We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
7 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Agoda.comUS$160
Hotels.comUS$160
FindHotelUS$190
Expedia.comUS$160
BestWestern.comUS$160
eDreamsUS$160
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,132)
Filter reviews
1,132 results
Traveller rating
482
344
136
82
88
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
482
344
136
82
88
Show reviews that mention
All reviews murphy bed living room the outer banks small kitchen pool and hot tub off season full size refrigerator sliding door third floor the wright brothers memorial beds were comfortable continental breakfast dune view beach access ocean bw balcony
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
184 - 189 of 1,132 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2018 via mobile

We stayed two nights in room 406. It faced the pool and had ocean views-something we were pleasantly surprised about. Check in process was ok, nothing bad but nothing that stood out. There was one family in front of us so we had to wait our turn. Lobby is a bit small in my opinion, with only enough space for maybe two groups of people. Staff was friendly and courteous. Our room was spacious with two double beds in a bedroom and a pull down bed in the living area. Two adults and three children fit perfectly and all of the beds were comfortable. Full size fridge and microwave were extremely helpful during our stay. Upon arrival to our room, there were crumbs on the ottoman but everything else appeared to be clean. During our second day, the toilet handle broke and I called the front desk. Within three minutes they had a staff member in our room to make the repair. We were very impressed and pleased with the response. Housekeeping was a bit of a let down as they didn’t vacuum our room. There was visible sand on the floor and it was left there, with only beds getting made and a few towels that were replaced. This is frustrating as I had left them a $10 tip for their service. The breakfast each morning was awesome. Lots of hot items as well as cold. Fresh coffee with yummy creamers and a nice selection of juices. Breakfast staff kept everything stocked and always had smiles on their faces. Pool time was fun for the kids and beach access was easily obtained from the pool area. We were even lucky enough to see some dolphins while visiting the beach one afternoon. Overall, we had a great time and were happy with our stay. We’re hoping to return in the future.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank marylouhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monta S, General Manager at Best Western Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Dear guest,

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay overall but we will certainly be sharing your comments with our housekeeping team so we can continue to improve our service. We hope you will have the opportunity to stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,

Monta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018

Stayed in a room with a balcony facing the sea, it was really good for beach promenade. It was the season that it was also possible to drive on the beach.
Professional hotelstaff who noted that we were members.
We really enjoyed it, clean and the staff was doing their best to make us feel comfortable / Bodde med balkong mot havet, en riktigt bra strandpromenad. Det var den säsongen att det även gick att köra på stranden. Professional personal som uppmärksammade att vi var medlemmar.
Vi trivdes verkligen, rent och det fanns en vilja att få oss att trivas.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lenaolofsdotterj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monta S, General Manager at Best Western Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review your time with us.

We hope you will have the opportunity to visit again in the future.

Sincerely,

Monta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018

The property is in need of updating. Our room was just adequate. Some of the lights did not work, the toilet base was loose and rocked on the floor, the bathroom mirror angled down toward the sink, the walls showed signs of many former holes and fixture loctions that were not patched or painted properly.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChristainWolfgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monta S, General Manager at Best Western Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Dear Christain,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We are sorry we did not meet your expectations during your visit. We will certainly address the issues.

Sincerely,

Monta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2018

We experienced reservation issues. We did not receive the type of room we reserved which was disappointing since we were there for our 27 wedding anniversary. The room was not as clean as I would have expected; candy and small toys on the floor.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank michellekellam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monta S, General Manager at Best Western Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Dear Michelle,

I am truly sorry we did not meet your needs during your special time with us. We will certainly share your comments with our team so we can continue to improve.

Sincerely,

Monta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018

It was our 50th anniversary. We honeymooned in Nags Head and returned for our 25th, so of course we had to come to the area for our 50th. Reserved an ocean front suite. Excited about that. The suite was fantastic. Separate bedroom, large living/dining area. But the VIEW? Could barely see out of the sliding glass door. The seal was broken on the door, and that made it next to impossible to enjoy the view. The stationary glass on either side of the door wasn't broken, but the drapes kept you from having a great view. I was SO disappointed. I had told the guy at the hotel (I called the hotel direct to reserve) that it was our anniversary. I couldn't believe we had a room with a view that didn't have a view. So, if you are headed there, do NOT take room 406. Unless they can tell you that the door has been replaced. Ask for another room. Be warned that the wifi dropped often - if you are using laptops. And ask about the fitness center if that is important to you. I didn't ask if it was functional, as I had seen on the web site that they had one. But it was being remodeled when we were there. Would it be too much to put that temporary info on the website so that we could at least make an informed decision? The suite was just wonderful - but the view (or no view), the internet and the fitness center made it a bummer.

Room tip: The "view" from room 406 is not good - broken seal in the sliding glass door.
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank rpfwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monta S, General Manager at Best Western Ocean Reef Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your visit and the kind words regarding the suite. We are however so sorry there were issues during your celebration time with us. I certainly understand your frustration and we will work hard to correct.

Sincerely,

Monta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews