We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't stay anywhere else!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shutters On the Banks
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Kill Devil Hills
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 December 2011

My boyfriend and I celebrated our anniversary in OBX and this was the perfect place to do it! The service was amazing...Happy Birthday Sandy! And the location is fantastic! We had the whole beach to ourselves! And it was very clean! We definitely want to return in the summer time and when we do, this is where we will stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fjess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,005)
There are newer reviews for Shutters On the Banks
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

782 - 786 of 1,005 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2011

Shutters is a wonderful motel located right on the beach. The rooms are spacious and very well kept. The service could not be friendlier or more efficient. The rooms with balconies provide a nice view of the ocean. Everything you need is close by. Perfect for families, couples, or groups of friends.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DuffyNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

My wife and i stayed one night on the Sunday after Thanksgiving on our way back to SC from New Jersey. We purposefully went a bit out of our way to visit OBX and the Wright Brothers site. We didn't have a reservation and were one of a small number still hanging around at the end of the the weekend. We picked the Shutters because of the outside appearance and were not disappointed once we got to our room. The front desk staff person was very friendly and gave us an end room on the 4th floor. Sorry I didn't get his name, but he was very good. He told us we were one of five parties staying the night. The room was exceptionally clean and well furnished. The view was fabulous and it was really neat to have the property to ourselves. We only spent one night, but I would like to return earlier in the fall and spend more time. It does, however, look like the area would be mobbed and maybe not so plesant in the high summer.

Room Tip: Ocean views are probably only avaialble on floors 3 and 4 of the tower due to the high dunes.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SCShaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

We chose this inn based upon the good reviews in tripadvisor, and were not disappointed. Nice property, quiet night, beautiful sunrise on the Atlantic, good breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

I stayed at Shutters for 4 nights the last week of October - the first week of November 2011. The people at the desk had to be the friendliest Hotel desk people that i have ever dealt with . They actually wanted you to stay there. I have stayed at numerous Outer Banks Hotels in the past and to be on the Hurricane front of the ocean it was the cleanest i have seen. The indoor pool and Hot tub area was spotless and the water was Chrystal clear . Needles to say , i was pleasantly surprised. I would defiantly recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wayne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kill Devil Hills
2.7 km away
Sea Ranch Resort
Sea Ranch Resort
#1 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
879 reviews
11.0 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Outer Banks/Kitty Hawk
0.9 km away
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devil Hills
Travelodge Outer Banks/Kill Devi...
#5 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfront
Ramada Plaza Nags Head Oceanfron...
#6 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
2,560 reviews
8.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Nags Head Oceanfront
0.2 km away
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
Best Western Ocean Reef Suites
#3 of 18 in Kill Devil Hills
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shutters On the Banks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shutters On the Banks

Address: 405 S Virginia Dare Trl, Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948 (Formerly Colony IV by the Sea)
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Kill Devil Hills
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kill Devil Hills
Price Range: $132 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shutters On the Banks 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront location, each room is equipped with two queen beds or one king and a sleep sofa and include a refrigerator,in-room phone, TV with HBO, AM-FM radio and highspeed internet. All efficiencies are equipped with full kitchens. We also have a limited number of King Studio Suites available. Complimentary continental breakfast. complimentary passes to the YMCA. Newly renovated rooms and efficiencies for 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shutters On the Banks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shutters On The Banks Hotel Kill Devil Hills
Colony Iv

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing