We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff, clean, Quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Morehead City
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Morehead City
Reviewed 17 August 2017

I arrived later in the evening, so I was unable to take advantage of amenities. Basically just 4th here to sleep during a one night stay on the way to another city. Bed was too hard for me. I like a more plush feeling, comfy bed. Other than the bed, nice stay.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank makhop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

Staff is very friendly and accommodating, but there is so much they can do when the hotel is in horrible shape. We were moved to the "Presidential suite" because of the strong mold odor coming from the AC. My guess is no president in the WORLD would stay in there. Proof of this are some pictures. Issues, you name it! Sheets with holes, squeaking bed, thin paper mattress on sofa bed, rust next to shower, hairs in bathtub (yuck!), tiles with mold in shower, messed up mirror... IHG hotels and resorts should be embarrassed of having their brand associated with this property.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Marifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Morehead City, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

Hi Marifer B,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with our hotel. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience and disappointment you had with the air conditioning, sheets, bed, sofa bed mattress, shower, bathtub, and mirror among the others. We always aim to provide an exceptional stay for all of our guests that is why I regret to see that you did not have a great experience. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience these issues may have caused you during your stay. Rest assured, your comments will be shared with our management team to properly address your concerns. I would also like to follow up on this situation that is why I have sent you a private message to obtain more information. I hope that you can respond at your soonest available time.

Thank you for staying and best regards,

Mike F.
eMedia Coordinator
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed here as part of our recent trip to the US. The girl on reception when we checked in was excellent. She was very efficient and couldn't have been more helpful recommending places to eat and providing us with a list of local cab firms. I only wish I had taken her name so I could mention it. Unfortunately the hotel was not the best. The room was so humid it made our clothes seem damp. The bed linen was so old it was no longer smooth. We needed to charge a phone and my husband made the mistake of looking behind the furniture for a socket. It was filthy! Thick dust covered everything. When we had breakfast the floor was absolutely filthy. Old stains and crumbs everywhere. The choice of food was very Spartan with most things not being replenished. Overall this isn't the standard you would expect from a HIE. Being gold members we have stayed in quite a few. In need of a complete refurb.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank kate j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Morehead City, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with honest feedback. We are thrilled to hear that you were taken care of by the staff. As for the issues you've faced, I can assure you, we have addressed them.
Thank you once again for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

After a desperate attempt to hit the beach for an overnight stay, luckily we found this place. We reserved a 2 queen bed room a little out of our budget. Upon arriving and meeting the friendly staff, we went to our room to find out it was a king room with a sofa sleeper. The staff was heartbroken they failed to meet our reservation and took a significant chunk off of our bill and came in and made up the sleeper sofa for us. Now if it had been for more than one night that probably wouldn't have been ok but can't quite blame them for super last minute reservation fail; they did what they could. And we were just thrilled to find a hotel near the beach. It's about a 10 minute drive over the causeway to Atlantic Beach. Then another 10 minutes to get to Emerald Isle.

The room was clean. The room had been superficially updated. Bed was comfortable. Breakfast was warm and great.

Parking was a bit difficult since they were at capacity and it was a popular weekend.

Elevator has been broke for a while. So if you can't do stairs, you better call ahead to make sure it's working again. The staff was doing what they could.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank parateal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica W, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Morehead City, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Parateal, thank you for taking the time to write a review! I will pass on your kind words to our staff. I'm sorry the room type you needed was not available, but happy to hear the staff made you comfortable. I hope you will come back and visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

Location is excellent for seeing multiple Crystal Coast communities but the hotel is more of a two star than a three star. Elevator not working for 2 days. No trash can at hotel entrance. Bad smell on 3rd floor and in our room. Door to bathroom swollen and won't shut. Needs a complete make over as the quick upgrades done since it was built were superficial. Bed was ok, towels and sheets clean. Staff was friendly and professional.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Morehead City, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Hi James B,

Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback, we're glad to have hosted your stay. We consistently aim to provide friendly accommodations and that in mind, I am pleased to know that you found our hotel to your liking and that our comfortable bedding and staff positively affected your overall experience. On the downside, I'm sorry we missed to provide you with a more stellar stay as we fell below your expectations of usual Holiday Inn Express and Suites quality. On behalf of the team, please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused by the condition of our elevators, the unusual odor on the 3rd floor, and overall upkeep. This is certainly not the impression we'd like to leave any of our guests and we will use your comments to help pinpoint and address areas that need immediate attention.

Thanks again for choosing the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Morehead City for your lodging needs. I hope you find your way back to us should your travels bring you again to the area for a chance to make your next visit better than the last.

Kind Regards,

Jillian I
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morehead City
2.9 km away
Hampton Inn Morehead City
Hampton Inn Morehead City
#2 of 5 in Morehead City
663 reviews
4.4 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Atlantic Beach Oceanfront
4.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Beach
Hampton Inn & Suites Atlantic Be...
#2 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 km away
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
Bask @ Big Rock Landing
#1 of 5 in Morehead City
225 reviews
6.5 km away
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
The Inn at Pine Knoll Shores
#3 of 6 in Pine Knoll Shores
444 reviews
21.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Havelock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Morehead City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Morehead City

Address: 5063 Executive Dr, Morehead City, NC 28557-2507
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Morehead City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Morehead City
Price Range: $111 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Morehead City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Morehead City, NC, welcomes all travelers near and far. For business or leisure, we are a premier, family friendly, business minded hotel. Our Morehead City, NC hotel has small town charm in close proximity to the Crystal Coast. Attractions: Ocracoke Island, Cedar Island, Outer Banks, Ocean, Indian Beach, Harkers Island, sports fishing, golfing, Croatan National Forest, Cape Lookout Light House, Maritime Museum, Fort Macon, Midnight Rodeo, Pine Knoll Shores Aquarium, OBX fishing, Charter Fishing, Crystal Coast Atlantic Jamboree, Olympus Diving, and the Big Rock Fishing Tournament. Nearby cities: Morehead City, Swansboro, NC, Beaufort, Havelock, Ocracoke, Cedar Island, NC, Carteret County, Crystal Coast, Emerald Isle, Pine Knoll ,NC, Salter Path NC, and Harkers Island. Local businesses: Henrys, Farm Bureau, IFH, Lowes, Wal-Mart, Progress Energy, Vertex Aerospace, Big Rock Sports, Carteret General Hospital, Deli Express, Corporate Lodging, 70 West Marina, and Morehead Marine-Grady White Dealer. The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Morehead City invites you to enjoy windsurfing, skiing, surfing, swimming, fishing, dolphin watching, sun, fun, food and Crystal Coast hospitality. Don t forget, we are a pet friendly hotel with easy access to the outdoor areas without disturbing our non pet guests, but are limited to the number available. $25 pet fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Morehead City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Morehead City Hotel Morehead City
Holiday Inn Morehead City
Morehead City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing