We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (474)
Filter reviews
474 results
Traveller rating
100
122
96
62
94
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
100
122
96
62
94
Show reviews that mention
All reviews four seasons kill devil grill oceanfront room continental breakfast across the street bagels hard boiled eggs nothing fancy obx microwave deck sunrise
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 474 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2018 via mobile

This place was clean and comfortable. Ask for an ocean view room. Breakfast was great (coffee, tea, waffles, eggs, yogurt, bananas, etc) and the breakfast attendant was courteous and kept the room clean. This place is only a 10 minute walk to the grocery store, shopping, and restaurants. I’ll be back!

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank 416tr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edward22, Owner at John Yancey Oceanfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Thanks for your feedback! Look forward to having you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

Fantastic location, between the Beach Road and the ocean. The hotel is older, but well maintained and clean and very affordable for this location. The staff was excellent and friendly. One building is available for those traveling with pets - lots of dogs were there when we went, but very quiet.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Pat G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edward22, Manager at John Yancey Oceanfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Thanks for your feedback. We are planning extensive renovation this fall, but have been working hard to maintain clean, affordable rooms year in and year out. We look forward to having you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2018

We selected this hotel partially because of where it is located in relation to the Race Weekend events we were participating in and partially because of the price.

Compared to other hotels, this was on the lower end of the pricing scale. We did not expect much but hoped for the best.

We arrived and were warmly greeted by the front desk. He clarified that we got a handicapped accessible room (it was what was available for the price we wanted). He also was very helpful in recommending places for eating since we were visiting.

In regards to the handicapped accessible room - the only differences we noticed was the bed seemed to be a little lower and the shower was more a stall instead of a tub.

Overall, the room was clean and neat. It did need a little TLC as rust, chipped paint, tired look were evident. The bed was comfortable (though we brought our own pillows). The TV worked (could not get the TV guide to come up on the screen so we could only scroll through the channels).

The hotel is right on the water but only a handful of the rooms face the water. They serve a hot breakfast and this was one of our highlights. We were able to get hot waffles, fruit, juice, hard boiled eggs and pastries. It was perfect for preparation of the race.

Speaking of the race, there were quite a few runners staying there that weekend. The 1/2 marathon finish and after party was 1.5 miles from the hotel. it made it easy to finish the race and get back in time to get some breakfast and a shower prior to checkout (at 11am). The 5k and Expo were about 2.5 miles north of the hotel - again, a short trip to get there in time for the race.

Overall, the hotel was clean and comfortable. For the cost, it was well worth the time spent.

Room tip: Specify ocean front room if you would prefer - they have chairs and a deck facing the ocean.
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edward22, Owner at John Yancey Oceanfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Thanks for your feedback! We are continuing to update the Yancey guest experience and have plans for major renovations in the future. Hope you come back again and see us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2018

Exactly as advertised. Decent room with an excellent location at a very solid price. There is nothing fancy about this hotel, but then again, then is nothing fancy about the OBX, which is what we all probably love about it. I have found my new go-to hotel and will be visiting again soon.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Justin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edward22, Manager at John Yancey Oceanfront Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Thanks. We look forward to having you back again soon. We have plans for a major renovation this fall so exciting new upgrades are coming in the near future @ the John Yancey Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2018 via mobile

This place has great views of the ocean and is pet friendly. The breakfast is decent. Great central location on the outer banks and near a lot of shops and restaurants and only being minutes from The Wright Brother’s National Monument.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews