We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$110
View deal
Hotels.com
US$110
View deal
ZenHotels.com
US$128
US$100
View deal
SAVE US$28
PricelineUS$110
WyndhamUS$110
Lol.travelUS$128
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,981)
Filter reviews
2,981 results
Traveller rating
870
1,017
654
271
169
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
870
1,017
654
271
169
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the outer banks ocean view indoor pool hotel restaurant hot tub housekeeping staff off season beach access beds were comfortable bird pet tiki deck obx groupon walkway
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
219 - 224 of 2,981 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2018

A great place that gets better every time I stay (new deck). As always; the service was perfect, the room clean and comfortable, the public areas well maintained. The motel provided baggage carts and wide parking spaces may be minor points but really add to the overall pleasure of the stay.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ewk301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamadaPlazaNagsHead, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza by Wyndham Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

Fantastic! Nothing is more gratifying than hearing that you had a perfect OBX vacation with us recently. We agree, our newly renovated deck is a great spot to socialize with friends or relax with a good book. Hopefully you took some time to explore the surrounding Nags Head area and all it has to offer, as we are conveniently located near local attractions, restaurants and shopping. We would love to have you back as our guest again soon. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

This hotel is a very old hotel but you can’t beat the location. Although the facilities are older it is run very well and very clean.
They have a wonderful deck which leads right out to a private beach. The towels, chairs and umbrellas are readily available on the way down to the beach.
As many families and hotels as there are along here, you can still scout a great spot to spend the day on the beach without feeling crowded in.
It’s not an inexpensive to place to stay at for such an older facility but I would stay here again.Aftet all, you’ll be outside all day.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Road723833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamadaPlazaNagsHead, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza by Wyndham Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

We truly appreciate your positive review score and for choosing Ramada Plaza Nags Head for your Outer Banks vacation! Like you, many guests also love our serene stretch of beach and spending their days relaxing in the sun with their toes in the sand. Our staff strives to offer guests clean and comfortable guest rooms and friendly hospitality, so we are happy to read your comments. Thank you for being our guest and we would love to have you come back to stay with us again for your next beach vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

This is our second trip here. It's not that our stay was perfectly pleasant the first time. but rather due to the fact that a nice long wooden ramp takes one very close to ocean, a very nice feature for two people who are legally disabled for mobility reasons; that's something few places offer.

Our first stay was pretty good except that we had booked a room with a Jacuzzi tub, and when we got here the room did not have the tub. Somehow, all of a sudden, this became not only a potential pricey upgrade, but one that was unavailable at that time we checked in. Between that disappointment, and the fact that the food in the in house restaurant was sub-par and overpriced made our stay barely forgivable.

The first trip we were told that since we had booked the room through a third party online agency, the Jacuzzi room couldn't be booked even though a photo of the room with the hot tub was prominent on the page of the site we used and cost extra for that option, which we had paid. No discount was given at the hotel due to this error though.

The second trip was booked through the hotel itself with the room with the hot tub. It is a fact that this was done properly on our part [all parties agree.] We once again end up with a room with no hot tub. This time the room we got cost about $100 per night more than the online counterpart. This was supposed to be a 4 night stay, but for some reason the debit card wouldn't work properly at the desk, and thankfully only one night was paid for until we could figure out what was wrong.

Once we saw that there was again no hot tub, we called the desk, and although it was agreed that we had booked the proper room there was not only no discount offered, but it would also would cost an additional $50 per night for the room with a hot tub that we should have already had, and had previously booked, we would further have to leave a day early or change rooms after 3 days instead of the four we had booked. That would make it 2 room changes in 4 days. Apparently it's okay to screw us on the reservation, but not whomever had booked the room for Thursday. This not being a pleasant option after a long drive, we stayed a night in the nightmare room. As soon as we got unpacked, we tried to heat something up in the microwave, and instantly the breaker tripped to it.

This killed the power to microwave, refrigerator, and coffee maker. Maintenance came, but could not fix the problem. We moved the food back into the cooler, and mopped water all night from the refrigerator that thawed and leaked water all over the floor.

In the meantime, using the same debit card that had been essentially turned down at the desk, we booked a bigger room with an ocean view through a third party online at the same hotel for $100 less per night for the remainder of our stay. We will be talking with the manager in the morning, and I'll write another review on how they handle the situation. Hopefully, I can retract my 1 star review depending on how we are accommodated and/or compensated for their poor service, sub-par room, and bait and switch tactics.

Room tip: Expect a sub-par room with luxury prices, and poor service.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Loy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2018

My husband and I stayed at the Ramada for a family wedding we were attending. The room was very nice. It appeared to have been renovated recently. The bed was really comfortable and the pillows were super. The staff were very attentive and nice. The food is okay but we love the local restaurants so we only ate there once. Our only complaint is that the smoking section outside is right beside the outdoor eating area. That was a bad hotel management decision!

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Carmen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamadaPlazaNagsHead, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza by Wyndham Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Nothing makes us happier than to hear that you had a memorable Outer Banks vacation with us, Carmen! We are pleased to hear you found our beds and pillows to be comfortable, which makes for a relaxing night’s sleep. Hopefully you enjoyed our beautiful views and had a great time at the wedding celebration. Thank you for your detailed comments and we hope you’ll stay with us again next time you return to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2018 via mobile

Beautiful ocean view and lovely deck to view the sunsets. The room was tired and out dated but it was clean and the staff was lovely. I guess I expected something really nice since it was a Ramada. We enjoyed a lovely breakfast and the hotel is close to all amenities.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank sshannon26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamadaPlazaNagsHead, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Plaza by Wyndham Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Sheree, thank you for choosing Ramada Plaza Nags Head for your Outer Banks vacation. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the ocean views from our outdoor deck, as many guests find this a great spot to relax with a good book and take in the ocean air. We appreciate your feedback and would love to have you back as our guest again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews