We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Classed up Mexican Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plaza Azteca

Plaza Azteca
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Classed up Mexican Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

As far as "mexican restaurants" go, this was the best one I tried in the OBX. The shrimp tostadas and burritos are amazing. Very well presented too. Service was fast, even for mexican food, and the waitstaff was prompt with refills and asking about how everything was. Much better than my experience at La Fogata...

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Frugalphysio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    66
    23
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Summerfield, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Liked it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

The guacamole was so salty it was difficult to eat. Even for my friend that salts everything. The jalepeno poppers were just so so. The mahi with grilled shrimp was very good. Surprisingly so. I would try other places, but would have no problem making a return visit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Like2travel23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
84 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good Food - Even Better Service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

My husband and I enjoyed the table-side guacamole, fish tacos, and veggie enchiladas. Good sized portions. Good value. Our server, Sulma, was fantastic!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KirstenHuggies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Holy Guacamole!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

My boyfriend and I stopped here on the last night of our trip....so glad we did!!! The guacamole is made fresh tableside and the portion is huge! I could have just had that as a meal, no joke. My boyfriend had the steak burrito (I can't remember the exact name?) and his words literally were "best burrito I have ever had!" I tried it and the steak was so tender and juicy. I had the Chipotle Enchiladas and they did not disappoint either. They were so so good! Best Mexican food in the Outer Banks area!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Win4ecu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Never disappointed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

We love too stop in on Taco Tuesday. our server, the food runner and the people that make the guacamole are always so pleasant. One of my favorite places to go year round

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kamandolia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Plaza Azteca also viewed

Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
 

Been to Plaza Azteca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing