We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$232
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn On The Ocean(Kill Devil Hills)
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$200
US$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shutters On the Banks(Kill Devil Hills)(Great Value!)
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Ranch Resort(Kill Devil Hills)(Great Value!)
US$183
US$131
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cypress House Inn(Kill Devil Hills)
US$209
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (305)
Filter reviews
305 results
Traveller rating
106
115
55
20
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
106
115
55
20
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach shuttlegolf cart shuttlecontinental breakfastbagelssurf shopexterior doorroom was cleanthe main highwaysmall hotelthird floorthe staff was super friendlykey cardone night stayouter banksshort walk to the beachoff seasonlocation was perfect
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 305 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

Nice hotel. Nothing fancy, your typical beach hotel. Friendly staff! Close to quite a lot of places. Can walk to the beach, pizza place , ice cream shop, OBX brewing company and local restaurants in the area!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank patrice k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cai P, General Manager at Outer Banks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

Hi Patrice! Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor. I appreciate your kind words about our staff and your experience during your stay. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. I hope that you can visit the Outer Banks and stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018

This is a pretty straight forward budget hotel.

It's location is quite good, off the main highway and access too all there is to offer. Nothing however is really that far as the Outerbanks is a pretty narrow strip in this area, thus the beach is never far away.

Staff is nice, and the rooms and hallways are a good mix of beach ambiance and colors setting a good tone. The staff are very friendly and excellent. The morning breakfast even for a budget hotel is a bit lacking however, as I've certainly had better in comparable places. 3rd floor rooms are a bit of a trek up the stairs, but seem to be quiet.

Still it's a solid place to stay, I'd go back.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank VADCMDtonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cai P, General Manager at Outer Banks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Hi! Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor. I sincerely appreciate your kind words and positive feedback about our staff and your experience during your stay. Thank you for the honest feedback about the breakfast option. We're diligently working on providing different options for guests. I sincerely hope you enjoyed your visit to the Outer Banks otherwise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2018

Stayed here for 5 days mid week to enjoy the beaches and other amenities of the OBX.

Positives:
- Friendly and accommodating staff.
- Great location - 5 minute walk to the beach down a quiet neighborhood street
- Rate was very reasonable and appropriate for this property
- Room was a generous size, comfortable and clean

Negatives:
- Some maintenance issues that were annoying - For example, 2nd floor exterior door lock worked only a couple days, light switch by one bed didn't work.
- Housekeeping during my stay was spotty - shower was not cleaned during my stay (although clean when I arrived), no shampoo was provided one day.
- Outdoor cleaning was spotty - for a couple days, there was trash by the third floor entrance left by other guests.
- Breakfast, while good, consisted of muffins, breads, bagels, cereal, juice/coffee, etc - A hot option would have been welcome.

Bottom line - I would not hesitate to stay here again - my complaints are relatively minor and didn't detract from my trip. The value was excellent. My feeling is that the issues above are probably the result of getting staffed up for the coming season.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cai P, General Manager at Outer Banks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Hi Tim! First, I would like to thank you for taking the time to give a detailed review of our property. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay despite some inconveniences. I sincerely appreciate your kind words about our staff and would love to pass along your message to everyone. I have addressed all your concerns immediately and have applied corrective actions already. I sincerely hope you'll give us another chance the next time you are visiting the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for two nights on our outer banks trip. We didn’t know it was biker weekend so the road was noisy with bikes rumbling up and down the road. The bikers that were staying at this motel were very nice and considerate with the motor noise at night. The motel was old but very clean, our shower had some holes patched in it but that didn’t bother me. The desk staff were great to work with, and the breakfast was ok for what it was. We really enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cai P, General Manager at Outer Banks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Hi James! Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor. I am very happy to hear that you really enjoyed your stay with us. I am also grateful for the kind words and positive feedback about our staff. I will make sure to pass along your message. I hope you can visit the Outer Banks in the future and possibly stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2018 via mobile

Staff was exceptional, both Amelia and Cai at the front desk were very helpful and provided excellent service. This hotel is a great deal for the price. Only a block away from the beach, very easy and direct walk. If staying near the outside stairwell, the door can be quite loud. Room had a slight musty odor but not unexpected given the location. If you are looking for fancy, keep looking. If you want affordable and clean, this is a great choice.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank DENVER A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cai P, General Manager at Outer Banks Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Hi! Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor. I sincerely appreciate you mentioning our name in here. I will make sure to share the feedback to Amelia as well .Thank you for your kind words, positive and honest feedback about your experience during your stay. I sincerely hope you can visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews