We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Privacy and Beauty in the Mtns”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fairways of the Mountains
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Lake Lure
Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

Here from our veranda-like balcony, we watched the 10th green, the daily grooming and skills of golfers. There are 2 golf courses here and 2 contract management companies. One has all the amenities and too many families for us--but Rambling Bald did provide trips on Lake Lure, fine resort homes and trails.
FAIRWAYS provided a quiet setting and adequate large pool a block away...a new ample barbecue restaurant and bar in the Apple Valley course club house 2 blocks away.
BILTMORE ESTATE was in bloom and not crowded on our visit (26 miles--some winding roads!) and we loved visiting the townspeople in Rutherford County.
Fortunately the steps in the B unit were not a problem. Appliances and painted wall paper were older. ...VRI Management directed the board to do a total internal rehab of both of MY units in Florida to update and make them more attractive for rental. I recommend VRI check out ways to tweak FAIRWAYS next.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2017

I recommend this resort's for fun family-friends. Our stay was a private cabin in the top hill wonderful view perfect for relaxation. Very organized with event to make your time enjoyable and satisfied.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Armed Forces Vacation Club
Thank jamesmkurnikf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017

Nothing was on site! Beach, swimming pool, and lake was 3 miles away. I was travelling with 3 grandkids ages 9, 10 and 11 Our view was of a golf coarse. We don't play golf. There isn't much to do around the area either.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank lisaabbott52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017 via mobile

This place is old and outdated. The room was clean (kinda) but the furniture is old, cheap and nasty. The entire unit is like putting a fresh coat of paint on the Brady Bunch house.

Wyndham should step in and put a disclaimer on the place. It is the worst Wyndham reservation we have had in over 10 years. I cant believe they charge full points for this dump.


Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Firewalker918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

We arrived at 5:30 pm and the office was closed even though our confirmation letter said to call if you were checking in after 6:00pm. We picked up keys at a lock box and got to the unit that was a throw back to the 70's. Rusted vents, rusted hood vent over the stove, broken washing machine, toilet wouldn't stop running when it was flushed, peeling and dirty wallpaper. TV reception was snowy. They supposedly had free WiFi, but we weren't allowed to have the access code because we picked keys up at the lock box and wouldn't get the password until we officially checked in before 10:00 am the next morning. We got up the next morning and checked out early. We were supposed to stay 3 nights. Very dreary and badly kept resort. You also need to "rent" towels if you go to the pool. Never again!!!!!

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Lure
7.2 km away
The 1927 Lake Lure Inn and Spa
0.0 km away
Fox Run Resort
Fox Run Resort
#3 of 5 in Lake Lure
141 reviews
8.2 km away
Carter Lodge
Carter Lodge
#2 of 4 in Chimney Rock
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Rumbling Bald Resort on Lake Lure
8.3 km away
Riverside Lodge at Chimney Rock
1.5 km away
Wyndham Resort at Fairfield Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairways of the Mountains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairways of the Mountains

Address: 180 Herman Wilson Rd, Lake Lure, NC 28746-9338
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Lake Lure
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Lake Lure
Price Range: $224 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fairways of the Mountains reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairways Of The Mountains Hotel Lake Lure

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing