We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch visit”
Review of Carolina Ale House

Carolina Ale House
Ranked #8 of 262 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stopped in for lunch, looking for something different. It was fairly empty when we went in. Lots of tv screens about and fairly loud music, but not super loud. I could do without the country music, but alas, it is the south. There was a decent variety of beers on tap. My husband and I both ordered one. His was good, but seemed a bit flat. I ordered a different beer and felt mine was also. Perhaps the carbonation needs some attention. Or, we both ordered flat tasting beers.
We ordered the "Frickles" to start and they were delicious. The horseradish ranch dip that came with them was tasty as well.
I ordered the southern fried chicken club sandwich and subbed a side salad for the fries that come with it. It was a good sandwich. The side salad was enormous. My husband ordered shrimp tacos with the enormous side salad. He enjoyed his meal, but didn't rave about it.
Good lunch restaurant in an easy to get to location.

Thank KikiWanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WeCare-BrandManager, Owner at Carolina Ale House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Thanks for the 4 stars!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2017

We went as a family with my 9 year old and it was way too loud. There wasn't a major game on, there wasn't any events going on, it was just a very LOUD environment. When I asked the waitress if they could turn it down a little, she told me that was the "nature of the facility" and that there was nothing that could be done. The quality of the food was not worth the price I had to pay either.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WeCare-BrandManager, Owner at Carolina Ale House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Thanks for the review and the feedback Jennifer. I'm going to pass it on to the team so we can hopefully fix it in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

We were in town for SOI graduation. Decided to try different restaurant, nice sports theme decor, large TVs in different locations so can see no matter where you sit. My husband ordered the fish tacos, which he liked. I ordered salmon but was told out of and had to switch order to a hamburger. Waitress was attentive and did a wonderful job. Great experience and would eat there again.

Thank Tigger306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WeCare-BrandManager, Owner at Carolina Ale House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Thanks for the 4 stars Trigger!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

It was great to sit outside in the open-air bar, which was mostly what we wanted. But they were out of cheese curds, so we ordered the mozzarella sticks. We'd asked the server whether the mozzarella was made in-house, and she said it was, but it seemed to be the same fried mozzarella sticks we've eaten at bars everywhere. Cheese fries were only half eaten.
That said, the atmosphere outside and the beer selection were great.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SmallTownWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WeCare-BrandManager, Owner at Carolina Ale House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Thanks for the review and the feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

What a great location with a nice selection of craft beers and a full bar. The food was excellent and highly recommend the cheese curds. The staff was courteous and polite and the service was excellent. The menu offered a full variety of items for all and a kids menu.

Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WeCare-BrandManager, Owner at Carolina Ale House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Thanks for the great review Jeff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carolina Ale House also viewed

Jacksonville, North Carolina Coast
Jacksonville, North Carolina Coast
 
Jacksonville, North Carolina Coast
Jacksonville, North Carolina Coast
 
Jacksonville, North Carolina Coast
Jacksonville, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Carolina Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing