We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Owens' Motel
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn South Oceanfront(Nags Head)(Great Value!)
US$272
US$229
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
RodewayInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Colonial Inn(Nags Head)
US$188
US$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$306
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$284
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
First Colony Inn(Nags Head)(Great Value!)
US$358
US$347
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Surf Side Hotel(Nags Head)(Great Value!)
US$252
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Side Court(Nags Head)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (133)
Filter reviews
133 results
Traveller rating
24
40
31
27
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
40
31
27
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoceanfront efficiencythe outer bankshotels motelscheap roomlocated within walking distancelate checkoutweekend tripview from the balconymom and popbeach vacationbeach accesspiersamdunesaccommodationsvintageporch
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 133 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed here in July and had an oceanfront efficiency that ran $225 a night during the wknd. It was nice and clean. The owner was great. It’s a mom and pop motel and the decor is set in the 90’s. If you have to have the latest and greatest, this place isn’t for you. However, if you like a little character in your life, this place will please you.

The location is great as well. It’s right by the pier and it’s quiet. The pool is across the street at the restaurant and that’s the only downside. However, it’s pretty private. The beach access was also good and we were just steps away from the water. I like staying in all kinds of places from camping to resorts. Staying in places like this takes me back to my childhood in a good way. It’s nice to stay in a place where the owner is on site and running the business. Highly recommend if you don’t mind mom and pop motels.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DanaLfromKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owens' M, Manager at Owens' Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Thank you so much for your review and for staying with us! We try hard to keep everything clean and to have a friendly staff. We hope to see you again.

Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

Pros:
- Owen's Motel is conveniently located right on the beach.
- Rooms were cleaned once a day (we stayed for two days and two nights).
- Cheap room
- Parking right next to the rooms
- All amenities worked like they were supposed to (AC, water, lights, etc.)

Cons:
- No wifi
- Small rooms
- Small shower

Basically, you get what you pay for. Super convenient location so I'd 100% come again!

Room Tip: There are two types of rooms: ocean view and not. Choose ocean view if possible.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ylisaswanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owens' M, Manager at Owens' Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Thank you so much for staying with us and for your complimentary review! We hope to see you again when you come back to Nags Head. Have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

This was our first time staying at Owen's Motel. It was a blast from the past type of place. The staff, from front desk down to housekeeping was top notch. I couldn't ask for better service. The first two nights we stayed in a king room ocean side. The last two nights we stayed in apt type suite, ocean front. The view from the balcony was spectacular even though there were hurricanes off the coast. I look forward to staying at Owens Motel again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owens' M, Manager at Owens' Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Thank you very much for both the review and for picking us to stay with here at the beach. Please come see us again. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017

We travel to the Outer Banks with our family every summer for our beach vacation and always stay at Owen's Motel the afternoon we arrive. We don't get our house keys until Saturday but want to get there the day before to avoid the traffic jams on the bridge etc. This year we stayed overnight on July 7th. We had three rooms to accommodate all of us. Upon arrival at 2:30 p.m., our rooms were all cleaned spotlessly and ready for us. The guy in the office couldn't have been nicer or more welcoming and the pool was clean and inviting. Our grandchildren had a ball swimming until time for dinner. This motel is located within walking distance to several great places to eat: The Dunes, Sam and Omies and of course, the very nice Owen's Restaurant located beside the motel. Just down the road is a locally owned store called Cahouns that has such good coffee and all kinds of groceries, beer and wine and beside them is the Jeannette Pier. We love going down for coffee Saturday morning and then sitting on the porch in front of our room and listening to the sounds of the Outer Banks. The motel staff always allow us a late checkout so we can kill as much time waiting for our house to be ready which is so helpful. A shout out to staff member Don who always remembers us and stops to chat and is just the nicest guy! We highly recommend this motel if you are visiting the Outer Banks. See you next year Owen's!

Room Tip: The rooms on the west side are closer to the pool.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank salanay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owens' M, Manager at Owens' Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Thank you so much for your review! We look forward to seeing you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

The room was clean and well kept but the motel is older. For the price the motel was what we expected. Had some problems with getting the door opened, but the a/c worked, hot water worked and it was quiet.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank BHS79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owens' M, Manager at Owens' Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Thanks for staying with us we hope to see you again!

Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews