi worked very well.
The sleeping area was separated by a partition and beyond that was a full refirg with microwave,kitchen cabinets and kitchen counter top.The bed was rather large and turned out to be very comfortable.Free standing dresser.Every thing was clean and neat.It gave the impression of a small studio apartment rather than a simple room.Be advised .Once you leave Atlantic Beach you will find nothing until you reach Emerald Isle and the lodging choices are limited to 3 once you get there.
Not much if anything right near the hotel and anything you desire you are driving for. With the exception of the standard on site gift shop fare of course.I did do a recon of the local eatery's and emporiums.If your not the "Wine Bar" type and not watching your girlish figure, "Light Beer" in abundance, these places may not be for you.To many "wait to be seated" signs for me. There was one pizza shop that looked promising.The Publix market is closed so your left with the Food Lion and they know they are the only game in Town. Lucky, for me anyways, the bridge off the Island is a short distance from the Islander and you can drive back into the real world and leave the tee shirt shops and wine bar in your rear view.Plenty of real people choices once you cross the bridge.
If you are a fisherman you are not fishing off the beach due to the raging waves which were not much better the next morning even after the wind had subsided.There is one pay to fish pier not far away.
The Islander was a great place to relax in an accommodation that was worth much more than the cost.I can imagine that in peak season there would be plenty of things to do. Two Thumbs up from me for the Hotel itself. The surrounding business.Ehhh..

Room Tip: If you are gong to stay a few days I would go for the rooms facing the Ocean.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RealArdRi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crown3722, Owner at Islander Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that you had such a relaxing experience at our property and you enjoyed the set-up of our entire facility. We hope to see you again next time you're in the area. Barry Eagle, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2018 via mobile

Great location, comfortable, clean, right on beach, quiet and perfect. Staff is wonderful, great recommendations for local restaurants and seafood. Nice big balcony with big cpmfortable chairs so you can have breakfast, drinks whatever outside and have your own sunrise or sunset view. Also liked the upper and lower level community seating areas. Will return

Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
Thank Gibbs B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crown3722, Owner at Islander Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

Thank you for your review. I'm so pleased to hear that everything about your stay with us fit what you were looking for while staying on the beach in Emerald Isle. We're glad that you had a great time and hope to see you back with us again in the future! Barry Eagle, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018

I chose this place because the pictures were amazing and the price was unbeatable. What you see is what you get! This place is so beautiful and peaceful. I went running on the beach, read in the hammock and enjoyed the small local restaurants. Definitely ask for food recommendations- the front desk staff is more knowledgeable than yelp when it comes to local food. Comer here to relax, not to party. Overall, best beach vacation location I have ever chosen.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crown3722, Owner at Islander Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Thank you for your review. I cannot tell you how pleased I am to hear that you had such an incredible stay with us and felt so tranquil and comfortable at our beach resort. I'm glad to hear that our staff could accommodate you well and you enjoyed all that Emerald Isle has to offer. We hope to see you back with us again in the future! Barry Eagle, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2018 via mobile

We were the first guests in a newly remodeled room {new flooring, walls TV}! Our balcony had a lovely view looking right over the beach. A walk downstairs and you’re on the water. We’ll definitely return! This place can’t be beat.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Carla K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crown3722, Owner at Islander Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Thank you for your review. We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed our renovated areas and our prime location right on the beach. We can't wait to see you back with us again in the future. Barry Eagle, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2018

Second year we have visited, last week of August. We stay on second level corner room near outside Balcony overlooking the pool. Love the rocking chair. Kelly is great in front office, cleaning crew most helpful. Beach with beach chairs easy access and most convenient. Great beds

Room Tip: If you love the beach go for ocean view, want a step down but still great view go for second level corner room
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Doris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crown3722, Owner at Islander Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Thank you for your review. I am so happy to hear that we are always able to give you an exceptional stay with us and you enjoy your guest room and the balcony. We greatly appreciate your loyalty and hope to see you back with us again this summer! Barry Eagle, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews