We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sea Ranch Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$199
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$250
US$237
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Outer Banks Inn(Kill Devil Hills)(Great Value!)
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn On The Ocean(Kill Devil Hills)
US$239
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites(Kill Devil Hills)(Great Value!)
US$247
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
John Yancey Oceanfront Inn(Kill Devil Hills)
US$190
US$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shutters On the Banks(Kill Devil Hills)(Great Value!)
US$269
US$261
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (926)
Filter reviews
926 results
Traveller rating
488
291
78
38
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
488
291
78
38
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeachside bistroocean frontoceanfront roomthe jolly rogerroom was cleanthe outer banksindoor poolon site restaurantoff seasonhigh tidemain buildingking bedbeach sidestaff was friendlysecond floormini fridgefull kitchen
Filter
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 926 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2017 via mobile

I'm beginning my review with a couple of safety warnings. First, this is the first and only time I have stayed at a hotel that only has one flip lock on the outside door, without a chain or second lock of any time. To make matters worse, the door opens to an outside balcony that is completely accessible to anyone off the street. It felt extraordinarily unsafe for me and my adult daughters. Second, there are no safety strips in the tub/shower and no rubber mat, so it is extremely slippery getting in and out. Both of these deficiencies echo what others have said -- this is definitely not a "resort," but a hotel that cuts important corners. If you stay on the Oceanside (we did, at $335/night), the view is sublime (accounting for the three stars) , but substandard otherwise. One last caveat. If the housekeeper doesn't get into your room by 11:00 you're out of luck because they go home at noon (the hotel doesn't tell you this information). Although we will definitely return to OBX, we will definitely not return to Sea Ranch.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Cydney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary Anne A, General Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Thank you for your feedback. We are truly sorry for that our accommodations didn't meet your expectations during your recent visit. As I am sure you can see from other travelers, this is not a typical guest response.

We will be sure to have our maintenance team take a look at the no-slip-strips in the tubs, as well as bring your concern with he door lock to our management team. Guest safety is a top priority and we aim to provide a relaxing environment for all guests.

With regards to your comment about housekeeping, we apologize for any miscommunication. Our housekeeping department services rooms daily beginning 8 am until all rooms have been tended to. In the event that a 'guest has a so not disturb' sign on the door, our housekeepers try to reach guests to see if there are any needs or a request for service at a later time. We also have a houseman available to help with guests needs.

Again, thank you for your feed back and allowing us the opportunity to improve our services. If you would like to speak to me directly with regards to your recent stay, I am happy to do so.

Best regards ~
Mary Anne Ambrose
252.441.7126 ext 150

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017 via mobile

Spend two days here recently. Picked the resort for its location and price. Pros; clean, huge room. Good coffee served all day in lobby. Right on the beach. Cons; no breakfast. Would come back in a heartbeat.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Andrea60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary Anne A, Guest Relations Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay!We'd love to have you back!!!

Best regards ~
Sea Ranch Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

Sea Ranch is great value for a beach front hotel in Kill Devil Hills. If you are expecting the 4 seasons resort you will be disappointed however what the Sea Ranch does have is relative inexpensive ocean front rooms, beach chairs/umbrellas for rent and close to all areas in the outer banks. All the staff from the front desk to the housekeepers are super friendly and accommodating. Having an indoor pool is a huge plus on rainy days and/or super hot days when you have a toddler in tow. Many toddlers/children there the week we visited.

I am a huge fan on renting a house for a week when in Outer Banks but when there is only 3 or 4 people finding a smaller home beachfront is tough so Sea Ranch is the way to go. Only drawbacks to the resort is the room only had a mini fridge and the toilet paper was on the cheap side. .

I am definitely going back to the Sea Ranch when I need a hotel in the outer banks.

Room Tip: Splurge for the ocean front
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Bobby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary Anne A, Guest Relations Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Thank you for your review! We look forward to welcoming you back when travel leads you back in our direction!

Thanks again!
Sea Ranch Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017 via mobile

Honestly did not spend much time at the place, minus the time we slept there. It is right on the beach and has direct access. There is a nice little pool. I hear the restaurant is good. They have live music on the weekends.

The beds in the rooms were on the firm side. The bathrooms seemed slightly dated. The showerhead might have been clogged a bit, of course they might have been old.

I didn't expect anything spectacular and wasn't planning on paying for it. I'd stay here again without issue.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Joshua A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary Anne A, Guest Relations Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Sea Ranch Resort! We would be delighted to welcome you back soon!

Best regards ~
Sea Ranch Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

We were right on the beach with a large-opened patio door and could hear and see the waves break all day and night. The room was comfortable and had all the amenities we needed. The staff was courteous and honest and this was a great value and surpassed our expectations.

Stayed: June 2017
Thank Brigitta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary Anne A, Guest Relations Manager at Sea Ranch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Thanks so much for your review and know we are so happy to read how you enjoyed your recent stay! I am sure listening to the ocean was a calming way to end your evenings :)

We hope that you will return when travel brings you back to the OBX!

Best regards~
Sea Ranch Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews