We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$200
US$161
View deal
Comfort InnUS$161
Hotels.comUS$189
Expedia.comUS$189
FindHotelUS$171
PricelineUS$161
ZenHotels.comUS$200
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (633)
Filter reviews
633 results
Traveller rating
183
186
141
62
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
183
186
141
62
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the outer banks room was clean yogurt hot breakfast a pet friendly hotel free breakfast breakfast bar would stay here again off season beach access beach side ocean dogs obx dunes sunrise waves
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 633 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2021

Had a very nice stay here. Everything clean, friendly staff, ocean view rooms, and a private walkway to the beach. Close to the Wright Brothers Monument and restaurants and shopping in either direction from the parking lot makes this a great location.

Room tip: If you want an ocean view room, ask for something at least on the second floor.
Date of stay: March 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank nursedude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darrlyn Turlington, Guest Services / Front Office at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2021

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We will be sure to share your comments with our staff! Thank for taking the time to share your experience and we look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2021

Ideal location for beach or Wright Brothers.  Open the side entrance door, walk over the sand dunes, and the ocean and gazebo are right there.  Bags of ice are complementary. Guests are charged for early check-in. There was an employee spraying the halls and door knobs with a disinfectant, although I do not know how often this is done. The price was extremely reasonable.  The staff contacted us at least three times to ask if there was anything we needed.  I thought this was very professional and class
The  largest drawback is that the overall hotel is 'dated.'  Although some of the room's decor was more modern, the ceilings, walls, and ice machines are old.  The "gift' shop" could use some 'help" by providing an assortment of snacks. 
We would stay here again if we return to the Outer Banks.

Date of stay: February 2021
Thank 552KarenB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darrlyn Turlington, Guest Services / Front Office at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2021

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We will be sure to share your comments with our staff! Thank for taking the time to share your experience and we look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2021

Spent three nights at The Comfort Inn for a Winter getaway. Everything was perfect. Well lit upfront parking. Easy beach access. Large clean room. Balcony for reading in the afternoon. The mattress was super comfortable. Our first night, we ate dinner at the hotel. The seafood platter and hamburger were both good. In fact, the seafood platter was far superior to what we received at a seafood restaurant later in our stay. I look forward to our next stay at this hotel.

Room tip: Ocean front rooms have spectacular sunrises.
Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darrlyn Turlington, Guest Services / Front Office at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2021

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We will be sure to share your comments with our staff! Thank for taking the time to share your experience and we look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2021 via mobile

My wife and I love coming down to the Nags Head area in the off season, and we've done so for years. We've stayed at many of the hotels in the area, but this one has become our favorite for the money. It's the best value and the rooms are decent, the beds are comfortable and the staff is friendly and accomodating. There are nicer hotels down there, but you're going to pay a lot more.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Y2615ZNdavidg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darrlyn Turlington, Guest Services / Front Office at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2021

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We will be sure to share your comments with our staff! Thank for taking the time to share your experience and we look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2021

This is an interesting property that is strategically located on the ocean. As we are visiting during the winter there is not much beach activity, but we are comfortable. The property is showing its age, but it is clean and comfortable. The staff are exceedingly helpful and friendly with a smile and a few words at every meeting. The bed is comfortable and what more could one ask for in a hotel room. We would certainly stay here again should our travels bring us back here.

Room tip: Ocean front of course.
Date of stay: February 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jvpritc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darrlyn Turlington, Guest Services / Front Office at Comfort Inn On The Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2021

We are so glad to hear that you are enjoying your stay with us! We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your experience while staying at our hotel. It is always nice to know and hear from satisfied guests. Please let us know if we can be of assistance during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews