We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,162)
Filter reviews
1,162 results
Traveller rating
573
393
127
45
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
573
393
127
45
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tower room indoor pool hot tub dune view main building second floor watch the sunrise beach access free breakfast off season parking lot the room was nice rooms were very clean staff was very friendly and helpful gazebo motel obx
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 1,162 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2019

We selected this hotel after looking at a number of options up and down the OBX. It was our first time staying there so we were anxious to see of we made a good choice. While it is not a new property is has been well maintained and is well staffed. Our room was very tastefully decorated, clean, and had ample room for the two of us. The term "dune view" can be a bit deceptive since we were on the first floor and could only see a few feet to the back of a dune. I recommend a higher floor if a view is important. That said we didn't spend a lot of time in the room because it has a very nice beach area over the dune. They have chairs and umbrellas to rent if you wish or you can take your own. Free breakfast is included and they have both an outdoor and indoor pool (with hot tub). It is definitely a good choice for families and close to lots of dining options, etc. We would definitely stay there again.

Room tip: The section facing the beach has the best views, especially the upper floors
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Randy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen V, General Manager at Shutters On the Banks, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2019

Hello Randy P,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted to have been your chosen hotel during your recent stay in Kill Devil Hills. It was truly a pleasure to serve you. We appreciate your business and value your feedback. Thank you for staying at the Shutters On the Banks and we hope you choose to create more memories with us whenever your travels bring you back to OBX.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2019

Wonderful from begining to end! The staff was great!! The room was superb! Both pools were wonderful. The beach was magnificent!! Loved the gazebo overlooking the ocean. The breakfast was very good and had a nice variety. I cant wait to go back.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Paoli47454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen V, General Manager at Shutters On the Banks, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2019

Hi Paoli47454,


Thank you for the review. We are so delighted that you had such a wonderful visit with us, and enjoyed the property and staff. We hope that you will be back soon for a visit. I hear October is a great time to visit too.... We can't wait to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2019 via mobile

We loved this hotel, comfortable, roomy and on the beautiful beach. Staff was great, good value with breakfast! Easy to move up to Corolla, near Kitty Hawk, Nags Head and short drive to Manteo. Would stay here again.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank paml421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen V, General Manager at Shutters On the Banks, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2019

Hi Paml421,

Thanks for the review. We are so delighted that you loved our hotel. Its been a pleasure to serve you and hope to see you again on your next visit to the OBX!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2019 via mobile

We spent a night here last week as we got in to town the day before we could get into the house we were renting. The location can’t be beat.... steps to the ocean. The room was clean and comfortable.... couldn’t ask for more after driving for hours. The staff could not have been any nicer! Would recommend for sure!

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Kerry1428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen V, General Manager at Shutters On the Banks, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2019

Hi Kerry1428,

Thank you for the review. We are so happy you all enjoyed your visit with us. We are glad we could make the end of your commute easy and relaxing for you. We do hope you will come back and see us again on your next visit to the OBX.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2019 via mobile

Pros: outstanding customer service. Rooms are a little bigger than standard hotel rooms with queen size beds (not full). Beach access rooms are wonderfully close to the beach. Beds are very comfortable and breakfast food is fresh fruit, eggs, bacon (same every day). Cons: walls are very thin (very). Breakfast area (two rooms) gets very crowded. Get to beach early to stake your spot. The rental guy on the beach sets up about 6 umbrellas with chairs in the prime spots. I know what your thinking -it’s a beach just walk further down. But the reason you stay at a hotel on the beach is for convenience. I don’t want to walk further down the beach (loaded down with beach items) to get a spot close to the water. This is my honest review. Would I stay again, I a heartbeat.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Andrea60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen V, General Manager at Shutters On the Banks, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2019

Hello Andrea60,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Shutters On The Banks and providing your honest feedback. It is our sincere pleasure to serve you! We are happy you enjoyed your room, our customer service and breakfast. We sincerely apologize for falling short of not meeting your expectations, on the beach area. We will share your comments with the rental company and come up with plan together so everyone of our guest can enjoy the beach area. Once again, thank you for your valued feedback and we hope to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews