We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and great prices”

Barefoot Bernie's Bar & Grill
Ranked #14 of 69 Restaurants in Kitty Hawk
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Specializing in exquisite and refreshing island cuisine in a classy yet casual tropical ambience, Barefoot Bernie's Tropical Grill & Bar has become a true destination on the Outer Banks restaurant circuit.
Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile

Excellent fish tacos and the kids enjoyed the fish and chips and shrimp. They serve a yummy house made bread with olive oil with your meal, my kids ate all of it. Service was good and the wait was not too long. In season please make reservations. I would recommend this place to everyone. Casual family style restaurant, that serves fresh food at good prices.

Thank 406DebS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,014)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 52 of 1,014 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2017 via mobile

This restaurant was a waste of time for us. They have good deviled eggs but the portions are small. The restaurant is catered to sports fans , not a great place for kids.

Thank Lauren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barefootbernies, Manager at Barefoot Bernie's Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Wow, Lauren, we were very surprised to read your unfavorable review of our restaurant. I certainly wish we could've been given the opportunity to address your issue while you were here. As you can see from the overwhelming majority of our online reviews, guests are frequently commenting on the large size of our portions with usually plenty to take home as well. We do, indeed, have a segregated bar area with TVs to serve area sports fans, but our entire main dining area (the northern 2/3 of the restaurant) is built to cater to families and children, and we have a very popular kids menu. We hope you will choose to try us again, and if you wish to discuss your visit further, please feel free to reach out to managers Bryan and/or Geno at 252-261-1008, as we would be eager to earn your business and five-star review. Have a great week!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

Excellent service and the crab dip was outstanding. The late night menu was small but good. Will definitely return for regular dinner.

Thank lwgrecco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017 via mobile

Ordered from the tapas menu , steamed dumpling , Lobster Bisque, Ahi Poke Bowl, .
All were very good ,reasonably priced and great service .
Highly recommend ,especially in the off season

Thank Furlough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2017 via mobile

Went to another OBX restaurant first but it was closed. So we were trying to find something close and came upon barefoot Bernie’s. The parking lot was packed which is always a great sign but at the same time we knew we would likely have to wait. Nope. Seated immediately. Great service. Our waiter was funny , personable and quick. The food was soooo good . My husband had the pollo loco chicken (crazy chicken chicken- I know). He devoured it! My salmon was scrumptious. Daughter had sushi and she loved it. I would definitely recommend.

Thank janenorfolkmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barefoot Bernie's Bar & Grill also viewed

 
Kill Devil Hills, Outer Banks
Southern Shores, Outer Banks
 

Been to Barefoot Bernie's Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing