We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (357)
Filter reviews
358 results
Traveller rating
271
51
20
10
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
271
51
20
10
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclaw foot tubboat houseprivate balconygolden pondeach eveningother guestsselect registryfortune cookiesgas fireplaceget awayseveral yearscan't wait to come backnorth carolinanew ownersbeautiful settingchimney rock state parkboathouse
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 358 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2017

The location and friendly staff are not to be missed! It's not negative but to set expectations, the place is older and somewhat in need of overall maintenance. The doors to the room are still using "old regular" keys. There are no security latches or "peep holes" in the door. Also if your a private person the curtains do not go the whole way to the floor. Bring your own "bar" soap, if you want that. The A/C and Fridges need a good cleaning to remove musty and garlic smells. Do NOT let this stop you from going, the place is FABULOUS! The staff is over the top friendly and helpful!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Gator G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

High end small lodge on lake lure. The only lodge actually on the lake. All others are across the street or farther away. Great retreat to detach and get a taste of lake living - not to mention on one of the most beautiful lakes I have seen since lake Lucerne in Switzerland.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
4  Thank bestpracticefoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
V4910GJ, Former guest at The Lodge on Lake Lure, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

Lake is great
Lodge is bad,,dirty, unheathy,unsafe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

The things we liked were the multiple patio's at the back overlooking the lake, and the rustic feel of the room. They also brought choc truffles to our roon once we registered. What we didnt like was that we were on tge first floor and tge second floor squeeked terribly. Needless to say, it was late before we had total peace and quiet. The bed was very uncomfortable andvwe tossed all night. The price for the room was triple what it should have been. We only took it because we couldnt get another room the niggt we needed. We won't stay again and really don't recomnend it as a good place to stay. Very disappointed!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Glenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

I am a local in Lake Lure and a group of us went last year and all loved it! Best food, service and view. We couldn't wait to go back. I checked their website to see if they still offered the special of $37 and was happy to see it was still offered, A group of us decided to go back , but we were told they do not have the special any more. I told the manager it was on the website and she said a few other people had mentioned it , but they haven't updated it in a long time. (no excuse). On 1st visit , the shrimp & grits were amazing, this time they were mediocre. The pork tenderloin was bland, the fish was bland, but my husband said his salmon was good. We asked for bread , but they were out. The waitress told us they have a whole new staff. I found this visit Very disappointing .

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
5  Thank meloney2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile

This hotel has a lot going for it, but at the price I paid ($330 for one night), I simply can't give it a higher rating.

First- the pluses. The location is wonderful. The views from the restaurant, our porch, everyone have incredible 'wow' factor. The lake and mountain backdrop are stunning.

The decor is very nice. Lots of beautiful accents. The claw tub in the bathroom is wonderful.

The boathouse is a big reason why I booked. Being able to go grab a kayak, a paddle board or a canoe was a lot of fun (the water temp was perfect).

The 4pm wine reception was very nice. We enjoyed having a glass of wine and getting to know some fellow guests.

The downers- this really revolves around service. Which is why it is relatively easy to fix and could make this place 5 stars. Quite simply, they are woefully understaffed- especially considering it is a peak season weekend. When we checked in, the poor lady (who was as friendly as she could be) was both the waitress for the restaurant as well as the front desk clerk. Normally, we would get a 'tour' of the hotel when checking in, but she couldn't.

Later, when we were trying to get some forms that were unavailable earlier, there was a guest waiting (for at least 10 minutes) to be able to pay for his meal, while the rest of his party were long gone.

After dinner, we came back to find someone frustratingly waiting for someone at the front desk so he could get ice for his room.

There is no staff at the boathouse. That meant no instruction for first time paddleboarders, but more importantly, left my wife and I to wrestle with getting the huge board out of storage and into the water (and vice versa) without any help.

Our bathtub streams. Not a drip drip but a constant stream. I reported it to the front desk and got a cherry 'we know' rather than a 'someone will take a look' or similar.

Finally, the furniture is pretty worn down. Not a big deal, especially at an older mountain property. Just don't expect perfect.

Lastly- room tip: room 11 is gorgeous. BUT, it is right under the restaurant, so it is STOMP STOMP STOMP until 11pm and starting again at 630am. Highly suggest to avoid this room.

Again, we enjoyed our stay. The property is gorgeous. But for a luxury hotel (apparently owned by the larger Tryon resort) the service and staffing should be much better.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
5  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews