We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel needs a few improvements.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Morehead City
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Morehead City
Reviewed 17 August 2016

We stayed here 6 nights. Booked thru hotel dot com and received a good rate. We arrived late and just crashed from a long 10 he drive. The next morning had a nice breakfast. Btw don't know her name but the nice lady who takes care of breakfast is attentive and awesome. Hotel is generally in good shape however a few things need to be said:

Condition of room, bed was very comfortable with nice pillows, volume on remote did not work, found mold above the shower insert, looks like someone just painted over it. Toilet leaked water onto floor from tank. Air conditioner worked well but did not dry out the room( my bathing suit still wet on second day). You can hear slamming doors down the hallway.

Housekeeping, first day room not cleaned and we noticed that the shower was not cleaned from prior visit. Long hair on the shower walls and curtain, old soap. Second day it was done but they only left one large towel, one small and three wash cloths. Manager apologized and brought more immediately. Forth day same towel issue.

Other, room keys did not work a couple times, staff issued new ones, not a big deal. Washing machine in laundry room had small paper and dirt in drum. I passed on doing laundry. One slow elevator serves three floors.

Hotel is in a nice location within 10 min drive time of Morehead City. Lots of good restaurants in the area. Could not hear traffic from room. Front desk staff always helpful.
I'd give my rating a 3star but I keep remembering the shower.

Room Tip: Morning sun shines on front of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank psmu82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Morehead City, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2016

Dear psmu82,

Thank you for staying with us recently and for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. Allow me to apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced due to some of our room amenities, the noise levels, and shortfalls on our housekeeping service. Let us assure you that we want nothing more than to ensure your satisfaction from the time you arrive, up until you leave our hotel. So we truly appreciate that you have shared your feedback with us. I am confident that our management will continue to do their best to improve in order to accommodate you better in the future and hope you give us the chance.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 36 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

Have been staying at this hotel on a regular basis over the last 6 years. Barb does an excellent job with the breakfast. But the house keeping staff is the worst . Checked in on Sunday and room was made up but was short on towels. Monday short on towels, no bath mat. Tuesday returned to my room after working all day at 7:30pm. Room not made up, house keeping was still on the 3rd floor, ask if she missed my room she said she had to check her list. She did manage to make-up the bed and change the towels but that was it, waste basket full. O ya after checking she never replaced the hand towels... This hotel needs new management.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
Thank James V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnExpSuites, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Morehead City, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2016

Mr. Varble,

Our deepest apologies for your housekeeping issues. We have certainly addressed the issue and promise to take good care of you during your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2016

I stayed here while attending my family reunion. We arrived at 3:00 ready to check in. We walked in to a lobby full of our family members. None of our rooms were ready. Some had to wait 2 or more hours before checking in. Our room was on the 3rd floor. As soon as we got off the elevator you could smell the mold. The smell was no different once we entered our room. The AC unit had mold all in the corners. Some family members had to switch rooms due to mold on the ceiling and completely wet carpets. Some family members got sick from the condition of this hotel. The breakfast was good and lady that does the breakfast was great. She always had a smile on her face and was willing to help any way that she could. This hotel needs to be redone.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vanissaann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnExpSuites, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Morehead City, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2016

We apologize for the inconvenience. All your concerns have been addressed with the appropriate people.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed here with a few other family members. We all had king rooms and they pretty much had the same features. The rooms were large, clean and the property seemed clean overall. Our bathroom door wouldn't shut all the way and another family member had an issue with the door handle to get out of their room. Other this that it was a pleasant stay. The breakfast in the morning was nice as well.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank allydog0606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Morehead City, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2016

Dear allydog0606,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Morehead City, NC. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding the room size and breakfast.

However, we’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the doors. We will address these concern. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

I belong to the rewards club and I like free breakfasts so it made sense to book at this hotel. The staff are very friendly and the breakfast area was always clean. It is your average continental breakfast with pancake maker. The pillows and bed were very comfortable and I got a great night sleep every night. It does allow dogs which brings me to some of the down side to my stay. Please don't travel with your pet and leave it in the room if all it does is bark continuously as that is annoying to fellow travelers. Their cleaning crew is not fast nor thorough as my room was missing Kleenex, had a bug and dirty bathroom floor the whole time I was at the hotel. There was water damage on the ceiling and the door to the bathroom would not close without slamming it shut. The entrance door does not have a tight seal which as a single lady did not make me feel safe without dead bolt and latch were in place. Before I stay here again I will look into other hotels in the area.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank Ruth Ann E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Morehead City, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2016

Dear Ruth Ann E,

Thank you for staying with us and for being our IHG Rewards Club member. I am glad to know that you found our staff commendable and that you were able to get a good night sleep.

However, it is regrettable that the condition of the bathroom and its amenities affected your overall satisfaction. We take comments such as these very seriously and rest assured that these will be used towards our improvement.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we hope you give us another chance to provide you with a better stay.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morehead City
2.9 km away
Hampton Inn Morehead City
Hampton Inn Morehead City
#2 of 5 in Morehead City
659 reviews
4.4 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront
7.7 km away
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
#1 of 5 in Morehead City
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Be...
#2 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
781 reviews
6.5 km away
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
#3 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
441 reviews
4.1 km away
Econo Lodge Crystal Coast
Econo Lodge Crystal Coast
#5 of 5 in Morehead City
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Morehead City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Morehead City

Address: 5063 Executive Dr, Morehead City, NC 28557-2507
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Morehead City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Morehead City
Price Range: $120 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Morehead City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Morehead City, NC, welcomes all travelers near and far. For business or leisure, we are a premier, family friendly, business minded hotel. Our Morehead City, NC hotel has small town charm in close proximity to the Crystal Coast. Attractions: Ocracoke Island, Cedar Island, Outer Banks, Ocean, Indian Beach, Harkers Island, sports fishing, golfing, Croatan National Forest, Cape Lookout Light House, Maritime Museum, Fort Macon, Midnight Rodeo, Pine Knoll Shores Aquarium, OBX fishing, Charter Fishing, Crystal Coast Atlantic Jamboree, Olympus Diving, and the Big Rock Fishing Tournament. Nearby cities: Morehead City, Swansboro, NC, Beaufort, Havelock, Ocracoke, Cedar Island, NC, Carteret County, Crystal Coast, Emerald Isle, Pine Knoll ,NC, Salter Path NC, and Harkers Island. Local businesses: Henrys, Farm Bureau, IFH, Lowes, Wal-Mart, Progress Energy, Vertex Aerospace, Big Rock Sports, Carteret General Hospital, Deli Express, Corporate Lodging, 70 West Marina, and Morehead Marine-Grady White Dealer. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Morehead City invites you to enjoy windsurfing, skiing, surfing, swimming, fishing, dolphin watching, sun, fun, food and Crystal Coast hospitality. Don t forget, we are a pet friendly hotel with easy access to the outdoor areas without disturbing our non pet guests, but are limited to the number available. $25 pet fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Morehead City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Morehead City Hotel Morehead City
Holiday Inn Morehead City
Morehead City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing