We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dolphin Oceanfront Motel
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront(Nags Head)(Great Value!)
US$211
US$167
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
RodewayInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Colonial Inn(Nags Head)
US$179
US$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$270
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tar Heel Motel(Nags Head)
US$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
First Colony Inn(Nags Head)
US$250
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$294
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Surf Side Hotel(Nags Head)(Great Value!)
US$252
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveller rating
26
27
18
9
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
26
27
18
9
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoceanfront roomsliding glass doorpet friendly placesmall refrigeratorgreat weekendother guestsold schoolpetspiertileobxfishingstorm
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 93 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2017

This is a small, family owned motel. Stayed for 3 days. Room was very clean. Bathroom was newly remodeled. Great shower. Guests were quiet. Pets were seen but also quiet. Location near pier was convenient. No problem parking but if you have a long bed truck or large SUV corner parking would not be recommended. If you want to support American small business, this is the place. Larger hotels will have more amenities, 24 hour staff, but you will pay twice the price.

Room Tip: One floor layout good for mobility.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Marlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

I originally selected this location because it was pet friendly and had direct beach access. We normally stay on Ocracoke so I had no idea what to expect when we arrived. I must say the staff is awesome. While it is an older building it is very clean and didn't lack any amenities. The beachside rooms are apx 12x20 with bathroom (tub and shower), kitchenette and opens directly to the beach. The heavy wood panel walls provide a quaint, homelike feel and limit noise from other guests. All rooms are first floor, close to pier, food and shopping. I give it 5 stays not because it's an embassy suites but because it's apparent they take great pride and effort in their establishment. My next trip to obx will include a night here before heading further south.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank DyCor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

It was the pets welcome sign that drew us in when looking a place in the obx. We were taking our dogs to the beach for the first time and didn't know how they'd react so we booked this place because of the easy access to the street in case they got restless and needed to go. Plus the easy access to the beach. Needless to say the rooms were average at best but did what we needed. They were small which was a bummer. Bathrooms were small, but had decent water pressure. One room had a table with chairs and the other didn't. Both rooms had small fridges, small coffee makers that made one cup of coffee at a time but took forever (at least 5 min) which was a pain. The picnic tables were nice to have (and small grills to anyone who wanted to use them). Chairs on the porch.a curtain on the main window would've been nice but the lights outside made it very hard to sleep. The AC are loud. Bed linens were scratchy and not the best quality. The wifi was spotty at times, especially in the mornings. All that said there some positives. We checked in an hour early and didn't have any trouble getting our rooms, rooms were clean when we got them, place was convenient and walking distance to some restaurants and a 7-11. Overall, next time we'll just rent a house or condo. Much better if you have pets. But if you don't plan on staying a whole week and need a pet friendly place, this will be serviceable. Jus expect to pay more than you may like, especially in peak season.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank PurpleLily11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

Parking space is very cramped. I was afraid someone was going to hit my car coming around corner. Room had a very tiny AC that couldn't product enough air to properly cool the room. Sand was on floor and on sheets when we arrived. blinds were broken and there were no curtains. I had to prop a pillow up so people couldn't see in the room. a lot of flying bugs in room. Nice pool area and liked the shower head in shower. Gentleman at front desk was very friendly and helpful when I checked in.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank kelleymonroe2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017 via mobile

This motel is pretty old and rundown. It does have direct access to the beach, but for less money you can find a better option. Expect poor a/c, gnats in the bed and on the walls and a tiny room. There are several better places to stay. If you can't find a hotel, check airBnB. You can do better for less.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Will M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews