We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pathetic”

Driftin' Sands Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Driftin' Sands Motel
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

I downloaded this app to save everyone the hassle do not stay here! No wifi as promised no staff at the hotel. Camel crickets, tree frog, flies, spiders and black widows will greet you. Beds are awful

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jasontilman19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRKTMGR1843, Manager at Driftin' Sands Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Hello Jason,

We, at KEES, are very sorry to hear about your inconveniences. Upon further investigation, I do not see any work orders placed for your stay. We could have certainly sent our housekeeping supervisor to inspect these issues for you. We would like nothing more that a second chance to show you what KEES has to offer. We do have properties from Florida, North Carolina (Homes and hotels), Virginia, and Maryland. We do value your business and hope you choose KEES in the future.

Thanks,

KEES Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2017

This is just like the I mom and pop motels I stayed at years ago when traveling with my Grand Parents. It has small rooms but is very clean and has some nice amenities such as the Keurig Coffee maker, which was a pleasant surprise. if you want a full service hotel this is not for you, but if you want a place to lay your head in a great location with no frills at a very reasonable price this fits the bill nicely. Enjoyed the grills that are on property also.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 252BeachBum2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2016 via mobile

Great place to stay. Beach access just across the street. Great places to eat very near by. Relaxation was the goal. So for just a place to sleep, it was great. Little weird way to check in. You have to call the phone # to check in. No front desk but that was fine after getting use to it.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank DartPastore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah F, Communications Director at Driftin' Sands Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2016

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Driftin' Sands with KEES Vacations! We apologize if you did not receive your door code via email the day before, but glad we could fix the issue quickly. We hope you stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2016

We tend to look for an economy place to stay to extend our stay. Found this place through Expedia. There were four of us staying together. We were able to get a two bedroom efficiency for $135 a night. With tax it was just over $300 for the two nights. The place was right across the street from the beach. The efficiency was spotless. Freshly painted with new tile floors, small kitchenette. That was fully stocked with all of the essentials. Living area was fairly small, two cushioned armchairs, love seat and table that seats four. Bedrooms were fine in the small side. Bathroom was spotless, only a shower unit though. For the price you can't go wrong.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2016

My room was very small. The bathroom was tiny, especially the shower. That being said this room served my purposes well. One person who just needed a place to crash for a few nights. It would have been tight for much more than one person or a family.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ewhubbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
0.1 km away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
909 reviews
4.3 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Kitty Hawk Outer Banks
2.4 km away
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanfront - Wilbur
Days Inn Kill Devil Hills Oceanf...
#4 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,198 reviews
4.8 km away
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn
#13 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
441 reviews
8.3 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftin' Sands Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftin' Sands Motel

Address: 1801 N Virginia Dare Trl, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948-7941
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range: $119 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Driftin' Sands Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing