We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$157
US$118
View deal
Agoda.comUS$118
Expedia.comUS$118
Hotels.comUS$118
PricelineUS$118
WyndhamUS$118
Trip.comUS$157
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,982)
Filter reviews
2,982 results
Traveller rating
870
1,017
654
272
169
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
870
1,017
654
272
169
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the outer banks ocean view indoor pool hotel restaurant hot tub off season beach access beds were comfortable bird pet tiki deck obx groupon walkway
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 2,982 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2021 via mobile

This is our second stay with this property. The past two years we have stayed over Christmas/New Years. The location and view of the hotel is great. The manager and staff are always friendly and attentive. The hotel property is outdated and needs some updating. The lobby and restaurant area are nice, but the hall carpets and rooms needs replacing and upgraded. We were unaware of the no housekeeping to the rooms during our stay, and we had even booked directly through the property, but were still very understanding considering our current pandemic.

We were however very surprised that upon arrival that the room was not as clean as we would have expected, especially during the Covid situation. We found hair all in the bathroom sink, floor, and bottom of shower, and fingerprints on headboards and nightstand. In my opinion, general cleaning was done, but there was no deep cleaning. The mattress on the beds sagged horribly, and made noises when you sat or rolled over. The staff offered to change our room, but, after 7.5 hours of driving, I just cleaned things myself and sanitized with things I brought from home. The family had already unpacked most everything anyway, so we made the best of it.

During our 8 day stay, the staff was very good with providing towels, trashbags, etc. upon your request, and they do have limited staff during the off season and due to the Covid situation, so we didn't mind that part so much. Our stay for 8 days overall was nice and mostly quiet, but the rooms and mattresses needs serious attention! We would stay with the property again only if they updated things, but as of now, our family consensus is we will seek other options next trip!

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank patricia r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Services, General Manager at Ramada Plaza by Wyndham Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2021

Patricia, we would first like to thank you for being a loyal customer with us here at the Ramada Plaza Nags Head hotel. We enjoy hosting you and your family here on the beach so you can enjoy a relaxing, memorable vacation. It is disappointing to read however, that your family did not receive the same clean and comfortable accommodations that we always strive to provide our guests. We will immediately discuss your quality level observations with our housekeeping staff and let them know how this affected your visit this year. We would also like to apologize that you were not aware in advance of our operational limitations with in-room housekeeping services due to the current COVID-19 situation. Nearly all hotels have had to adjust by taking safety precautions with guests and distancing staff. We are grateful for your understanding of our need to ensure the safety and well-being of both our staff and guests. We are happy to read your overall stay was pleasant and hope your family enjoyed our heated indoor atrium pool and hot tub and the majestic views from our large deck overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. This is the time of year when updates and improvements are made to the property and we do hope you will consider staying with us again to see the changes and upgrades we are making. Thank you for sharing your feedback and for your repeat business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2021

Readers take heed of this review and the other 167 negative reviews dating back several years that share the same theme. This hotel is a filthy, disgusting dump.

My wife and I travel to the Outer Banks at the end of the year every year to ring in the New Year. We usually stay at another hotel but decided to try the Ramada Plaza to be closer to Corolla for a change of pace. BIG MISTAKE!

We arrived earlier than our check-in time of 4:00 p.m. and decided to walk on the beach. The parking lot and rear area of the hotel were a mine field of dog feces. There was trash blowing around and over flowing trash receptacles. The entire outside just has a rundown and dirty feel.

The inside of the hotel is dingy and clearly has never had a major renovation. The hallways have just been painted over time after time. Heading to our room there was an ominous feeling building.

Upon entering our room I was immediately disappointed. It was no were near the quality of the Holiday Inn Express where we usually stay. Looking around a sinking feeling set in.

The wall lamp and desk lamps were rusted. The lamp shades were covered in mold. All the furniture was beat to hell. You could barley open the door to the balcony which had the feel of a World War 2 bunker. The balcony was dirty, the chairs were broken and there was an AC condensate line running across it. The headboard to the bed was dirty and had mold on it. A wall light fixture had dead bugs in it. There were broken tiles and most of the door casings were rusted through. The shower head was rusted, the tub stop drain was broken and the tub was dirty. I could go on and on. We did not want to take our shoes off in this nasty rat hole.

I called the Holiday Inn Express where we usually stay and fortunately they had a room left. It cost us $200 more than if we had booked originally but I gladly paid. I would have slept in my car before I slept in the Ramada Plaza room. We took our luggage went back down to the desk. The desk clerk clearly had a look of shock as she had just checked us in no less than 10 minutes before. I expressed how livid I was showing her pictures on my cell phone. She apologized and said she would refund my credit card.

I will NEVER stay at anything that has Ramada or Wyndam attached to it. Please take this warning and don't waste your money here!

Room tip: This place is nasty, don't stay here!
Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank homz4sel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Services, General Manager at Ramada Plaza by Wyndham Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2021

We are truly disappointed to read that your visit here at the oceanfront was not better enjoyed. Guest satisfaction is very important to us, so we do apologize that you did not have a better experience and there were deficiencies in your room. This is the time of year when updates and improvements are made to ensure guest satisfaction and we will quickly address the items you mention in your review. We do hope you and your wife enjoyed the balance of your time while in the Outer Banks and had a nice New Year celebration.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2021 via mobile

Traveled with a pet and made a reservation that stated was a oceanfront room. Was given a dune view room. Stated that pets were only housed on the first floor and the only view was a dune view. Mattress was dirty with stains. Previous hair notes on sheets. Some sticky black thing was left on the headboard from previous guests. Don’t waste your time or money this place needs updating and renovation
Mmm

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Saltshaker13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Services, General Manager at Ramada Plaza by Wyndham Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2021

We are saddened to read about your recent experience while staying with us here at Ramada Plaza Nags Head. Yes, we have dedicated our first floor as pet friendly, so our guests have two easy access points from the room to quickly take their pets outside. We apologize for any confusion during your booking process about the room location. While our hotel is situated on the beach beachfront, not all rooms have a clear view of the ocean as we are protected by the dunes which is necessary during inclement weather. Our hotel is known for providing guests with clean and comfortable accommodations, and we will immediately discuss your subpar quality level in your room with our housekeeping staff. We sincerely apologize that we did not deliver the experience you anticipated but still hope you enjoyed visiting the Outer Banks area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2020 via mobile

Tried to work out an early check in with the front desk. Was told that was not an option because I used a 3rd party booking service. The person was very rude and refused to let speak with someone else. I think I dodged a bullet based on the reviews.
Called the Hilton, got a promise to try to get an early check in. Very friendly.
Sorry Ramada.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank MeTravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Services, General Manager at Ramada Plaza by Wyndham Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2021

Please accept our deepest apologies for your experience with one of our front desk staff, as we are typically known for providing top notch customer care and outstanding hospitality. An early check-in is not always possible but can be requested, and we do our best based on availability. Apparently, the person you spoke with did not communicate this correctly and we will be sure to discuss this with our staff immediately. We hope you had a nice time while in the Outer Banks and will stay with us the next time you are back in the area. We would love to make it up to you with our premier spot on the beach and many hotel amenities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2020 via mobile

The facilities and rooms were very clean, but the beds were fairly hard, and this made if difficult to sleep. The only thing that will keep me from going back is the fact that I booked the room as a pet friendly room. It was not specified that I would have to pay extra per night for a small dog, and I ended up getting charged basically another nights fee. There isn't much you can do about it once you're there, and it would be impossible to find another hotel such short notice. This information needs to be relayed better through booking.com.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank JoelRogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Services, General Manager at Ramada Plaza by Wyndham Nags Head Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2020

Joel, thank you for taking the time to review our oceanfront property and found our facilities clean. While we are happy that you decided to bring your dog along on your beach vacation, we are sorry to see that there was a misunderstanding with your online booking and you did not realize about our pet fee. We have pet-dedicated rooms and policies in place similarly to most other hotels and are sorry you did not clearly see this mentioned at the time of booking. We will circle back to the third-party vendor and request that they research this for future. Aside from this, we do hope your family enjoyed our easy beach access and sprawling back deck area, the heated indoor pool and hot tub, and our hotels central location to great shopping and dining options. We do hope you will consider staying with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews